Skip to content

Chakra Immunity Boost For You and Your Kids

October 6, 2009

I haven’t written about chakras recently, and with all the focus on how to stay healthy in the upcoming flu season  (it seems like everywhere I go there are signs telling me to wash my hands and cough into my arm) I thought I would post a bit on little ways to strengthen your immunity, and that of your kids if you like, using chakra focus. As I’ve posted before, I’m not an energy healer and my interest in the chakras is more from an awareness and mind-energy perspective, but of course the mind and body are related, and the chakras are one form of intersection in that relationship. And anyone can learn to tune into this energetic system.

I use these techniques regularly, with both myself and my kids, based on how I am feeling, especially when I feel like I or they might be on the verge of getting sick, or at risk for it. (And when we actually are sick, of course.) The idea behind all of them is to redirect some energy into those parts of your energetic system that relate to your immunity. We’re not talking serious, long-term illness here, we’re talking colds, flu, headaches, etc. And these aren’t meant to replace any dietary or herbal methods you might have for strengthening your immunity, they just add an energetic dimension.

First a note on illness, at least the kinds of illnesses we are talking about here: It’s a natural part of being human. We have viruses and bacteria in us and around us all the time, and there is a constant balancing act (I don’t like ‘battle’) going on internally between our immune system and these various organisms. When the balance tips beyond a certain point, we ‘get sick’, which means, our body starts to have symptoms related to the internal re-balancing that is taking place. We might take any number of steps to aid our system in rebalancing itself – echinacea or other herbs, vitamin C, zinc, chicken soup, antibiotics, whatever. But it is always our own body, our own immune system, that heals us – not the ‘medicines’. Energetic techniques are just a way of aiding our immune system by consciously redirecting some energy into it.

I find the navel and heart chakras are the easiest to work with along these lines, and in order to determine which technique might be the most useful to you or your kids at any given time it’s useful to assess your or their awareness, and look for trends that have sapped your or their energy in some way. The two most common are dispersion and stress:

Dispersion: This is when you are frazzled and/or fuzzy at a mental, emotional and/or physical level. I am a very mental-oriented being, so this typically manifests for me as ‘busy mind’, but for others it may manifest emotionally, typically as increased irritability, or physically, often as clumsiness. The three can all occur at once, of course, in a triple whammy! Basically, it’s a sign that your energy is not consolidated and centered. It is shooting all over the place in a very unfocused way. If you have a very sensitive energy body – as women especially tend to have – this might be triggered by time spent in a group or crowd, or too much contact with hyper-stimulating media (which yes, does include the internet, depending on how you use it!) If this is your main issue, or your kids, sick or no, then some navel chakra focus might help.

Stress: As in tension, tightness, constriction. These are the main energies of stress – a build up of mental, emotional and/or physical energy to the bursting point. When you are worried, when you are fixated on a deadline or a problem and can think of nothing else, your energy is bottled up and constricted, with no way to release. And of course it’s well known that too much stress negatively impacts your immune system. When your energy is constricted in this way, it can’t flow properly internally. For kids, the causes of stress are different – any new situation might trigger it. If stress is your or their main issue, then some heart chakra focus might help.

In a way, dispersed and stressed states of mind are polar opposites, with dispersion occurring when too much energy is flowing outward in an undirected way, and stress resulting in too much energy being constricted internally, causing energetic ‘clogs’. And yet, it is possible to experience both at once, or rather, to be swinging back and forth between the two (take it from me!) So the main point is to just try and identify which is the dominant trend in your awareness. Once you’ve done that, here’s techniques for addressing each (and yes, you can do both):

Navel Center – Consolidating, Centering Your Energy:

– The simplest thing you can do – anywhere, anytime – is to just place your hands over your belly, just under your navel, and breathe deeply into your hands for a minute or so (or whatever you can manage in the moment.) The idea is to do deep, belly breathing, in which your belly – not your chest – is rising and falling. If you can, focus on feeling heat in that area – focusing on the heat from your hands can be helpful in this regard.

– If you have a bit more time, and can actually close your eyes and visualize, then try visualizing a red or fiery red-orange ball of light in this area, just under your hands. Although yellow is traditionally the color associated with this chakra in the systems most Westerners are familiar with, the yantra (sacred geometry image) associated with this chakra is usually red, and red and orange are the colors of the 2 lower chakras, which you are also pulling on here. Plus red or red-orange has a warm/hot and strong association, all of which you are trying to pull on in this technique. As you do this, really imagine that you are pulling yourself back together – pulling in all the dispersed pieces of yourself from the ether, and consolidating them right here, in your belly.

– Doing either of these or some sort of navel focus at some point during exercise can be especially helpful. This center is associated with will and drive, so if you are doing aerobic exercise of some type, even fast walking, the combination of exercise, will power, and navel focus can really speed the centering process. And if you do yoga, spending part of your savasana (corpse pose) time centered on your navel, before completely relaxing and releasing, can be helpful.

Heart Centering – Releasing, Opening Your Energy

– Similar to the main navel center technique, for this one I like simply holding your hands over the center of your chest for a minute, one on top of the other, and focusing your attention underneath. However, the focus here is more on a sense of release. With each exhale, gently open your hands away from your chest (you can just imagine this if you aren’t in a position to actually do it) and imagine you are releasing any negativity or constriction outwards. When you inhale, close your hands back over your heart in a protective fashion, and try to feel some warmth or tickle in the area.

– Again, if you are in a position to close your eyes and visualize, and/or if you want to do this as part of a formal sitting meditation practice, a visualization can help. I like to visualize a ball of white light (although if you are used to the traditional colors of light green or light blue here, that is fine too –  I am not a purist on chakra colors, personally.) Imagine the ball growing stronger and stronger, and pushing out any negativity as it does. Then imagine it relaxing, settling back down to its starting size, and as it does, relax your entire body with it. Continue this release and relax cycle for 2-3 minutes if you can.

– When we are stressed, we also tend to become disconnected emotionally – we are trapped inside our own mind/body. So another way to trigger the heart chakra is to consciously trigger warm, joyful emotions. This can be very tough to do when you are highly stressed, but if you can do it, it is highly effective. Two access states for this are beauty and affection. Simply visualize any place or sight that you find particularly beautiful, or any being for which you can easily feel an uncomplicated affection (I always say, puppies and young kids are generally safe bets!) If you can actually get these emotions flowing, your energy will naturally move down into your heart chakra, and then you can practice one of the release exercises from above.

It’s important not to get overly complicated or worked up over doing any of these properly. They are just general guidelines. In my experience, if you can just learn to assess your own energy or that of your children periodically for signs of dispersion or stress, before they get too pronounced, and address them right away, this can help your and their immune systems – and overall energy levels – tremendously.

Now a note on kids. With kids age 6 and up (although it varies) you can actually teach them these techniques if you wish. My own are younger than that, and with them, I don’t attempt to get them to visualize or anything like that. I just place my hand over their navel or heart chakra (depending, of course, on whether I feel they are dispersed or stressed) when they are on my lap, and breath with them. Sometimes I encourage them to ‘breath into my hand’, which they like. When they are sick, or tired, they especially like this. And of course the parent-child energy bond goes to work here too.

So there you go. I feel like there are a lot more variations I could have put in here, and questions I could have addressed, but I will save those for the comments, if there is interest. Also feel free to contribute any of your own immunity boosting approaches, for you or your kids…

21 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2009 10:49 pm

    Oh Lisa, isn’t it wonderful to have these techniques to center us. I love them as they are so available to us any time anywhere and it does acknowlege how the world effects us AND that we can do something about is.
    When my children were young and too uptight to sleep, I would put them in their bed and then let them contract muscles working their whole body from top to toe. To actual work the muscles took all their attention and they slowly relaxed during the process. Then I let them float on an air matrass in a warm swimming pool sucking an imaginary ice block of rainbow colors. That did the trick every time and even now they are in their twenties, when they are uptight I remind them of that feeling and it can still calm them down.
    You have to bless children for being so open and I have to bless you for reminding me of this.
    Love Wilma

  2. October 7, 2009 12:57 am

    This came up just when I needed it, thank you so much! I already did a quick version of one of them and felt an inmediately quietness and relaxation, I´ll keep doing them, whenever i feel i need them.
    Blessings!

  3. mommymystic permalink*
    October 7, 2009 2:46 am

    Wilma – that’s a great technique for relaxation, especially to get to sleep. I used to do something similar when my kids were babies and waking up alot, and I had a hard time getting back to sleep each time. I know they use that technique in insomnia clinics also…

    Vanessa – Great, Vanessa, glad it helped. Let me know if you have any questions. I think sensing the difference between when your energy is dispersed vs. tense is really helpful…

  4. October 7, 2009 12:42 pm

    This is very helpful, Lisa.

    The part that I liked most about this article is this line:

    “it is always our own body, our own immune system, that heals us”

    This is so, so important for people to realize, and yet so few people actually understand it. We are in charge of our healing, medicines and vitamins and everything else only aids us in the process. It’s always important to remember that the power lies within you, not outside of you.

  5. October 7, 2009 12:58 pm

    Well this was very helpful for the dispersion – stress distinction alone.
    I have massive a dispersion tendencies, lol. I’m sensitive so that’s obvious. But I tend to label my unhappy moments as stress. Which menas that energetically I am focused on releasing, which obviously is the opposite of what I need to do if dispersed. I do occassionally ground myself, but again, I’m thinking of stress and release.

    Mine comes from lengthy ‘net sessions and a headful of ideas. I force myself to rest and of course relaxation helps both issues, but if I place my focus on centring rather than letting go, I’ll see more benefit I’m sure.

    I love how even just a quick and simple exercise can help.

    I was thinking about how this sort of chakra focus would work with infants. If my focus would benefit, and how much, a child under 2yrs.
    I know the bond (if it’s there) with a baby under 3 months makes it easy, I assume. But what about with an 18mth-old?

  6. mommymystic permalink*
    October 7, 2009 2:01 pm

    Jay – yes, I put that in because it gets lost a lot of the time! We tend to think of illness like this foreign entity come to attack us, that we have to ‘beat’. And maybe when it comes to cancers and things like that, that is a useful metaphor and helpful for people. But with everyday illness, it is just a balancing process, that is always going on, just like in nature around us, and not something to get particularly worked up about, however inconvenient it might be.

    Mon – In a way, I think 6 months – 3 years is the ideal time for this. Their energy bodies are still so open and connected to us, but they are fully ‘in their bodies’ (I think from 1-6 months their energy is actually quite dispersed, it is like they are not fully in the their bodies yet…) So just holding your hand over one or the other chakra when you are holding her, even when she is sleeping, will draw the energy there in her body (although it’s nice to do it when she’s awake if she’s willing, as then she can start to feel these centers herself.) I just breathe with mine, in rhythm with their breathing if I can…

  7. October 7, 2009 9:24 pm

    Thanks so much for this, Lisa. Like Mon, I really appreciated the stress/dispersion distinction. Dispersed is such a good word to describe my energy these days! Calling myself back with the navel centering exercise felt really good!

    I’ll have to try this with Lucas, as well. I think for him, it may also be dispersion. For the past couple of weeks, he’s been waking up really scattered and cranky, almost like he’s not really in his body, until after he eats.
    Cheers!
    Alexis

  8. October 7, 2009 10:04 pm

    I hope I can remember your hands-on advice next month when the family gathers at my house for Thanksgiving. I live a very quiet life ordinarily. Is it stress or dispersion when your house fills with people expecting good eats and you start to feel rushed and worried?

    Did I tell you I’m going to be a grandmother in May?

  9. October 7, 2009 10:23 pm

    Great to know–I don’t know much about chakras, though I do have a very simple, powerful “lighting up” of chakras. I think all these techniques work because they help us stop, look, listen, bring more awareness in and of the body, and release.

    k

  10. mommymystic permalink*
    October 8, 2009 1:32 am

    Alexis – that’s interesting re: Lucas. Certainly many people do leave their bodies to some degree during dreaming, and I think kids are even more fluid this way. That eating helps does indicate to me that grounding is what is needed, so I would think the navel chakra focus might help – if you can get him to sit still long enough, which at his age, is the challenge!

    Brenda – for me, hosting a family thanksgiving definitely equals stress!! But of course with so many disparate energies around, maybe there is dispersion too…Do both for good measure! I often do. The general rule of thumb when focusing on more than one chakra is move up – i.e. do the navel first, and then the heart. And I do remember about your grandchild, that is so wonderful, I hope it is all going well so far!

    Kaushik – I think I remember your chakra lighting exercise, did you post it at some point? If so, I thought it was great. Unless someone really wants to develop a very fine-tuned awareness of their internal energy system, has a serious health problem they are trying to address through the chakras, or is using the chakras/kundalini meditation as their primary path, the method you outlined is perfect. I do think any form of meditation aids us for exactly the reasons you said “because they help us to stop, look, listen, bring more awareness in and of the body, and release.” But I do think there are occult practices, such as the various chakra/kundalini practices, that are useful for working through specific blocks some people might have, or for developing other skills, including healing, if someone is drawn to them. These skills don’t necessarily have anything to do with awakening, but for some people (such as myself) there is just a resonance with them for a variety of reasons. Of course there are hundreds, if not thousands, of different routes ‘up the mountain’, so I guess it just comes down to preferences and karmas…

  11. October 8, 2009 12:10 pm

    Hi Lisa – thanks for these. I did a Reiki course many years ago, and since then I have often used my hands to settle any upset. It’s such a natural thing to do.

    More recently, I’ve developed a technique where you imagine a particular body part that is not happy dropping in the direction of gravity, and continuing to drop, and then spontaneously I’ll take a really big breath that feels for all the world like it is going straight into the body part (even if it is, say, my knee), and pain in that body part will dissipate. It’s quite fascinating. I realise this isn’t really what you are talking about – but this is the first time I have told anyone about it – I got carried away. Cheers Lisa!

  12. mommymystic permalink*
    October 8, 2009 3:51 pm

    Robin, thanks for sharing that, it sounds amazing. I think it is all related, as I’m sure you know so many healing techniques focus on using the breath. It really is this bridge between the physical and non-physical. I was intrigued/amused when you said “a particular body part that is not happy dropping in the direction of gravity”, since women here in LA spend a lot of money on plastic surgery to defy the impact of gravity on their bodies! If you can teach this technique I think you could have quite a niche!!

  13. October 8, 2009 9:07 pm

    Thank you for the info, almost nightly I focus on the navel chakra, even before I knew what that was, it always helped me to calm down and go to sleep, but after reading your post I realize that I may be neglecting my heart at times.

    Also thanks for advice about using this on children I have a 5 year old that this may help her calm down, sometimes she gets so frazzled over nothing, we may try this.

  14. October 9, 2009 3:21 am

    Hi Lisa – The idea that it’s our own bodies that heal us, not things we take to aid that process is something that I forget. When you see things like that, it makes a huge difference in the way you think about health/illness, I think.

    Also, the description of “Dispersion” was great as I knew exactly the kind of feeling you were talking about. But I had never thought of it like that before.

  15. October 9, 2009 6:21 am

    This is lovely Lisa, and kind of spooky because it’s just these very kinds of techniques I’ve started to use again. I’m returning to using some Qi Gong techniques I learned years ago, and the centering one is very similiar to what you describe above.

    And Mon’s description of what goes on with her, also describes exactly what I experience. But, I get a little “addicted” to not being grounded, so that even when I remember to, I quite like the feeling of being “out there” even though I know it can be counter-productive.

  16. mommymystic permalink*
    October 9, 2009 6:02 pm

    Lisa – I have a 5 year old also, and she is also very energetic an at times ‘dispersed’ in this way, and I do try this with her. Sometimes I just try and read her some books on my lap or cuddled next to me with my hand on her navel chakra, and that seems to draw her attention there and help pull her ‘back together’ in a sense. Thx for visiting!

    Amanda – Yes, it’s so easy to forget that it’s not the aids that heal us! I think it really does make a huge difference when you just think of it as a rebalancing of the body…with minor illnesses like colds and flus, sometimes I think the anxiety over being sick can actually be worse than the actual sickness itself, so remembering that my body is just in the midst of a process always helps me calm down.

    DW – I have never done Qi Gong, other than a couple single classes here and there, but I did Japanese Shotokan karate for a long time, and I think all the Qi Gong/Tai Chi/Eastern-based martial arts traditions really solidify the navel chakra. I had a meditation teacher in my 20s who really encouraged me to take up a style like this, which I would never have done otherwise, and I realize now that the time I spent doing that completely changed my awareness, giving me so much more control over my ‘dispersion’ tendencies. Which are big in me too, and I can entirely relate to what you say about getting addicted to this, I think I have always been prone to ‘checking out’ in this way. I have come to realize that I NEED a certain amount of that though, that it is like my down-time or processing time or something….it is like they say dreaming is – if I don’t get enough time and space to let myself go, it’s a problem for me. But finding the balance and control to ‘call myself back’ is essential….I’m not sure I’m talking about the same thing as you are, but that’s how I view it for myself….

  17. October 11, 2009 2:31 pm

    Thanks Lisa. I really like the idea of doing it when she sleeps, as she’s such a restless sleeper.

  18. October 12, 2009 1:47 am

    These are beautiful teachings, ones we used often during the retreat, though they were simplified with just grounding again with one hand on the belly and one on the heart.

    The picture of you breathing with your little ones is so dear!

  19. October 12, 2009 6:29 pm

    Chakras are a term that invites people to attune to energy in new ways. Although everyone is not familiar with the term, more and more people are awakening to feeling sensations and temperature variations that they did not choose to notice before. Some people sense this is a new human species emerging. Other people sense energy beings are attuning to what they are. Light energy and frequency are becoming more noticable, readable. They invite you to love and feel differently. People resonate with what feels good.

  20. October 12, 2009 10:46 pm

    Hi Lisa,

    Yes, I use a “lighting up chakras” exercise which I had posted about–it’s very energizing, for example before exercise or during when the body is down.

    “These skills don’t necessarily have anything to do with awakening, but for some people (such as myself) there is just a resonance with them for a variety of reasons.”

    I’m completely open to all of it; it’s just that my experience is very different. I believe Gina Lake (I hope I have that right) writes about awakening and also about channeling, which surprises some people. She has a very balanced article on why that is completely compatible.

    love and peace,
    k

  21. October 21, 2009 11:42 am

    ha ha Lisa

I love to hear from you...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.