Skip to content

Reading Omens, and My Moment With the Condors

February 19, 2010

“We have this language of the omens, the language of the signs. It is an alphabet that is directed to us…My omens are not your omens.” ~ Paul Coelho

Condors in Zion National Park - Look carefully, there are two there in the center!

I was all set to write about symbols and symbology this week, but these birds soaring on the left, at Zion National Park, shifted my focus. I know they are small in this picture, and so you will have to take my word for it, but they are California condors, and my family and I actually saw four this past Sunday, while hiking. This is extraordinary, because these birds were once almost extinct, and were only reintroduced into the wild in the last decade. They are the largest North American flying bird, with wingspans of up to 10 feet.

I was deeply moved by the sight of these birds soaring above us, and in fact it stopped me in my tracks.

California Condor - This picture was not taken by us, but shows their magnificence in flight

And when something captures my attention like that, when it literally stops me in my tracks, I view it as an omen.

I think it is Don Juan, in Carlos Castaneda’s books, who discusses omens in terms of capturing our attention. Although of course various traditions define omens differently, in general omens are something that occurs in this world that is out of the ordinary, and has a personal significance for us. Often they involve animals. This varies from visions, or symbolic dreams, or meditative insights that take us outside our physical existence for a moment. Omens show up right here, when we are least expecting them.

I’m not one to see omens or signs everywhere and all the time. I know people that seem to find ‘agreement’ for decisions or insights they have daily in the events around them. Sometimes this feels real to me, and sometimes it feels forced. For me, something has to really jump out at me, set me back a moment, for me to see it as a true omen.

It is rare to see condors at Zion, and I had never seen one, although we hike there almost monthly. They were released into the Grand Canyon a few years back, and recently a few have migrated to Zion, although they tend to stick to the less-trafficked back-country. We saw not one or two, but four, which, based on my research, was either two nesting pairs hanging out (they mate for life) or parents with two fledglings (rare but not impossible) – the young birds typically stay with their parents for 2 years before going off on their own.

Seeing so many condors had particular personal significance to me, because as a young girl in the 70s I worked on a fund drive for the Girl Scouts or school (can’t remember which) to raise money for a campaign to help slow the environmental factors that were driving them into extinction. That campaign eventually evolved into the controversial capture and breeding campaign that has now led to their reintroduction and resurgence in the wild. At the low point, when the project was begun, there were only 20 or so birds left; there are now several hundred, living in the wild as a protected species.

Adding to my sense that I should view the sighting of these birds as an omen was the fact that it occurred on Sunday, which was both a new moon in my own moon sign, and the Chinese/Tibetan New Year, which I typically do observe in some form. It also was of course Valentine’s Day and President’s Day weekend, neither of which might seem particularly spiritual or occult in nature, but it is interesting that so many February events coincided this year.

So, how to interpret an omen? With omens or signs of any type, whether in waking life or dreams, I definitely hold to the Coelho quote above, in terms of their personal nature. For the most part, I don’t use dream or symbol interpretation ‘systems’. So the single most relevant factor to me was ‘what significance do condors have to me?’ And because of my past history with them, that was pretty easy: hope, and more specifically, hope and faith in humanity. Both the condors’ near extinction and their recent resurgence were brought about through human action. To me, they represent humanity’s ability to solve the problems we have created for ourselves.

Although I didn’t realize it at the time, I think this was a message I really needed to receive right now. After reading so much 2012 doomsday prophesizing, reading A Buddhist Response to the Climate Emergency for BellaOnline, watching the horrific aftermath of the Haiti earthquake, and just generally observing the state of things these days, I was not in an optimistic place. And this moment, this sighting, really just instantly lifted my spirits.

But I felt there was more to this omen, and so in this case I decided to research how various traditions view condors. Since I do think reading omens is a personal process, I decided to focus in on three spiritual traditions that have greatly influenced my own journey: Native American/Shamanic traditions, Tibetan Buddhism, and Ancient Egypt.

Thunderbird Symbol

The first seemed particularly relevant because the Zion area is rich in Native American history. And indeed, I found a lot of material on the condors. Some tribes believe they are the source for the symbol of the Thunderbird, which is prevalent in multiple tribes. The Thunderbird is a symbol of great power and creation in most stories, although it also has a connection with destruction in preparation for rebirth, in a very Kali-esque way.

I also came across the prophecy of The Eagle and The Condor, which was variously attributed to the Hopis or the Incas by different sources. In any case, most interpretations seem to predict a coming new age for mother earth if the formerly separate ‘eagle of the north’ and ‘condor of the south’ can learn to come together. I found in some tribes that the eagle was associated with the male/yang aspect of the world, and the condor with the female/yin aspect (and in the case of the Chumush tribe of California, eagles were thus ritually sacrificed to Venus as a gift, and condors to Mars.)

There are no condors in Tibet, but condors look very much like vultures, and like them are large carrion-eaters. Carrion-eaters get a bad rap sometimes, but I thought this quote from Khandro.net reinterpreted this in a quintissentially Tibetan Tantric fashion:

“The vulture is considered ‘unclean’ in many cultures because it feeds on carrion.  However, unlike most other large soaring birds the vulture does not kill, nor cause to be killed, any living thing.  It soars to great heights yet its clear vision allows for it to notice the subtlest hints of mortality in animals, large and small.  It exhibits patience, and then it takes what is given.”

Vultures in Tibet are in fact revered in certain lineages as manifestations of flesh-eating dakinis (for the best book on Tibetan dakinis, check out Judith Simmer-Brown’s Dakini’s Warm Breath: The Feminine Principle in Tibetan Buddhism. ) While flesh-eating dakinis might not seem very appealing to us Westerners, they are viewed as powerful transformational agents in Tibet, and ‘sky burials‘ – where a body is ritually offered to the vultures instead of being cremated or buried – is a highly sought-after funerary method in certain areas.

Vulture Symbol from Headress of Nekhbet

Finally, in Ancient Egypt there also were no condors, but the related vulture had powerful symbolic significance there as well. The vulture is associated with Nekhbet, a goddess originally viewed as the protector of upper Egypt, and later evolving into a protector of heaven, royalty, and sometimes mothers. Vultures were believed by the Egyptians to be all female, and so were associated with feminine images and energies. The city of Nekhbet, the original source for the vulture goddess, was also the shrine for Egypt’s oldest Oracle.

So what does all this mean? Much of it had very dramatic significance to me, but I’m not going to share all of it here, because I do think some of our spiritual insights are best kept privately sacred. But I would love to hear if you believe in omens, and if so, how you interpret them, and any major ones you feel you have experienced in your life.

Namaste-

36 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 2:56 am

    Good Thursday evening to you, Mommy Mystic.
    I don’t believe in omens necessarily.
    I think animals and birds are God’s creatures, just like we humans are, and they behave in ways that are more ethical than we do. Many are very loving, loyal, playful creatures who do no harm to others except when hunting for food to nourish themselves and their young.
    I feel that the Universe is powerful, and there are messages we hear/intuit when we are open to them. What is it that we believe and why? Maybe what someone considers an omen reflects their personal belief system or perception of the world. An interpretation, if you will, based on your own hopes, fears, dreams, wants, etc.

  2. February 19, 2010 7:31 am

    I love what you have described as meaning to the sign of having seen the condors. You are wise to share the more sacred parts of its significance to you. I do not like the idea of being superstitious but at the same time, I do attach certain meanings to unique signs. Their messages can certainly assist in inspiring me forward.

    Perhaps the condors appeared in response to your asking? Consider framing up the picture that you have taken if you find the omen especially important to you. It was no doubt a very special day!

  3. mommymystic permalink*
    February 19, 2010 7:42 am

    Aurora – yes, certainly we each ‘read’ the world a certain way, based on the perceptual framework created by our belief system. So mine allows for the idea of omens. And the next question is, what is the interplay between ‘reading’ it and ‘manifesting’ it? It is a constant dynamic I think…Thx for commenting.

    Evelyn – Yes, I do think I was asking at some level. And this is really what happens in all ‘seeing’ systems, no? Whether it is astrology, or akashic record reading, or tea leaves or whatever. Everything is connected, there is a weave to the world, which we can read if we are looking for it. So in a way, getting an omen like this is no different than having an insight during a meditation. It is just a different method for ‘receiving’ the response, I think.

  4. February 19, 2010 10:43 am

    [“”After reading so much 2012 doomsday prophesizing… I was not in an optimistic place.”] – Definitely something we have in common. Somehow, studying eschatology could make one’s world really look like a darker place. Let’s just hope they serve beer in the afterlife. =)

    [“”…the vulture does not kill, nor cause to be killed… It exhibits patience, and then it takes what is given.”] – I like this very much. It seems that these birds should be ranked higher than politicians.

    [“But I would love to hear if you believe in omens, and if so, how you interpret them, and any major ones you feel you have experienced in your life.”] – Omens, synchronicities, deja vu, etc… yeah, I find these phenomena very interesting. Science has yet to prove the nature of these things, but the mystical and meditative traditions have been playing with these concepts for thousands of years already. haha. My experience with omens involves cats. There’s this black cat in the neighborhood that catches my attention from time to time. Once I was standing in front of our house at 3 in the morning and I saw it just standing there… I thought I was looking at a 2-dimensional image. Very creepy. Also, our pregnant pet cat died just recently. Very sad.
    =(

    Anyway, I enjoyed reading your post… really helps me feel that there are other people out there who share similar experiences.

    Peace and respect,
    Ryhen

  5. February 19, 2010 3:08 pm

    I never thought of a connection between ‘reading’ it and ‘manifesting’ it, but if I look deeper, you are correct. We follow through on what we focus on.

  6. February 19, 2010 3:17 pm

    “When something captures my attention like that, when it literally stops me in my tracks, I view it as an omen.”

    Lisa, this is such a touching reminder that the good work we do matters. The condor siting proved that your efforts as a girl to save these birds really mattered. And the message came from ‘up above’. I also appreciate the way you helped me see vultures in a new light. I’d never given any thought to the fact that they kill no living thing. Just goes to show how we tend to hold views that may need some reexamining.

    I have a Twitter friend in Utah who frequently posts pictures of Zion and its surroundings. The phrase ‘God’s country’ comes to mind when I look at his photos. So you went to God’s country and got a message from above that literally stopped you in your tracks. How often does that happen? Way cool. You are a powerful woman.

  7. February 19, 2010 3:27 pm

    I love omens, and I especially love animal omens and signs. Growing up on a farm, I had a lot of interaction with the animals, both domestic and wild, and I learned (sometimes the hard way!) what they all meant to me in a very practical way: rattlesnakes = danger, squirrels and chipmunks playing nearby means everything is safe.

    These days, I carry those same emotions and feelings with me whenever I see animals in the wild, or even in my dreams. I use my experiences that I had growing up to interpret their meanings as signs or symbols.

    Of course, we didn’t have condors on the farm, so I can’t help you here, but that’s a really cool sign! I’d love to see condors sometime…

  8. February 19, 2010 3:31 pm

    Signs and omens have not been an emphatic part of my experience. These days, I don’t deny or follow, so I’m completely open. I am also careful not to over-interprete. There can be a tendency to want certain experiences like omens and signs and psychic abilities and so on.

    What I do experience sometimes is an inner stop–as you said “…when it literally stopped me in my tracks.” It may be from an omen or sign or dream, or perhaps these just bring about an internal message more vividly. In any case, there is a message, and it’s good to learn to listen.

    Great post, fun to read…thanks.

  9. February 19, 2010 4:05 pm

    What a beautiful omen to share Lisa.

    I am careful as well with the sometimes daily redundant over interpretations that can easily slip in. But…The magic and mystery these symbols offer can really offer life changing awareness.
    In my experience I found that when these types emerged it was always a pivotal point within my spiritual growth process. Like an aha moment. Several years ago, I found a white long feather inside my cats litter box while cleaning it out. Funny because no birds or feather bedding were present in my home.

    I enjoyed this post very much~

  10. February 19, 2010 4:40 pm

    Lisa, I love this and the way that you have framed omens. I used to be one of those people who thought everything meant something. I realized though through my Buddhist studies that this may be simply one way the mind makes itself comfortable in an uncertain world. So now when I see things like those you mention here (and we sure do have our share of vultures here in S. Fl, all over the place!) I look and listen more deeply as to what significance this sighting might have for me. I allow the “omen” to speak instead of me forcing my meaning on it. Does that make sense? Deep discernment seems to be key…

    I appreciate the anthropological approach here, fascinating! Things like this always remind me that we are, indeed, One.

  11. themelindachannel permalink
    February 19, 2010 6:26 pm

    Lisa–awesome post. I love reading about your topics. I do believe in messages from spirit and I think animals have a clear transmission line and can deliver messages to us if we are open to receive them. I am not one of those people that overtranslates messages but I do notice when something stops me in my tracks. Something similar happened to me a few weeks ago.

    I was driving down my street after leaving my house and came to the stop sign. I look up at the electrical wires which frame the entire 4 stop intersection. On all 4 wires that hang above the intersection, are crows–maybe 50 crows. They are surrounding the intersection. I am stunned. I am looking and looking up at them while they crow and flap their wings but stay there. Other people walk by or drive by and don’t even notice but I am transfixed. After a few minutes, I realize I need to get to work but the experience stopped me short. I couldn’t believe that.

    I pondered the message to me–first, I know in the Native American tradition, crows mean magic but I also got the strong feeling of community. So to me, the message was we can create magic when we are in community. I was newly appointed caretaker of a women’s Moon Lodge in San Diego so this sign served me well and was quite appropriate. Thanks for reminding me of it.

    I love your blog!

    warmly,
    Melinda Pajak

  12. February 19, 2010 7:32 pm

    I enjoyed this post a lot.
    I am not particularly good at reading omens but I do agree omens / signs / dreams should be primarily interpreted personally, rather than consulting a symbol or dream dictionary.
    Hmm do I remember any of my personal omens? That’s difficult, because my main way to get messages is to just sense or “hear” it. I guess each person has a preferred way of intuition.

  13. mommymystic permalink*
    February 19, 2010 8:26 pm

    So nice to login and see so many great comments.

    Ryhen – Yea, some animals are not simply animals. Your neighborhood black cat sounds a bit like that. My condor experience was a bit different, since they are not something I see regularly. But I once lived in a neighborhood with a Siberian Husky who simply roamed around the whole area (we all knew him) and he was definitely not simply a dog (and I love dogs.) He would watch me so intently at times. Sorry to hear about your cat…

    Aurora – At this point, I really do just think of reality as this seamless weave, with no separate subjective/objective. It’s all just this web of energy functioning on different levels, and our thoughts impact it (not control it, that’s where I think there is sometimes confusion, but impacts it), and our perception does too, and there is this constant interplay. So I don’t think of an omen as some message from an outside force, but this complex surfacing of something that was already being asked in my attention…

  14. mommymystic permalink*
    February 19, 2010 8:33 pm

    Brenda – Yes, the ‘flip’ in my thinking about vultures was one of the most interesting parts of this process. And this is really quintessential Tantric Buddhism, as I mentioned. Taking something that is viewed as a negative and flipping it to see the positive – not simply in a ‘look on the bright side’ kind of way, but in a real, deeper way. All the ‘demons’ of nature – rattlesnakes, scorpions, skunks, vultures, etc. – have their function with the scheme of things…who is your friend from Zion, I would love to connect with them, we are there monthly….

    Jay – That is interesting, that because of your background on the farm, you have a special ‘interpretive’ system that evolved, that is your own key to reading the world…I think that is really how it works, as I mentioned to Aurora below – there is this interplay between our psyches and so-called ‘objective reality’…

    Kaushik – glad you enjoyed it. Yes, I am wary of over-interpreting as well, and at one point in my life, would not allow myself to think in these terms, because I felt it was indulgent. But now I am ready for some ‘magic’, and when things impact me this profoundly, I feel I need to listen…

  15. mommymystic permalink*
    February 19, 2010 8:41 pm

    Carla – Ooo, I love that white feather example, because it is so out of the blue. You can try and rationalize all the ways it could have gotten there, but that is not really relevant. The main point is that in that moment, it was such a surprise, and stopped you in your tracks. And yes, at some level this omen was the culmination of a turn in my own spiritual path and teaching that had been brewing for awhile.

    Jan – Vultures in Florida, who knew? I don’t think of them at all there! Yes, I was also very wary about omens and things like that for a long time, particularly when traditional Buddhism and then Vedanta/non-duality were the primary reference points in my path. And I think it was necessary to do that at the time, because it can become such a ego-trap. I do think deep discernment and self-awareness is necessary, or we constantly ‘create’ justification in the outside world for things we are deciding and thinking. So in a way, it sounds like we have come to a similar place but from opposite directions…

    Melinda – Thanks for sharing, that is a wonderful story! In the Carlos Castanada books, Don Juan drives Carlos nuts with crows and omens. It is actually kind of funny. My situation was similar to yours in that no one else really seemed to think this extraordinary at all. All these hikers went by and none of them even looked up. Of course, they probably didn’t know anything about the condors or their near extinction, so seeing them would not mean anything o them. Which is part of the point of the Coelho quote, I think, ‘my omens are not your omens.’ Congrats on the moon lodge, I wish I lived closer!

    Akemi – Yea, I am cautious/skeptical about omens, but I am a very ‘symbol’ oriented person, and nature is a big part of my life and path, so it makes sense that I would receive messages that way….

  16. Nettles permalink
    February 20, 2010 9:53 am

    I find these ideas quite fascinating Lisa. think I feel quite similarly about omens. I have long felt that certain “signs”, and also animals have represented very personal and specific things to me. And that I have found myself awake to them. But yes – it’s something very personal as you describe. For me an omen is not something I view superstitiously in a “the sky is falling chicken-licken – look it’s a sign from the gods” kind of way. It’s (possibly) more pragmatic for me – the explanation, for this anyway. I don’t see omens as “sent” to me from somewhere. But I think something akin to your notion of omens (perhaps?). Their significance to me is embedded in the unconscious or psyche – a kind of (very loosely) Jungian concept. What we are drawn to, or draw connections with. We often see what is significant to us. It triggers thoughts, feelings, ideas that are there waiting for us to explore and possibly resolve, or even draw strength from.

    For me personally, omens are no less powerful because I see them this way. And I really want to say that for years now I have felt an “affinity” (for want of a better word) with Nekhbet. I have no idea why I do, but she always feels significant to me. Your post made me really sit up when I saw this. So, thanks for “sending” me this omen Lisa! Hehe. But really, I do feel for me that Nekhbet is significant.

  17. February 20, 2010 12:13 pm

    Ahh, I just love those myths and archetypes. Did a paper at university on the correlation between Tarot symbolism, Hindu gods and goddesses and Jungian archetypes. They’re all the same really – the same story running through us all, over and over, neverending, played out many times over. Omens certainly come into it…but in the unfolding of my apparent life’s story, where all possibilities are always ripe, I probably ignore the omens as a bit limiting!

  18. mommymystic permalink*
    February 20, 2010 4:50 pm

    Nettles – my own Egyptian link is Maat. But I appreciate Nehkbet alot, too. And I didn’t know anything about the vulture association before this, or their significance across all these different cultures that I love. Especially their link to the feminine, which isn’t very intuitive to us in the modern age I think (it turns out many species of vultures don’t have any visible differences between male and female, so the Egpyptians thought they were all female. That’s not true of condors, but it was interesting to me that my research led me there.)

    Suzanne – interesting that both you and Nettles mentioned Jung, that is part of where I was headed with a post on symbols and symbology that I want to do. You know, I do think in Jungian terms too I think, kind of. Both Jung and Joseph Campbell I find very interesting on symbols, in terms of the archetypes across cultures and all that. And then metaphysically I just think of our awareness and ‘external reality’ as one continuous field, so of course we can ‘read’ the world just like we do our own psyche…to me it is an extension of non-duality in a way actually, the collapse of subject/object…It’s interesting what you say about it being limiting though. I guess that is very true, as they are used in most religions, as ‘messages from the Gods’ instructing us. But I don’t really think in those terms, so to me it is just part of the lila, the play of the universe, and part of the fun…

  19. February 20, 2010 10:38 pm

    Lisa,
    I find your story fascinating. And I very much believe in omens. Like you, for me this is not a regular occurence – and has to be something that really jumps out at me (not literally jumps out!). I can think of one right now, one which is very personal and I’m not ready to share here. I know there have been others, of which I’m not recalling right now. Reading your story, though, is very connecting for me – and for the amazing world we live in.

  20. February 21, 2010 12:14 pm

    Hi, I found you by the “metaphysics” tag. I’m connecting with people who are on some level like minded. So I hope to speak to you in the near future.

  21. February 22, 2010 4:57 pm

    Hey Lisa. I’m SO glad to see that Mr Coelho and your wonderful self feel that omens are of a eprsonal nature. I always bristle a little when people get too bogged down with systems, especially with dreams. Systems are just tools to me, like you have used them here, useful to dig up soemthing that clicks for you persnally… so again, still a personal approach.

    I’m delighted to hear their numbers jumped from 20 to the hundreds. How marvelous for you all to catch a glimpse of them.

  22. mommymystic permalink*
    February 22, 2010 6:49 pm

    Lance, that is great. And yes, I do want to emphasize (for anyone reading this!) that for me, it really does have to jump out to be an omen. I was talking about this with someone yesterday, and clarified, based on their question, that something like this hadn’t happened for me in years. I mean, I really stopped in my tracks. There were people walking by going “oh cool, condors”. But for me it was something else. It was a visceral, emotional, intuitive reaction. So that’s the ‘bar’ I set for calling something an omen, personally. I am so happy to hear you have had that experience too!

    Mon – yes, the whole ‘system’ thing just never made much sense to me, because so many symbols are going to be culturally relative, right? And then personally so, based on experiences. I mean, snakes in a dream are supposed to represent the kundalini rising in Indian symbol systems. But if someone is terrified of snakes, or has actually been bitten by one once or something, then if snake shows up in their dream, I have to think it has more to do with fear than the kundalini! That’s just one example, but I think you know what I mean…

  23. February 23, 2010 5:31 am

    Hi Lisa,
    I loved that the work you did as a girl paved the way for these birds to make a comeback on the planet. It seemed so lovely that they were there for you, in abundance, (four condors!!!) to let you know or remind you of the incredible difference you make in the world. Your writing and your very presence are healing and preparing, perhaps, for a similar comeback for some aspect of our humanity. I believe in you.
    Cheers!
    Alexis

    PS
    I appreciate all you’ve done to revamp your blog. It looks great, is very organized and is now an even more efficient resource for all things Mommy Mystic! Love it!

  24. ruth permalink
    February 24, 2010 1:21 am

    I loved reading about your interpretation of all this.
    I pay attention to omens for sure, usually animal in nature but also in our life happenings and events to. The animals are more common than the omens that occur in circumstance of living.
    Wow, what a powerful one for you.
    Recently a fantail flew into my kitchen. At that moment in time I was singing and feeling really really happy and peaceful going about my business in the kitchen. I took the fantail’s meaning as *go with this. This is the way, go with it! Go with simplicity and enjoyment in the mundane*.
    xx

  25. mommymystic permalink*
    February 24, 2010 6:16 pm

    Alexis, thanks for your kind words, we all need that sometimes. Back at you with all of it. And thanks for noticing the blog changes, I am still chipping away at ones I would like to make, but getting there. Did you notice I went back to my old tagline? I decided you were right! Even if I am not writing about ‘women’s spirituality’ all the time, I am a women writing about spirituality, in the 21st century, so I decided it still fit!

    Ruth – Wow, love the fantail story. ‘Go with this’ is a great message. The condors were that in a way for me too….

  26. February 24, 2010 8:24 pm

    I share your interpretation of hope and faith in humanity. I also see them as reminders for us to stretch beyond our limited concepts of self, beyond doubt and to trust in the unknown.

    Recently, I have had moments of great sadness, fear, and doubt. On many of these occasions, birds flew low enough to my car while driving or close enough to me while walking, then spread their wings and soared high above me.

    Though the ground is crowded by overdeveloped areas in suburbia and the city, the sky reminds me that there is more space than I perceive. Space for me to forgive, to love, to see beyond the stories of self.

    I hope your family had a wonderful time at Zion.

  27. February 25, 2010 12:11 am

    Hi Lisa
    As always I so love your mixture of mystics and common sense. That makes me feel safe somehow.
    I love how you are very careful with interpretation, the ego is a slippery master indeed.
    I do not know what omen’s roles are in my life yet but I do know I have to be present for them to be able to capture my attention. And if they make me pay attention, if birds for example make me be present, that is a wonderful gift as well.

  28. mommymystic permalink*
    February 25, 2010 9:05 pm

    Mermaid – yes the sky really is an amazing thing, isn’t it? Just looking up sometimes can shift everything. I think it really is a practice in itself – just looking up!

    Wilma – Yes, and birds do seem to have this unique presence about them that brings us in to the now. As some have mentioned, maybe it is the sky, or that they can fly, I don’t know….

  29. March 10, 2010 8:26 am

    Omens are simply the universe communicating with us. I think ther term is a little dogmatic and subject to negative responses

  30. March 15, 2010 6:30 pm

    Mike – I agree, I almost used the word ‘sign’, but personally I prefer ‘omen’ better. But I do think words like ‘omen’ and ‘occult’ have gotten co-opted somehow, and taken on a negative connotation that they don’t really have if you study their formal meaning.

  31. Nichole permalink
    January 7, 2012 1:42 pm

    Last night I dreamt that my husband and I were watching a movie and there was a big red and white condoor in the movie. And then as we were matching the movie, a real big red and white condor appeared and began flying in a manner similar to the one if the movie. And then there was something about the Jewish traditions and Jesus and eight stars in the sky and how we are supposed to count and watch the stars. As far as I know, I am African-American and have no Jewish ancestry, so I am not sure why I would have this dream.

  32. Nichole permalink
    January 7, 2012 1:46 pm

    It’s interesting to read everyone’s posts. THanks!

  33. January 7, 2012 4:44 pm

    Nichole – how fascinating! I can’t speak to the meaning of those visuals specifically, but it’s certainly worth researching. That is my own approach anyway – to first use my intuition, and then if a meaning is not appearing, I refine it by doing some research on the meaning of those images in various cultures and see which one ‘clicks’. I would look at some stuff on condors as spirit guides personally, considering the context of your dream…

  34. Katrina permalink
    February 25, 2012 4:22 pm

    I definitely believe in omens. I agree they are mostly deeply personal and unique to each person. I usually only share my omen experiences with my spousal equivalent, he understands and holds my omens sacred as I hold his, most of our omens are related to animals and birds (I can share that his Native name is ‘High Eagle’ so eagles are very sacred in our home and to both of us). Although we both occasionally have omen experiences other than with animals or birds, the messages brought through the omens are usually delivered by animals, birds, etc.

  35. Mike permalink
    September 26, 2016 8:30 am

    I read this article because 2 days ago I went for a random spiritual walk. This fire road was just calling my name and I had to check it out. As I walked up I saw a bird gliding down toward me. It kept gliding downward and as it got close it began to open it’s wings and it suddenly was quite big. I’m 6 foot 1 and that bird was at least as big as me with it’s wings partially open. It got close enough for me to see it’s entire head was red! For a split second it looked like it might actually bump into me or poke at me but it then pushed it’s body up and began to glide around like it was showing off. It gave me a good while to watch it up close as it slowly glided away. Wanting to be seen but not followed.

    I’m a Christian and I believe simply from personal experience that in moments of difficulty or change God will show a sign. Remember it was a bird with a plant in it’s mouth that showed Noah the flood was over. A time a of change. From my research, I feel the Condor is a sign of spiritual growth and leadership. A sign of change but protection and overall triumph in regards to linking the body and spirit. The Condor is also a protector. It’s okay, I’ve got you. Go and get it!

  36. September 26, 2016 6:53 pm

    That’s a great story Mike, thanks for sharing.

I love to hear from you...

