Skip to content

10 Things I’ve Learned (or Think) About 2012…

January 12, 2010

I’ve been wanting to weigh in on the various 2012 prophecies out there, but wasn’t sure the world really needed another post on this topic. In the end though, I just couldn’t help myself. Mostly because I have been reading a lot about it anyway, in order to sort out my own thoughts on the matter, so I might as well share them here.

Just as a preamble, in case you’re not familiar with this topic (and you can skip this part of you are), the predictions stem from the belief that the Mayan calendar ends (or restarts, depending on who you ask) in December of 2012.  There are two main types of prophecies associated with 2012:

Apocolyptic: The world is going to end, due to a massive natural disaster or astro-event, and/or we’ve reached a religious ‘end of days’ (i.e. God has had it with us.)

Rebirth: The world is going to go through a major shift in consciousness and/or rebirth, and will be changed forever after this time, for the better.

There are also variations and combinations of these two predictions, mostly having to do with this being a crises or decision point for humanity. I have read probably hundreds, maybe thousands, of different takes on 2012 in the last year. For what it’s worth, here’s what I’ve learned:

1. 2012 is BIG business.

There have been a slew of books, TV specials and movies on 2012 already, and one prediction you can bank on is that there will be more. I mention this because I think that in order to really see intuitively on any topic, you first have to sort through the psychological or cultural issues that might be influencing your awareness. And there’s a lot of players in this one, a lot of whom are making a lot of money.

I’m probably especially suspicious when I see this because I was a software developer/project manager back during the 1999-panic days, and most of my work from 1995-1999 was related to software changes in preparation for 1999 (remember that?) I never saw anything that remotely suggested the world might have collapsed had it not been changed, but we (anyone in the technology industry, that is) made loads of money during that time. So I think it’s always worth asking, who stands to gain $$ from this?

2. At the end of the trail, there’s just a broken mango.

There is a Jataka tale (Buddhist folk tale) that I read recently to my kids that basically goes like this: A little white rabbit hears an earth-shattering thud and takes off in panic, believing a giant earthquake must be in progress. As he runs through the forest, other animals ask what’s going on, and when he answers, start to run with him. More and more animals join the fray, until finally a lion sees them all and, fearing they will all run off an upcoming cliff, gets them all to stop and asks what’s going on. He initially asks a buffalo, who says ‘the deer heard a sound’, and the deer says ‘no, the fox heard a sound’, who of course says ‘no the raccoon heard a sound’ and so on and so on until someone finally says, ‘no, the white rabbit heard a sound.’ So the rabbit says ‘yes, I really did hear the earth cracking open!’ And the lion, says ‘let’s go back to where you were at the time.’ They travel back to the mango tree that the rabbit was sitting under, and it turns out a giant mango had fallen on the ground right next to him and broken open.

What I discovered is that everyone writing about 2012 is referencing everyone else, and there are very few people making prophecies who actually know anything about the Mayan calendar itself, which is initially what started all the hypothesizing. In other words, at the end of the long morass of internet links, there is a broken mango. Among the anthropologists, astronomers, and historians that actually study the Mayan, there is a considerable amount of debate as to the calendar calculations and what they mean, and present-day Mayans attach little meaning to the date. In addition, the astronomer/author who first posited some of the possible solar/galactic events that might correspond to the Mayan calendar ending, which were used as the basis for the History Channel’s popular ‘Doomsday’ series, has roundly denounced the apocalyptic conclusions that have been drawn from his work.

It’s all too much to go into here, but the Wikipedia article on 2012 does a decent job of summarizing it (sometimes Wikipedia does work like it’s supposed to, with competing views duking it out and eventually settling into a well-rounded summary.)

None of this is meant to discount theories on 2012. It has clearly captured our attention. So I think it’s worth looking at why.

3. FEAR and HOPE, are the drivers behind the intense interest in 2012.

Perhaps the two primary drivers of the human psyche, this dichotomy is expressed in lot of different pairings: aversion and desire, the things we want and the things we don’t, or the past (foundation for fear) and the future (hope), heaven and hell, and more.

Much has been written about our ‘culture of fear’ in the last few years, and how the media feeds it, but how about hope? What is wrong with hope, you might ask? Well nothing, really (there’s nothing wrong with fear either, in my view, it’s what you do when you feel it that matters.) Hope is a wonderful thing! Except when it is exploited, as in “invest $500 with me now and you’ll have $10,000 return in a year!” or “10 pounds a week weight-loss guaranteed!” or “this meditation technique leads to instant enlightenment!”

I’m not saying that’s going on, but it’s hard not to read both the doomsday and utopian visions for a post-2012 world as gigantic projections and magnifications of these two driving psychological forces.

So, why are we so susceptible to them right now?

4.  We all feel the world is in crises, and are looking for answers.

From climate change to terrorism, recession to nuclear proliferation, we all feel like we are on the brink. Like we really could blow it this time, and this planet we call home, or at least our ability to live on it, could possibly cease to exist. And of course the media makes a lot of money (see #1) reporting on these things, so they are constantly in our attention.

So far, it probably sounds like I am completely debunking 2012 prophecies and feel they are nothing but hyped-up BS playing on our emotions. But that’s not actually what I think. I also sense, and this is entirely personal and intuitive, that we are truly in the middle of a transition right now, on many different levels. So here’s some of the material I found that resonate the most for me:

5. 2012 is part of a larger ‘yuga’ or cyclical shift.

From the ‘age of aquarius’ to the Hindu/Buddhist concept of ‘yugas’ there are many different theologies out there regarding the cycles of time, and the ages of humanity. The one I am personally most familiar with is the latter, the idea of  ‘yugas’, present in both Hindu and some Buddhist teachings. Although there’s some debate, the most common perception is that we are currently in the kali yuga, or the last in the yuga cycles before a return to the first yuga begins (these are each thousands of years long, BTW.)

One of the interesting ‘symptoms’ of the kali yuga according to texts on the subject, is an increased divisiveness, along social and religious lines, and I think we certainly see that, particularly here in the U.S. in our so-called ‘culture wars’. It’s translated as a ‘solidification of views’ or ‘solidification of ego’ in some of the things I have read – a kind of increased ‘otherization’. I see that happening on both ends of the political and religious/spiritual spectrum, and it is part of the 2012 debate, in my view.

6. This solidification is the real problem, not the views themselves.

Both sides of the various political and religious ‘battles’ that are going on are increasingly certain that the future of humanity depends on their views, their agenda, becoming manifest (again I am talking mostly here in the U.S. as that is what I am familiar with, but because of the role this plays in our politics I do think it has global implications.) And this includes various ‘new age’ assertions about the positive shifts in consciousness occuring, which all too often actually translate into ‘more and more people are starting to think like me‘.

I don’t mean to belittle these views – my own views would probably be considered ‘new age’ by many people – but I do think there are many different agendas being put forth here. And mostly, there’s just not a lot of heart in these dialogues, not a lot of openness, not a lot of  “we’re all in this together” type attitude, even when on the surface, that’s the stated goal. There is a lot of ‘us’ and ‘them’, those ‘in the know’ and ‘everyone else’, and a touch of superiority running under the surface. And I don’t claim to be entirely innocent of this myself. But I am bringing it up because I do believe if you’re going to examine something, you need to shine a light on the entire thing, bring all the shadows to the surface, on the way to the truth.

Which leads me to one of the only concrete predictions I will make about 2012:

7. There will be another bitter, divisive, and close U.S. Presidential election.

In November of 2012, we will have our next Presidential election, which means all of 2012 will be consumed by it, media-wise. It will be dirty, it will be bloodlust, we will hear constantly that the fate of the world rests in our hands, and we will be desperate for celebrity sex or reality tv scandals to divert our attention, at least for a day or so.

In the end, someone will win and someone will lose. Those who backed the winner will feel victorious and certain that a new day is dawning, and those who backed the loser will feel bitter and certain that the end of the world is near. In my view, both are equally delusional and equally egoic.

I’m not saying politics don’t matter (I actually think they matter quite a bit), and I’m sorry to sound cynical and jaded, but is there anyone out there who really believes things will go otherwise? (Idealists welcome!)

8. Nevertheless, changes are occurring, and an expanding spiritual awareness is part of it.

I do believe this. I do believe there is a greater connection to our spiritual selves unfolding, to multiple layers of consciousness, and that many, many people are experiencing this, including those holding very different spiritual views than my own. I do believe things are ‘speeding up’, a common phrase associated with both the kali yuga and 2012 prophecies. I do believe doorways are open right now, doorways that have been closed or hard to access for awhile.

But I also think it is happening much more gradually than many would assert, and that the divisiveness I spoke of above is only going to increase in the short-term, and it’s something we all need to think more about. And I think if we could crack that nut, the nut of divisiveness, it would do a whole lot more good than thousands of seminars and projections about 2012 itself.

9. The balance of yin/yang, and how they relate to the feminine and masculine, is undergoing a massive shift.

Another shift that I think is major, major, and that is somewhat related to why I do this blog, is the balance of yin and yang, or feminine and masculine energies, and how they relate to our ideas about what it means to be women and men. This has been written about a lot, so I won’t belabor it here, but certainly the rebirth of the feminine in spirituality, the evaluations of the role of women in religion, the shifts in marriage, the social changes in men’s and women’s social roles – all of this is part of that shift for me. And it isn’t really about either men or women, it’s about finding a new balance between these energies, and their expression in our individual minds, and our culture at large.

10. Regardless of what happens, existence will go on – it  is bigger than humanity or even the planet earth.

I do believe this. I think there is just a tad of self-absorption behind the assumption that we (humanity) or the earth are the center of the universe, and this sometimes gets in our way. This isn’t meant to be an excuse to do nothing though, it’s just a call to humility. Which in our ‘brand yourself’ world, is hard to come by. I do believe human life is special, and sacred, and I want to save it. And I think humility and an open heart, instead of drawing battle lines, is the only way to do so.

So what do you think? I hope this post didn’t come off as dismissive to anyone’s views, because I didn’t mean for it to be. I am truly interested in other’s views on this, so please share. Namaste-

48 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 11:03 pm

    Mommy Mystic: I loved this piece. Started off I was a little on rough edges, but I think you began rolling. I especiially agree with your ideas about duality and the coming balance of the Yin/Yang. Indeed, I believe that by Nature the Yin is going to increase our sense of connectedness. In sexuality, this is reflected in conception where the sperm initiates the egg’s division into various cells. Ultimately, the Female is unity and the Male initiates diversity…which is why in creation myths the beginning begins as primarily Female….Genesis 1:2 is written, for example, in primarily female nouns (e.g., Ruach for Spirit, Tehom for Waters (Marie, by the way, means Ocean) and of course Earth, or Matter, which is without form and void. The Word arises via Desire and there becomes diversity. So, in our Male dominated world we have a tendency towards dualism (more so than diversity) whereas I think the balance towards the Feminine could breed a more integrated world view. This does not mean that Unity and Diversity are separate. For example, you are one person yet composed of many cells, many organs and many facets to yourself. “E Pluribus Unim,” the Nations Motto, which is not even understood by most….In the Many is One. Probably more than you wanted to hear, but this is my passion.

    Thanks so much for your wonderful blogs. If you want a sampling of mine, I’m at http://sophianature.gaia.com/blog Be forwarned, I do poetry as well as prose…and yes I do write books…should have one published around March via Amazon.

  2. January 12, 2010 11:58 pm

    Hi Lisa,

    This is probably the best, and most well-thought out, exploration of the 2012 “thing” I have ever read. Thanks so much for not only sharing your personal wisdom and insights, but also shedding a light on some of the more “crazy” ideas floating around about 2012.

    Personally, I see 2012 as the next great big “non-event” of out time, much like Y2K was. I honestly don’t believe anything extraordinary will happen. The sun will rise, the sun will set. The sun will rise again. Life will go on.

  3. mommymystic permalink*
    January 13, 2010 12:16 am

    Burl – I like what you say about dualism vs. integration, and unity and diversity…although I tend to think of unity and integration as being a higher balance of yin and yang, as opposed to dualism or diversity being yang/male and integration/unity being yin/female. Does that make sense? It’s like the yin/yang symbol – they define each other, together they make a whole. So it’s the balance that is integration/unity to me, as opposed to a rising of the feminine/yin. Or maybe I was misunderstanding you…

    Jay – I’m glad you liked it:-) I guess I see it as both an event and a non-event (very zen!) I don’t think our outer life will look any different post-2012, but I do think we are in a transition period, and that 2012, in retrospect, may turn out to be a pivotal year. I’m not sure. It’s both scary and exciting to be living in times like these…

  4. January 13, 2010 1:38 am

    Lisa,
    I’ll jump in where Jay left off and echo his sentiments – this is a wonderfully written piece on the whole 2012. For me personally, I try not to take a lot of stock in what I hear. Will that date in December 2012 be significant in some way? I don’t know. And I also believe that none of us do – it’s all speculation – or like the rabbit, it’s all in hearing something and thinking it’s something much bigger.

    And I like to think – is there anything I can do? And what I keep coming back to is – I can continue to live my life with my whole heart, believe in the good in all people, love openly, care, and be real. And whether something big (or little) happens in 2012 – or if life just goes on as normal – I’ll be happy about who I am, and how I have been living my life. And that’s enough for me. Is that view too shallow? Am I missing something here? I don’t know, maybe so, and maybe I am – I am okay with that, though.

    Lisa, all that said – and it probably sounds like I just don’t care – is that I do care. And I care because I DO feel that spiritual shift. For me, that’s a shift toward a more personal connection to something much greater. And I so deeply agree with your last point and this call to humility. What a beautiful thought.

  5. Ruth permalink
    January 13, 2010 4:17 am

    Hey great! Thanks for your study into all of this. I haven’t read stuff for a while about 2012.
    Yes, I think life will go on; yes, there will be another insidious election (where for me ‘hope’ means nothing).
    I do see a change in consciousness and I see it happening now and especially of the last few years, that we as a people are evolving in a more emotionally and spiritually intelligent way. Even with my recent involvement with child birth and all the social services set up for that, well now (here in NZ anyway), for example, it’s encouraged that women demand feed and go with their baby, meetin g their needs with secure attatchment theory and research as an undermining factor to that (also a result of history and evolution) as opposed to the rigid structure routine etc, which may not neccesarily be conducive to meeting a baby’s need. And the awareness surrounding actual childbirth in general and more sensitivity to it etc. If this is having an affect on a global scale, (at least it seems to in western countries) then I see that as an example of a change in consciousness.

    Anything’s possible eh…who knows what the future will bring.
    So according to the Mayan calander, is the 2012 date also when our planets are in alignment with the sun?
    So much more I want to respond to here but usual story, have run out of time!
    Thanks again for your great thoughts and the Buddhist story. 🙂

  6. January 13, 2010 12:03 pm

    Yes, more simply put, diversity and unity dance in unity. Being a Permaculture Gardner, for example, I work with the land in such a fashion that I allow diversity but hidden behind that diversity there is a united eco-system with each part or cell influencing and encouraging all the other parts which then allows for a well functioning system. Just so, you are composed of many cells, organs and so on. Yet, each of these cells work towards the functioning whole. The Earth, as such, is one planetary Mom yet contains a diversity of life forms. Is the Earth united or divided. The answer ultimately is “yes.” In other words, what I’m trying to get at is the transcendence of “Either / Or” propositions. Does this make better sense? I love your work, by the way. Burl

  7. January 13, 2010 12:06 pm

    Mommy mystic – this is a great article, and strangely, the first I’ve ever read on the whole 2012 thing. I’ve always thought it was just another Y2K bug hoax (I was looking forward to the world blowing up LOL). I think you’re spot on with numbers 3 and 4. All these prophecies always come and go. Even as a kid I remembered all kinds of these, and none of them turned out to be more than smoke.

  8. January 13, 2010 12:20 pm

    mommy (i Love saying that),

    thank you for a great take on the 2012 thang.

    it is soooooo interesting to watch, as the relative world plays with itself — if only to keep the Grande Illusion interesting. In the end, what matters most (to an individual) is that which goes on inside his/her own ocobodymind, and posts like this allow us to contemplate a broad spectrum of possibilities.

    insight-full, open, relevant, fun, deep and Light at the Same time.

    thank you for writing,
    🙂 lenny

  9. January 13, 2010 4:02 pm

    This is a wonderfully balanced view of 2012. My sentiments are like yours–it’s more interesting to me to understand why we’re often mesmerized by end-of-world prophesies rather than debate the merits of the prophesies themselves. Of course, I tend to take a questioning view on many of these things, 2012 and spirituality and the LOA and so on.

    You’re right it is big business. It is fear and hope, and perhaps some sentiment that humanity’s course is unsustainable. I don’t think the Hindu yuga match up to 2012; Kali yuga stared 5000 yrs ago and will continue for some 400,000 years, but I’m no expert and I may be completely wrong about this.

    I like that you point out the balancing energies of yin/yang, masculine/femine, light/dark. If all this raises spiritual awareness, it’s a wonderful thing. Solidification (and that’s great term for it) I suppose is a problem with any trend.

    Very balanced and thoughtful article, thanks!

  10. January 13, 2010 5:28 pm

    Wonderful post!

    I weigh in as one who is hoping for an expanding spiritual awareness but agree with you that a revolution of spirit takes time. The question of how we go is always answered by reaching critical mass of any belief. My little poetic post on the subject ends thus:

    Hollow shells left by past masters of brutality can be consecrated to new purpose and thus transformed to fit a gentler age. The new play is cast, the audience awaits. The playwrights and directors have fallen away to leave the cast to play as they would like. How shall we go brave troubadours? Shall we play light or dark, cunning or creative, venture to heights unimaginable or to old standby scripts of torture and longing? How shall we go?

  11. mommymystic permalink*
    January 13, 2010 6:00 pm

    To all – Glad people liked this post…I was a bit skeptical about it actually – so long and cynical in parts! I thought about breaking it in two, but frankly just didn’t have the time to manage two posts this week…anyway, thanks for slogging through and providing your 2cents. I am intrigued that so many guys commented on this one – that is exactly the opposite of usual – should I read anything into this I wonder? If so, what? Ok, on to individual comments-

    Lance – I don’t think you ever come off as not caring, you always put so much attention into your reading and responses. You know me – I like all this heady analysis, it’s just something I enjoy, but in the end, I agree with you. It just comes down to each of us living our lives, and trying to do so with kindness and integrity and truth, and balancing all of those when they seem to conflict.

    Ruth – I’m glad you brought up the positive shifts, because you are so right, and it is happening on a lot of fronts. Birthing is one area, I actually had quite a positive experience with my first here in my local hospital, stayed in one room from entry through birth through entire stay, baby with me for all but 10 minutes when they did the mandatory weight etc. check, so that was wonderful to see, and there is more and more awareness of this. I was also thinking about this in relation to things like recycling and reusable shopping bags, etc. all of which are completely supported and easy here where I live – we don’t even have to sort – and these are big changes from a decade ago. So as easy as it is to feel distressed about where humanity is going, there is also so many signs of change, that impact our daily lives.

    As for the Mayan calendar and planetary alignment, I found out there is alot of dispute about this…I had thought the debate was just over the prophecy, not whether or not the calendar ended in Dec. 2012, but as it turns out, there is a lot of debate about the dates itself. Some feel it is meant to end on the winter solstice of that year, and that it corresponds to certain astronomical occurrences, but others do not. So we will see, I guess. One of the things I did like had to do with some general astrological transits going in, one of which started in 1998 and goes for 36 years – can’t remember details, will look up – but this one feel intuitively significant to me – that there is a 36 year intense period that we are right in the middle of right now, in the midst of the larger cyclical yuga shifts…

  12. January 13, 2010 6:01 pm

    Hi Lisa,

    I like this post and your response to Jay. As you probably know, my view is similar to yours. 2012 is both an event and a non-event. It’s an event, and the shift is already happening — 2012 may well be a tipping point when we make the mass transition, bringing the changes to the surface. Because the shift is already happening to many, it’s also a non-event. I don’t know if I get to see anything significant on 12/21/ 12.

    About the divisiveness. I agree conflicts and elitist view are no good, but at the same time, I do see some divisions will be inevitable. Each soul is growing differently. Some work on their spiritual development consciously, and it’s only fair they see more progress. In the meantime, some are stuck or even working to sabotage others’ progress, and they will get the fair result of their choices. It’s not like the more developed would put down the others, the separation just happen as a natural consequence. Spiritual leaders can only help willing to be helped. Even Jesus nor Buddha couldn’t help everyone.

    Btw I like the new look of your blog.

    Blessings,

    Akemi

  13. mommymystic permalink*
    January 13, 2010 6:13 pm

    Burl – it does make sense. I have always liked the metaphor of the ocean and waves in terms of our individual relationship to source or the divine – that we are both individual wave and infinite ocean. But I had never thought of unity/diversion in eco-terms and I really like, thanks for that. P.S. Didn’t you mean a website in one of your prior comments? You should link to it in the URL line of your comments, so if people like what you have to say they can clickthrough…or did you say it’s not quite ready yet?

    Albert – yes, I tried to find this list to link to that I once read of all the various ‘end of world’ or ‘major shift’ type theories that people have subscribed to over the centuries (it was 10 pages long I think), but couldn’t find the exact one…it is a pattern we have, in daily life and on cultural level I think…a way of projecting our greatest fears and hopes as I mentioned…glad you liked, and thanks for visiting.

    Lenny, glad you liked. Yes, I agree – as I wrote to Lance, I like to do all this kind of analysis, it is just something I enjoy, but I don’t really think it’s where the real action is at. It’s in our own ‘ocobodymind’ as you put it (haven’t heard that term before!) and what we do there…

    Kaushik – yea, I got more interested in the psychological analysis than the actual prophecies! But it was fun, in a mental kind of way. I have read so many different views of the kali yuga…I guess Sri Yuketswar, Yogananda’s teacher was one who thought we weren’t even in the kali yuga. Then I have read Tibetan predictions that say we are in the last phase. So there is a lot of debate about. I have no idea WHERE we are in it, but to me, when I read the descriptions of the kali yuga in ancient texts, it sounds like we are at least in it. And a cyclical view of these things, of human awareness and history, makes sense to me…I guess because we see those cycles in so many other places, from nature to our own awareness…

    Trish – Love your paragraph – you are considerably more eloquent than myself I think!

  14. mommymystic permalink*
    January 13, 2010 6:18 pm

    Hi Akemi – Yes, I liked your post on the tipping point, and maybe 2012 will be that…it feels farther off than that to me (the tipping point that is) but maybe I am a little too cautious in that regard. Anyway, as you mentioned the thing about a tipping point is that you can’t always see it when it’s happen – it’s only apparent after the fact. So if there is any true significance to 2012, we probably won’t really see it until much later.

    As for the divisiveness, this is a key issue I have been contemplating. To what extent is there a battle of positive and negative forces (for lack of a better word) going on and to what extent is it just ego vs. ego? I do know what you are saying, and even feel like I have experienced it. And yet I am so wary of becoming part of the problem by labeling others or other views as ‘the problem’ that I am hesitant to go there. Still sorting through this one…really, it reflects my different backgrounds, as it is kind of the difference between a classic Buddhist response and a more occult/metaphysical one…

    P.S. thanks for mentioning the new look. I was just playing with themes last night. I’m still not settled on this one, seems a little sterile? But better than the last. I’m going to keep tinkering, especially with the header. And I need to re-org the categories too, just haven’t gotten that far!!

  15. January 13, 2010 10:29 pm

    Hey, Lisa! This is truly a fantastic post and discussion! I haven’t decided what I believe about 2012, but I refuse to make long term plans until Dec.22, 2012. If we’re still around that morning, I guess I’ll have to get crackalakin’ on getting serious about Hunter’s education and our retirement fund! If not, at least I didn’t waste our last few years on the boring stuff. Play now, work later! 🙂

  16. January 13, 2010 10:37 pm

    hi, trish!

    you are right. “ocobodymind” isn’t a word (but hey, i was writing on the fly). psychosomatic Spirit might have been better, but i wanted to go with one word).

    chuckles,
    len

    -on a serious note: keep up the GREAT work/play!
    🙂

  17. January 13, 2010 11:06 pm

    Quite honestly, I have enough of my own fear to contend with before I open to the larger fear of the world ending. I’ll admit I would cling to the rebirth prophesy, since it is filled with hope, and I marvel at my own strength when there is hope.

  18. January 14, 2010 12:20 am

    Hmm, let’s see, how much do I want to disclose here?

    First, it’s not a labeling and battling issue, at least not for me. I have no intention to battle against the negative forces. If anything, I want to have as little interaction as possible. I want to completely ignore them. In the meantime, negative souls seek out my service, and when this happens, my professionalism (and compassion) kicks in, and I do what I can do for them, in the hope it may (just maybe) help them come back to light. As I progress in Ascension, however, I’m increasingly feeling weighed down by this practice, and someday I might just reject all negative souls.

    I was thinking perhaps I want to mention Ascension because I, too, wrote a post about a year ago about 2012 and Ascension. For me, individual soul’s Ascension is an observable event. And although I’m not all sure, I have a feeling some of us are leaving in or around 2012. And some will choose to stay. For those who stay, consciously or unconsciously, that is, with or without Ascension soul shift, they would look back and recognize the significant of 2012 later.

    You know what I mean. And not everyone reads comments, that would suffice — not everyone need to know this.

    Akemi

  19. mommymystic permalink*
    January 14, 2010 1:46 am

    Lisis – you crack me up. And you might want to delay your plans until at least the 24th, as some people think it’s the 23rd. Or then again, some people think it’s 30 years from now, or 100, so probably best to just give up plans altogether…

    Mermaid – yes, and I didn’t mean to give hope a bad name. Hope as light at the end of the tunnel – and we all have tunnels – is a beautiful thing. Exploited hope is more my issue with some things I read.

    Akemi – thanks for coming back, and I hope you didn’t think I was putting you or your ideas in the divisive category! I really did not mean to do that – I was actually thinking more along the lines of politics and organized religion. And I do think that includes some new age personages, but I personally would never put you in that category (or frankly, I wouldn’t engage at the level we do!) I know from experience that there is light and compassion behind all you do. Your own thoughts on this matter are part of what has re-opened the question of positive/negative, light/dark for me. And ascension, for that matter. And the role (if any) I am meant to play as events unfold, in my own small way. XOXO

  20. January 14, 2010 2:01 am

    I predict that people will continue to predict the end of the world until sometime around the end of the world.

  21. January 14, 2010 12:31 pm

    The story can be just as interesting as ya like. Whatever happens, happens now.

  22. January 14, 2010 2:04 pm

    I echo what Lance, Jay and some of the rest has said about your post. It is about one of the best, if not the best, I have read so far. Now, what are my thoughts about 2012? Honestly, I have not placed that much significance on it. Reason is that I prefer to focus on living in the now. I have got far more things to be concerned about right this moment eg. how to cultivate more harmony, build better relationships, let go of my resistances, etc.

    In the course of my work, I observed that a good number of my clients had a deep interest on 2012. They were highly focused on being “ready” for ascension by going for all kinds of new age healing. At the same time, I noted that they wanted unwilling to work on their own inner issues. My observation was that they preferred speed rather than developing insight and clarity. They were living very much in the hope that 2012 will bring them out of their suffering. I doubt that their approach/paradigm/belief is the best way for me to go until year 2012!

    The last “prediction” I heard about what’s coming was from a learned monk. He shared what you’ve said: that existence will probably carry on. Let’s wait and see, shall we?

    Your latest theme is definitely better than the last one. All the best in finding one that you’d truly like!

    Namaste.

    Evelyn

  23. January 14, 2010 3:27 pm

    Hi Lisa,

    Wonderful post! Thank you so much for sharing what you have learned with all of us. When I lived in India and when I was studying to be a nun, much was discussed in the convent about 2012. Apparently, a few spiritual traditions have been aware of its significance.

    The general belief (based on what those teachers taught) was that 2012 would represent the dawn of the Golden Age. Meaning that it is the beginning of a time of greater peace, understanding and all that good stuff.

    Actually, according to Hinduism, there have been many Golden Ages throughout history. Any time a race has gone off the path and have become immersed in greed and war, there comes a time when peace and love will reign. Many of my teachers called this current time “kali yuga”, as you described in your post.

    So it will be interesting to see what actually happens. 🙂

  24. mommymystic permalink*
    January 14, 2010 5:16 pm

    Paul/Suzanne – well said.

    Evelyn – you added another dimension to this, in terms of how people can actually shoot themselves in the foot by over-focusing on something like this. No matter what, the real work is inner. All this focus on the ‘external story’ just keeps us outside ourselves, and as Suzanne alluded to, in the future instead of the present…

    Nadia – that is interesting about the nuns in the convent. Although a lot of Hindu/Buddhist sources that I found discussed the yugas, and the cycles of ‘golden’ and ‘dark’ ages, like you said (and the kali yuga in particular), I didn’t find any references from those traditions to 2012 specifically. The focus on that year seemed to stem from Mayan sources, and then cascaded out to other predictions (although as I mentioned, I found a lot more disagreement on the date than I thought…) So it is interesting to me that 2012 was being discussed there, thanks for sharing…I hope it IS the dawn of a golden age, for what it’s worth…

  25. January 14, 2010 7:59 pm

    Love the new look, Lisa. It’s more spacious, isn’t it? Love what you’ve done compiling all this information too. I know the Mayans were brilliant astronomers but I’m going with Sir Isaac Newton, the father of modern calculus. He calculated that we are totally safe from end-time scenarios until at least 2060.

    I see the next fifty years being spent trying to get global terrorism and resource reduction under control. We’ve never had to deal with these threats before. There certainly will be massive changes, but then there always is.

    Last night I was watching Anderson Cooper reporting live from Haiti when, apparently, someone said a tsunami was coming and total pandemonium broke out in the streets. If I have any fear about 2012, it’s that a similar thing could happen, a rumor could lead to a tsunami of chaos and confusion. I’m inspired by the multinational relief efforts underway in Haiti today. This whole idea of a global community acting together is fairly new to us. I think we’ll be okay.

  26. January 15, 2010 12:37 am

    Lisa,

    I didn’t think you put me on the grill about light vs darkness, so please take it easy. And I appreciate your kind words for what I do.
    I was just venting my frustration about the overall “fight against darkness” idea, because that only feeds them. I might even say that is exactly what the negative souls want. We don’t have time to fight. We each need to take care of ourselves first and foremost, and perhaps that inspires the fence-sitters, but really that is up to their free will.

  27. Sandye Am permalink
    January 15, 2010 3:18 am

    Nice sentiments…but so many “spiritual” people don’t walk the talk. Ultimately, you can only feel compassion. There are souls that don’t even seem to consciously realize they not in light…

  28. AliceInWonderland permalink
    January 15, 2010 4:02 am

    Here is the basic facts. The Mayans had no idea there was any such thing as a center of the galaxy. The Mayan calendar doesn’t end in 2012, it is merely the end of a cycle. The Sun is eclipsing the center of the Milky Way every year and has been for decades.

    There is a great possibility that something will happen in 2012. There is also a great possibility that something will happen in 2010, and 2011, as well as 2013, 2014 and every other year after that. Face it, something happens just about every year that we wish didn’t happen. This doesn’t have anything to do with Mayan, the center of the galaxy, or 2012. Its just life.

    So, if you want to study the Mayans, learn about their rich and wonderful culture. Maybe make a trip to Belize or Guatemala and see their culture first-hand.

  29. January 15, 2010 4:34 am

    Well said. Great post.

  30. mommymystic permalink*
    January 15, 2010 6:09 am

    Brenda – still experimenting, but glad you like the new theme anyway. I’m realizing changes are going to be a bit slow and gradual…I think you raise the most important point, which is why I focused on the psychology so much in this post – that we could actually create a panic in 2012 because of all this hype, so it’s important to cut through it…on the other hand, maybe we can create a breakthrough too. Just probably doesn’t have anything to do with 2012 specifically…

    Akemi – I got it. You know, I think I was thinking more in terms of negative souls who do want to change at some level. But of course, that’s not everyone. And I am sensing my focus on this may be more about my own specific skills and role, if that makes sense…

    Sandye – thanks for visiting, but not sure what your comment was in reference to in the post…or was it in response to some comment?

    Alice – Well yes, that was part of the point of this post (#2) – that there is in fact a lot more disagreement about the Mayan calendar than is usually presented. Some agree with your interpretation, some don’t. And from what I have read, as I mentioned in the post, contemporary Mayans attach very little significance to 2012. Myself, I don’t care all that much, I feel it is more about a larger cycle, of which 2012 may be relevant, or may not be (#5.) But it is interesting to look at why it has captured so many people’s attention.

    Zenmom- thanks!

  31. January 15, 2010 8:17 pm

    I actually hadn’t heard anything about 2012, except maybe once, in passing, that the Mayan calendar ended then. So this was quite the education for me.

    Many of your points resonated with me, particularly the last one. In fact, all of your points makes sense to me as a way of seeing the world, with or without 2012, so thank you!

  32. January 15, 2010 8:33 pm

    Great post! Thanks.

  33. January 16, 2010 1:36 am

    Hi Lisa,

    Fantastic synthesis of this 2012 phenomenon! I really appreciate your no-nonsense, yet spiritually open views on it. I enjoyed reading the comments, too.

    Personally, sometimes thinking about 2012 scares me and sometimes it inspires me. I suppose either way, I’m living outside of this moment, and it doesn’t really do any good. I would like to think that something I am doing now in the way I live my life and relate to others is contributing to a more inspiring outcome – if outcome is even an appropriate word to use. It’s hard to know what to believe. I suppose the only thing I’d change if I decided to really worry about it (which I won’t) would be to move a couple of states inland – just in case. 🙂

    Oh – and nice rework of the template. For what it’s worth, I really did like your previous tagline. Did you change it because you’re moving your focus away from specifically women’s spirituality? I can see how that would open up a lot more writing options for you – like this post, for example.

    Cheers!
    Alexis

  34. mommymystic permalink*
    January 16, 2010 1:54 am

    Stacy – Unfortunately, by the time it actually gets here, I suspect you will have heard much more than you ever wanted about it! Not from me though – this was my opus on the subject:-) It’s interesting you hadn’t heard much yet though – I guess I am more linked into ‘new age’ blogs than I thought…

    POB – glad you liked!

    Alexis – thanks Alexis, I’m glad you liked the post. You know, I am still unsure on the tagline, and I want to play with the header too, and reorganize tags and pages. So far, all I have really done is change themes!! A little at a time, with three kids, lol…I changed the tagline because I realized only maybe half of my posts were really women-centric. On the other hand, I like the idea of focusing more on those things, so I might go back to the old tagline, not sure…and it’s not like women’s spirituality doesn’t encomass everything, I guess. In any case, I appreciate your input – definitely a nudge to consider keeping the old line….

  35. Willie R. permalink
    January 17, 2010 3:18 pm

    I’m kind of hoping that finally, FINALLY, something might actually happen that affects the entire human species in a significant way – for better or for worse. Because so far, it’s been all sizzle and no steak. When nothing happens on December 21st or 23rd of 2012, fundamentalist Christians will declare that the only accurate prophecy left to be realized is the Rapture, when true believers will actually be levitated upward physically from the surface of the Earth and taken to Heaven.
    Post-2012, I predict that boredom will surpass both heart disease and cancer as the leading cause of death.

  36. January 19, 2010 1:06 am

    Lisa, this is an amazing post. Amazing because you were able to create a succinct and lucid take on something so complex.

    I I love your take on it all.

    I’m with you on the whole spiritual expansion thing. In fact, I think it’s so prolific and prominent that it’s damn obvious, for those in those spheres. In small ways you hear the restlessness in people’s words. In the dozens, the hundreds. And connected to your next point, I see it happening amongst WOMEN in such intensity.

    btw, liking the wider post format. 🙂

  37. mommymystic permalink*
    January 19, 2010 8:36 pm

    Mon- I sometimes get ‘iucid’ but rarely ‘succinct’, so thanks for that! Yes, the women awareness thing is fascinating…

  38. January 23, 2010 2:27 am

    Your honesty is refreshing.

    Thank you so much for this. It offers a sane, logical analysis into the popular 2012 mythology.
    This is my first time on your blog, and it won’t be my last:)

    You call it unnflinchingly, (re; your post on yoga and meditation) and that is a very nice personal quality to have.

  39. mommymystic permalink*
    January 25, 2010 6:04 pm

    Aurora, thanks for visiting, and I do hope you come back.

  40. mamashift permalink
    February 4, 2010 10:46 am

    I wonder. Is it necessary to live in the United States of America to know what is going to happen to the world?

    This is the first time I have encountered 2012.

  41. mommymystic permalink*
    February 4, 2010 5:19 pm

    Mamashift – you know, you point to something I hadn’t thought about before, but per #1, most of the media that have been pushing 2012 (publishers, film industry with the film 2012, and the History Channel’s doomsday series) are all based in the U.S. And some segments of the ‘religious right’ and ‘new age left’ here have been pushing it also. So it probably is much more hyped here than elsewhere. And that was really most of my points – that the drama around it is playing on our emotions in many ways, and taking some trends and shifts that I do think are happening and blowing them up…it will be interesting to see as it gets closer if it becomes of worldwide interest or not….

  42. February 22, 2010 6:03 pm

    A friend of mine mentioned 2012 last night to me and it’s the first I heard about it so I jumped on here out of curiosity. I think it’s kind of sick and sounds like a bunch of skeptical jargon.
    I choose to live every day like it is the last because let’s be real, WHO THE HELL KNOWS what is going to happen or when it’s your time to go on. The past is history, the future is a mystery and now is a gift, thats why it’s called the present. It’s not healthy to sit around and trip out about when you will die. Stop wasting your time you have now.
    Apocalypse 2012
    – some truth about 2012

  43. June 20, 2010 11:49 pm

    Looks like you have plenty of positive comments on this post, but just wanted to thank you for thinking it out and writing it all down!

  44. June 21, 2010 9:26 pm

    Cate, thanks, and for your other recent comments too. My thoughts on this have evolved a bit actually, partly based on the comments (part of the beauty of blogging) – perhaps I will do a follow-up someday. It’s interesting – all that has happened in 2010 – the earthquakes, oil spill, etc. really play right into this idea of building towards a climax/crises/tipping point of some sort. So we will see…

  45. December 24, 2011 7:39 pm

    Wanted to post this astrological info on 2012 for anyone interested http://www.astroprofile.com/2012sky.htm . It’s interesting that according to one aspect we have been and continue to be in a ‘divine feminine’ phase through 2012, as well as a phase of ‘mystical healing’. Also, the larger climactic and difficult aspects have already occurred in the last 3 years, making 2012 seem ‘tame by comparison’.

  46. July 4, 2012 4:52 pm

    I don’t think anything happens without some reason, and the 2012 hullabaloo is probably a sort of metaphor, a cue for people to start looking at their own issues and sorting through those. When we think there’s something wrong with the world, we’re really talking about what is wrong within us as individuals. I feel the world will be here long after we’re gone. We wish it would implode because we get so sick of ourselves.

  47. July 5, 2012 9:33 pm

    Yazrooney, yes I agree with you, and if we look back in history, there have been many phases where a certain civilization or culture or community became fixated on the end of the world. So now, many are connecting with this idea again – whether in hopeful or despairing terms – because they feel ready to change – an urgent need to change really. Thanks for commenting.

Trackbacks

  1. Omens and My Moment With the Condors « Mommy Mystic

I love to hear from you...

