Skip to content

2nd Chakra Series – Motherhood and Creating

April 28, 2009

This post is the third in a series I am doing this week on the 2nd chakra in women. The first post was on Tantric Sexuality, the second on Intuition and Seeing, and the posts after this are on Spirituality and Bliss and 21 Ways to Care for Your 2nd Chakra. If you are really interested in this topic, I encourage you to check out the comments on those posts, especially on the Intuition post, because a lot of good material got brought up there, and it is helping me clarify my own thoughts. And add your thoughts too, of course!

Also, these posts are all long I realize, so don’t worry, they will be here to come back to later (that’s the great thing about the internet.)  And I’ll be returning to my once or twice a week posting schedule when this is done:-)

I wanted to speak a bit more about working with the chakras from a healing perspective vs. ‘using’ them, the latter being what this series is about. I think most Western writing on the chakras is related to balancing, healing, clearing or repairing them, and this is the focus of the various techniques involving crystals, music, oils, clearing sessions, etc. But the occult traditions I am drawing on here focus more on how do you ‘use’ the chakras to develop unique skills – such as seeing, healing, manifesting and more – or for gaining spiritual insight (which is the next post.) It’s like the difference between healing your body vs. using it in sports. Just like professional athletes have refined their use of their body to a level most of us never attain, adepts in chakra traditions have refined the use of their chakras to a high degree. And we can all learn from their skills I think, even if we are not looking to go pro.

I also wanted to say that I do think all the chakras are involved in all these functions, just like all the muscles of the body are involved in almost any physical activity, but some draw on one muscle group more than others. The reasons I am focusing on the 2nd chakra are: 1) I have been getting strong intuitions to do so (and I’ve learned to ‘follow orders’ on this kind of stuff at this point!), and 2) the 2nd chakra is the defining ‘different’ element energetically between men and women, just like the reproductive organs of our body (which are related to the 2nd chakra) are our primary physical difference. So why not write about the 2nd chakra in men also? Because frankly it’s already been done – most of the surviving historical writing on chakras was written within traditions that were predominantly male, and they didn’t think much about how it was different in women. With the exception of the few traditions I have mentioned, there isn’t much on women’s 2nd chakras – most of it has been written in the last 50 years or so in the West.

OK, finally on to the target topic for this article – Motherhood and Creating. This topic is the flip side of the last article. Creating (including procreation) is a yang or outward-moving aspect of the 2nd chakra, while intuition is a yin or inward-moving one. While for intuition we absorb energy or ‘data’ into our energy bodies (which is partly pulled in by the centripetal nature of our 2nd chakra), while creating a life, a painting, or composition, or anything else, we push it out into the world, apart from us.

Of course in any type of creation, this inward and outward movement work together: In procreation, our body first has to pull the fertilized egg into the womb, nurture/germinate it for 9 months, and then push it out. Other acts of creation are similar – we have to sense/intuit an idea, then germinate and develop it, and then actually manifest/execute it in the external world apart from ourselves. This creative process is traditionally associated with the 2nd chakra  – in men also. (Of course the energy of other chakras might be involved along the way, such as the third eye for insight/ideas, the throat in terms of self-expression, the heart if we are trying to create something as a message of love or out of love, or the navel in terms of the will and intent required.)

So then, when the process is complete, and we’ve created something outside ourselves, what’s our relationship to that which we’ve created? With most artistic creations or other physical things that you create in the world, a bit of your energy goes into it and stays with it forever. In many occult traditions you find this idea of ‘transmission’, and the idea that a piece of spiritual art, or a spiritual text, can transmit a specific lesson non-verbally, directly into our awareness. (In fact, this kind of learning is the ‘real deal’ in these traditions – words and philosophy are considered a very limited form of knowledge and teaching.) This is the energetic aspect of a created object – the transmission from the creator.

Ideally, we let go of what we create – we ‘close’ the line, so to speak, between us and the object, letting it exist separately from ourselves. But motherhood is different. It takes eighteen years (or so) for the creation to be ‘finished’! And really it never is. So there is an energetic line from us to each of our children, for the rest of our lives. Cyndi Dale told me she thinks of this as an energetic cord between mother and child. Others have talked about it though – particularly in the Carlos Castenada traditions, some of the Tibetan Buddhist Tantric texts, Elizabeth Haisch in Initiation, and even Dr. Christine Northrup in some of her books (I’ll put a book list in the last post.)

This energy connection is extremely intense at birth – really for the first three months after birth our children are energetically still part of us – and gradually lessens in intensity over time. But managing it is tough, and initially the energy shift, and particularly the energy outpouring to the child, can be extremely tough to handle and accept, especially for women who have some 2nd chakra issues anyway (and again, prior sexual abuse is a main cause of this, but there are others, and Anatomy of the Spirit is a great book to consider in terms of delving into this.) I think this can be a contributing factor to post-natal depression as well. Then, the sense of dispersion increases with each additional child. Women who don’t learn to manage these lines well can get really wiped out, and lose their own manifesting abilities and vision entirely.

That’s the reason motherhood – and even sexual activity (which I’ll touch on again in the next post) – was considered an eliminating factor in a lot of these occult traditions. It just wasn’t considered possible for a woman to manage these energy lines and pursue Tantric or kundalini yoga practices, or to be a seer, energy healer or Shaman in some indigenous traditions (and I already mentioned the Oracles of Delphi in a prior post.) Of course, women had a lot more children in the past, and could lose up to half of them in early childhood, so the energy connections they were managing were very different. They also typically had much fewer options available to them to pursue their own creative and manifesting abilities, so the power associated with their 2nd chakras might have been less developed.

So personally, I do not believe those restrictions have to apply anymore, but it can be a challenge to strike the right balance. The main point is, managing motherhood and our other pursuits energetically (let alone the time factor!) is not easy. On the one hand, that energetic connection is the root of the special mother/child bond, our empathic and intuitive connection to our children, and our abilities to energetically soothe and heal them (and just holding them, at any age, is one way to really feel and activate this connection.) On the other, the energy line is another outpouring of our energy, and can leave us feeling drained, dispersed, or unmotivated.

I think just having this knowledge can be tremendously powerful, and start to shift how we subconsciously relate to this line. Then, there are three main concepts to keep in mind:

Pacing – Recognize that the energetic needs of your children will lessen over time (as long as you let go naturally, step by step, as they grow.) So whatever you are trying to manifest or create, or whatever occult skills you practice, pace yourself. Yes this means you can’t necessarily have it all, right when you want it. Welcome to real life! Personally, I don’t know any women who believe in that old maxim anymore anyway (and if you do, make your case in the comments!)

Balance – Paying attention to what both you and your children need on a daily basis, and as it evolves over time, is essential. If you hold too much back, that’s hard on your kids (and you are missing out.) But if you give too much, particularly more than they need at a given point, you exhaust yourself, and potentially hold them back from developing their own power too. Balance is an ongoing practice, a day-by-day, week-by-week, thing. It’s just like physically trying to balance on one leg – it requires constant attention, constant adjusting.

Access More Energy – The above two points are both based on the idea that you have a limited amount of energy, and on a certain level, that’s true at any given point in time. But it’s a fundamental teaching of any occult tradition that energy (or power) doesn’t come from us, it comes through us. So learn to access more. How? Volumes have been written on that! And I’ll try to cover some of them in my last post, but some are obvious – taking care of yourself, yoga, meditation, time alone, etc. But also, think about what already energizes you, especially any creative or manifesting type activities you enjoy. That’s something that is already pulling on your creative powers, your 2nd chakra powers, and understanding what it is about that activity that energizes you will offer you clues as to how you personally access your energy/power, and thus how you can increase it. Ultimately, it’s unlimited.

One final point I wanted to mention is that many women say that they feel more creative after becoming a mother, and I found some teachings on this by a contemporary spiritual teacher too. I think this definitely happened in my case, after an initial difficult adjustment period. For me personally, I think this was due to my accessing my 2nd chakra in a way that I hadn’t done before. Procreation helped me tap into those creative forces in a way that my prior life activities had not. Maybe someone who was already well-connected to their creative energies before becoming a mother would not experience that, I don’t know.

And just as a final aside, this post is NOT meant to be a case for or against motherhood, or for or against any particular parenting choices (please do NOT pull me into the ‘Mommy Wars’!!!)  I’m just trying to look at it from a technical, energetic perspective. This knowledge can really help us work truthfully with the life we have, and recognize both its gifts and challenges.

Your comments and questions are always appreciated.

And if you like this post, please also Subscribe or Bookmark and Share

Also, check out the nexy post, Spirituality and Bliss.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2009 12:47 am

    Hi Lisa,

    I thought about the effects of sexual activities on spirituality since I wrote my comment on your first post of this series. I see sexual activities (esp abusive ones) can drain second chakra energy and mess up the energy balance. Labor can also do this.

    But is it also possible that good sex can enhance second chakra energy? Muscles get stronger by when we use them. Similarly, by using the second chakra in sex, we can improve the energy flow (and there is energy exchange with the partner)?

    And as you already wrote, motherhood can also strengthen the second chakra — if done right?

    I’d love to hear your thoughts on this.

    Love, Light, and Truth,
    Akemi

  2. mommymystic permalink*
    April 29, 2009 2:32 am

    Akemi, yes absolutely. In a way, what you describe about healthy sex strengthening the second chakra is part of Tantric Sexuality. And then in that tradition they take it a step further, and sex is also a doorway to spiritual transcendence. So I don’t mean to be coming off as anti-sex at all, hope I’m not! Just trying to lay out some of the reasons celibacy has been part of so many spiritual and occult traditions, and the value it does have at times. And personally, I have seen so many women that have been drained too by their sexual relations – unfortunately, since women’s energy bodies are more sensitive, a poor relationship can have a more damaging effect on us (and I am not even talking about abusive situations here.)
    And I think motherhood too can strengthen the second chakra, although it is a little different because in a way we are supporting our children energetically through the link, and learning how to balance that can be a challenge. I was recently reading posts on a motherhood forum where a lot of women were having a really hard time with motherhood – and their kids weren’t babies either – but the energetic drain just wasn’t letting up for them. It was sad really. So it is a prevalant problem (Oprah even did a show on it actually, although not from a chakra perspective!)
    The next post is spirituality in terms of the 2nd chakra, so i think you will really like that one.

  3. April 29, 2009 3:15 am

    Lisa,
    I don’t think you are coming off as anti-sex at all. I just wanted some clarification because some people ARE anti-sex for spiritual reasons.
    Our physical body can be a great gateway to spirituality. It’s a great myth that you have to be sitting still on a rock to reach spiritual awareness… For instance, I just talked with a client (male) who is very physical. He loves challenging his physical limitations in sports, and that is his way to go beyond to the spiritual realm.

  4. April 29, 2009 11:27 am

    Hi, Lisa! This was beautiful! There are so many parts of this post that I can relate to. For me, having my son definitely released my creative energies. I think I was always the creative “sort” but it was all focused on ME… creating MY little perfect world.

    Ever since becoming a mom, that energy has turned outward, first to inspire him, and latetly to inspire others. Motherhood opened my lines of communication and connection, joining me to the world around me.

    I can see the rationale behind celibacy for spiritual leaders back in the day. But knowing what I know now, it appears that having children has the potential to turn just about anyone into a spiritual leader, since it reframes the way we see the world. 🙂

    On a related note, I wrote a brief post a few months ago about how the natural course of things is for our kids to need us less over time: http://www.questforbalance.com/2009/01/13/our-children-love-lose/

  5. April 29, 2009 3:57 pm

    I just found this neat quote and thought about your post today:

    “The moment a child is born, the mother is also born. She never existed before. The woman existed, but the mother, never. A mother is something absolutely new.” (Rajneesh)

  6. mommymystic permalink*
    April 29, 2009 4:51 pm

    Lises, that’s a lovely post. I think parenting kind of is this slow, exquisite process of learning to truly love and let go at the same time!
    I had the same experience regarding motherhood and creativity, and know exactly what you mean regarding the drive to create ‘my little perfect world’ prior to that. But I also think not being a mother should be a more supported choice in our society as well – it frustrates me when people imply that a woman cannot truly be ‘fulfilled’ or ‘complete’ without children. Tell that to St. Theresa of Avila or Mirabai or Rabia Basri or any of the other great historic women mystics. There are just different paths, and there are gifts and challenges to each of them. (And I know you weren’t implying motherhood was the only way for a woman to manifest her spiritual powers, I just used your comment as an opportunity to rant a bit on this topic!)

  7. mommymystic permalink*
    April 29, 2009 5:01 pm

    Akemi – Yes, physicality has been a big part of my path also – I studied martial arts for many years, and I do think there is a kind of transcendence, a profound integration of mind/body/spirit that we can experience that way. I associate it more with the 1st (grounding) and 3rd (intent/will) chakras. When I personally don’t get enough physical activity I can get very ungrounded, since I’m very 2nd chakra and third eye oriented…

  8. miriamspia permalink
    February 23, 2012 6:16 pm

    Sexual expression is decidedly spiritual: it can be helpful or harmful or both depending upon numerous factors.

    I deeply appreciate the efforts of these women to find out and share about how it is ‘for us’, for women. Given what I saw above, I’m sorry it took ‘us ‘ [women] to get to doing this, but am grateful. Yes, I have made some efforts as well. Its a philosophy book that includes women, but right now it is only partly done but is far enough along to be submitted to publishers. As I like fame and feel more responsible when I am paid for my work, I am hoping to find a good contract with a publisher for the book. So, like so many of the women alive today, I am also grateful for everyone else’s efforts and working to improve conditions for women around the world, preferably without being forced to be or to be made out to be ‘the enemies of men’.

  9. February 24, 2012 4:00 pm

    Miriamspa – I’m glad you could relate to this, and good luck with your book. I agree in this day and age, we are all working together, each in our own way.

  10. April 2, 2018 6:10 am

    Wow, wow, WOW! This is outstanding! I’m just blown away by what I’ve read in these posts. It’s like a comprehending mystical guide to chakras. I’ve learned so much and you validated things that I’ve been experiencing and realizing, though I was without words to (attempt to) explain, or I hadn’t consciously recognized what I have been experiencing.

    The beautiful thing with all this is that I’ve been feeling the pull to learn more about chakras. A few weeks ago I was asked to write regularly monthly posts for a blog. And guess what they wanted to write each month? Posts on each chakra. God in action!

    It gets even better. Much of what I have been working on in my own spiritual and mystical development is directly
    Connected to the things you bring up here. So now I know how I can deepen and expand upon my inner work.

    Thanks so much for that!

  11. April 2, 2018 6:31 am

    I forgot to add my thoughts on women and their energy lines with their children.

    Depending on the culture, I think that women today often have it harder than women from the past. In ancient times, women had community support. They could work together with fellow women to care for children and families as a group. Women today don’t have that, so even more energy is lost in caring for children because today’s mother is often providing the majority of their time and energy into their children without another to help, so their energy is drained (and often isn’t replenished on a daily or even a weekly basis).

    Of course, a woman from ancient times that was living in a culture where she handled farming, livestock, preserving produce and meat, cooking, reading children, and handling other duties wasn’t exactly high on free-time and energy. So it may be that today’s woman had it easier than some of the women from times past.

    Of course, I would have to say that women had A LOT going either way. As a mother with three that are 3-and-under, I am VERY AWARE of these Energy lines you speak of.

    Skullcap and ashwagandha tinctures have been my saving grace. They’re wonderful! I have also started taking Motherwort. I’ve been using it specifically for back pain and muscle aches, but I know it has many other amazing properties. I have no doubt that it’s helping me by leaps and bounds too. But I’ll know exactly how it’s helping once I run out and forget to re-order. 😉

  12. April 3, 2018 10:34 pm

    Hi Ashstevens000, I’m glad you found these posts helpful and yes you make good points about women of the past vs. today. I think there were different challenges then vs. now, and the big one now is time and lack of ‘built-in’ community/familial support for sure. I’m glad you have found tools to help you – I also had 3 very close together (a daughter and then boy/girl twins 19 months later) so I remember well those days ‘in the weeds.’ Blessings to you- Lisa

Trackbacks

  1. 2nd Chakra Series-21 Ways to Care for Your Sacral Chakra from Mommy Mystic Blog « sensualtantrichealing

I love to hear from you...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.