Skip to content

10 Characteristics of Women’s Energy Bodies

October 27, 2009

Recently, I have been reviewing the various theories on women’s energy systems that I have read over the years, from both spiritual and energy medicine sources. I was making a list of the various properties attributed specifically to women’s energy bodies for myself, and realized some of you might be interested. Although I’ve touched on many of these themes before, I’ve never put it all together in one post.

I’m interested to hear which of these theories resonate the most with you – which ones in your experience, and according to your intuition, seem true. And that goes for men too, because the implication in many of these is that men are the opposite or different from women on each of the counts. Ok, here goes:

1) Women’s Energy is Centripetal, Men’s is Centrifugal

The idea here is that by default women’s energy circles inward, and is therefore attractive, drawing things towards it, while by default men’s energy cycles outwards, projecting rather than attracting. Both men and women can control and reverse this with their intent (conscious or unconscious) but by default women’s energy is centripetal and men’s is centrifugal. This especially comes into play with sexual energy, and the different ways the two sexes try and attract sexual partners. It also comes into play in families, with the women in any familial group said to be the energetic ‘organizing principle’, because of this centripetal quality.

2) Women’s Energy Bodies are More Sensitive/Absorbant, Men’s are More Solid/Protective

Women’s energy bodies are also generally said to be more sensitive to external energies, and more likely to absorb these energies, rather than repel them. This has pros and cons, as external energy can serve as the ‘raw data’ for intuition, but absorbing too much energy, or the wrong kind, can deplete or disperse a women’s energy field more quickly in certain situations, for example, in a large crowd.

3) Women’s Energy is More Fluid, Men’s More Fixed

Related to the idea that women’s energy bodies are more receptive is the idea that they are more fluid – that they change more rapidly and more often than men’s, in response to the environment and other people. In nature, this can mean that women merge energetically with their environment more readily and quickly, and the same thing in a group of people (so obviously this also has pros and cons, depending on what you are merging with.)

4) Women’s Energy Bodies are More Expansive

Also along these lines is the idea that women can expand their energy fields to encompass others around them more readily (think Bella as a vampire in the Twilight series if you have read it.) Personally, I am not so sure on this one, apart from a mother’s energetic relationship with her children (which I’ll get to in a minute), as I have seen more men with powerful protective abilities in this regard, perhaps because I have known many martial artists. The centrifugal nature of men’s energy seems to actually make their energy fields more readily expandable, in this sense, to me.

5) Women’s Energy Bodies are Fertile Ground for Energy Lines

This one is a touchy one. The idea with this one is that in interactions with others, and especially in close relationships, women become the anchor line energetically for both parties. In sexual terms, some traditions teach that a woman actually gets an energy line ‘planted’ in her energy body with every sexual encounter, that can take years to cut if she wishes to do so (and that this is not the case, or at least less so, for men.) But it’s not just sexual energy lines, it’s really in all kinds of relationships – the idea is that women naturally harbor these lines. And that this can become especially problematic for us if we are ‘anchoring’ too many people for us to handle.

6) Maternal Energy Lines are Distinct, and Progress Through Time

This one concerns the energy line between mother and child. The idea is that the first 3-6 months after birth, a child really is an extension of his or her mother energetically – their energy fields are merged. Gradually over time this energy connection separates, and the child becomes a distinct energetic being, although a unique energy line remains between them for life. The energy line between father and child, or other relatives, is established through other means, through emotional bonding and history, rather than through this intrinsic energetic line.

7) A Women’s Energy Body is Cyclical

There are lots of variations on this one, but the primary one is that the nature of a women’s energy body shifts over the course of her menstrual cycle. Her energy body is ‘more’ of all the things listed above – centripetal, sensitive, fluid, etc. in the days leading up to menstruation, and especially right before and during, and then is a little less so in the days leading up to ovulation. So her energy body is always waxing and waning (moon cycle and all that!) in this way.

8 ) Women’s Energy Bodies Have Distinct Life Phases

Tied to this is the idea that women’s energy bodies go through very distinct shifts corresponding to the major reproductive-related physical changes they experience during their lifetime: The onset of menstruation, sexual maturity, pregnancy, nursing, perimenopause, and menopause. (I wrote about this a bit before, but there’s a lot more information out there on this.) This has implications for both their energy health and spiritual path at each point along the way.

9) The 2nd, or Sacral, Chakra Plays a  Unique Role in Women

Because of #s 6 – 8, the chakra or energy center related to women’s reproductive system, the 2nd or sacral chakra, plays a unique role in their personal power and energy health. Just as women and men are each at risk for different physical illnesses because of their physical and hormonal differences, they are at risk for different energetic issues as well. And in the case of the 2nd chakra, this means that any damage or blocks related to it are particularly damaging to women. And conversely, that a healthy 2nd chakra has even more benefits.

10) A Women’s Sacral Chakra is a Unique Spiritual Doorway

This comes up in some form in all the ‘sacred feminine’ traditions, even in those that don’t define chakras per se. The idea is that the 2nd chakra (or corresponding area in other systems) in women can function like a portal, a doorway to other dimensions and to spiritual insight, in a way that in mainstream teachings usually only the third eye and crown chakra are said to.

As you can imagine, I could write on each of these for days. But first I really am interested to know which of these work for you and which don’t. I do think these differences are a spectrum, not absolute, so they are more relevant to some women than others (and for that matter, some men also.) Also, which of these are you more interested in hearing more about, if any?

42 Comments leave one →
  1. Durga permalink
    October 27, 2009 7:31 pm

    Hi Lisa…

    Parts of this post are very interesting. I have often found myself wrestling with the energy of others, while maintaining the integrity of my being.

    For what it is worth, these are my experiences and observations:

    First of all, I absolutely agree that my female energy circles inward, and the energy of men is projected outward. I am the poster child for sensitivity and absorbance. Working with some protection methods has done the trick. This includes meditation, Reiki, hypnosis etc.

    I have found it is important to clear your aura daily.

    Though men project their energy outward, I don’t agree that their energy is fixed, but it is protective. Often men house gentle, timid hearts which they are guarding.

    I agree with your comment that we create energy anchor lines with others. At times, I have had energy lines that were almost overwhelming until I learned to manage them.

    I have had to cut strong energy lines with others out of circumstance. Again, to cut the ties with love and integrity requires some understanding of metaphysical arts. I think these types of ties need to be gentle released, not cut. Letting go with genuine gratitude seems to be an easier and nobler path.

    I don’t have children, so I cannot even imagine how compelling such an energetic tie would be. 🙂 But I sleep well every night!

    As for the sacral chakra as a doorway for women…I’m not sure how to comment on this. Though I’ve had some enlightenment type experiences where I surely traveled through doorways to other places, I’m not convinced any of them were solely through my sacral chakra.

    I suppose it’s time for me to pick up The Lost Symbol, which has been waiting on my coffee table for a week! Thanks for the reminder…

    Namaste

  2. October 27, 2009 9:41 pm

    Hi Lisa,

    Interesting challenge.
    I would add women (of reproductive age)’s energy moves faster than men’s. In healing, women get better faster typically. They detox faster, too. This has a lot to do not just with subtle energy but with menstruation as well. Women literally get the flow going. I guess this is the extension of your point #3.

    I’m still processing the special function of the women’s second chakra. 2nd chakra leading to enlightenment — there is a sexual implication, right? For some reason, every time I read you write about this, the story of the ancient Mesopotamia’s holy prostitutes come to my mind. . . I’ll think over it. . .

    Blessings,
    Akemi

  3. October 28, 2009 12:08 am

    Hi Lisa
    I am not that familiar with this topic but that women are fertile ground for energy lines resonates with me and that we can do more productive things with energy than we do at the moment. As with most of our potentials, we do not use them wisely.
    I am not able to contribute more right now, but energy is something that I consider to pay attention to. So any post will be enlightening for me.
    Love Wilma

  4. October 28, 2009 12:26 am

    Great list, Lisa! I resonated with #2, related to women’s energy being more absorbent. The better I get at protecting my energy, the bigger difference I feel moving through my day in terms of the energy I “keep” for myself, and the energy I keep out from others.

    #6, of course, is one I feel completely. Interesting about the merging of energies as young infants!

    The cyclical nature of women’s energy, #7, is another one I am acutely tuned into, for better or worse, as you know from my PMS posts. 🙂

    The ones I’m actually most interested in learning more about are ones you’ve already addressed quite a bit, but I can’t get enough, and those are numbers 9 & 10, related to the second chakra.

    I look forward to reading more! Cheers!

  5. October 28, 2009 12:35 am

    Hi Lisa – #5 really struck me as I read it, and interestingly enough, it’s the only one of the list that I had never heard of before. The other ideas I am at least somewhat familiar with or have read about them before. When I think about my own relationships this idea makes a lot of sense to me. This idea would suggest that a woman “feels” a relationship differently than a man, and that being a “relationship anchor” could be quite a responsibility. I’ll be thinking about this one. 🙂

  6. mommymystic permalink*
    October 28, 2009 3:09 am

    Thanks all for your feedback.

    Durga – re: the sacral chakra as a doorway, I think for it to be the only doorway probably only happens during very specific practices that aren’t taught much anymore, mostly stuff from Ancient Egypt and other places. But I sense that this is becoming a powerful doorway once again, because of the rebalancing of yin and yang that is taking place in the world, which is why it interests me so much. It doesn’t matter really, which doorways someone goes through, they each just offer different views into enlightenment, but this is a unique one that has been neglected for a long time by most spiritual traditions.

    Akemi – thanks for mentioning the women healing faster thing. That reminded me of one idea that comes up a lot that I actually did not include and probably should have – the idea that women’s energy bodies in general vibrate at a faster pace. We can all impact our vibrational rate through various practices of course, but it does come up in more than one tradition that by default women’s tend to vibrate faster. Re: the 2nd chakra stuff, see my comment above to Durga. I don’t know much about Mesopotamia’s holy prostitutes, but sounds like it is related to these traditions, which I think have surfaced throughout history. Some of the practices are sacred sex related, and some are not – are instead ways of using this doorway apart from sex, through meditative techniques. In the latter cases, virginity was sometimes associated with it. So it seemed to go both ways…

    Wilma – I am looking for feedback from all women, just based on your life experience and the experiences of women you know, so I appreciate what you have to say. Certainly many of the themes you cover yourself do tie into this idea that women especially can get ‘trapped’ in the energy lines created by their life and relationships, if they are not paying attention to how it is impacting them.

    Alexis – thanks for your feedback. Re: the mother-child bond, the ‘schedule’ varies by tradition, but according to most, around 3 years of age is a big turning point in this regard, and I am certainly feeling that with the twins. It’s not just about their increased independence, it is also an energy ‘regain’ that I have. It is slight, but there. So I am interested to see if this is true for you too when the time comes.

    Amanda – yes, I think this one is very true, and has the most implications for women. The full implications make alot of women uncomfortable, especially in books that discuss it in terms of sexual lines, because it implies that casual relationships, and especially casual sexual ones, have a much bigger impact on women energetically than men. And also that whether we like it or not, the overall ‘state’ of any relationship impacts us more than our partners, if they are men. So it doesn’t seem fair. However, I also think it is true, so fair or not is irrelevant. Like most of these, there are pros and cons, and it’s not really a matter of ‘fair’ more just a matter of how to take it into account in our lives. And every women is different in that regard.

  7. October 28, 2009 4:51 am

    Hi Lisa,

    I finished Dan Brown’s book, The Lost Symbol, about a week ago and loved it. I was so surprised to see so much spiritual material in a mainstream bestseller. Looks like Mr. Brown has been doing some soul searching. It was a great read.

    OK–I love #5, #9, and #10. I’d love to know more about the energy lines. I sometimes see this at the quantum physics idea of entanglement and that it seems to effect women more than men. I know that I had some relationships that I felt I definitely carried and once I cut the cords, I had my full amount of energy to myself and my own family again. It was a great release for me. It didn’t feel that great for the person I released from but it needed to happen. I’d love to know more about that and wonder if it’s related to co-dependency at all.

    #9 and #10 fascinate me. I also think the Root Chakra is often overlooked in this regard. The Root Chakra connects us with the source of our energy–Mother Earth–in some ways of thinking. I think women would do well to spend time rooting ourselves and grounding ourselves solidly in these two chakras to gain empowerment and energy. That’s my two cents.

    -Melinda
    http://themelindachannel.com

  8. October 28, 2009 5:10 am

    this is so interesting. i will have to come back and read it again carefully when i have more time. thank you for all that you share.

  9. October 28, 2009 8:26 am

    Hi Lisa – I think the first one means the most to me. And as you say, these not be absolute. It’s the closest to the way I think – that the female energy is receptive, and the male energy projects – I’m not sure if this is really the same thing as talking about energy bodies.

    I think it’s interesting to watch young children. The little boy wants to throw a stone at a bird – he probably doesn’t want to hurt it, it’s just his way of interacting with it. The little girl might rather watch it – she is receiving from it. My partner is funny – he makes like he is going to throw something at a bird – and he adores birds and would never hurt one. Same with photos – I just want to watch something rather than take photos of it.

  10. October 28, 2009 7:43 pm

    I read this post yesterday and wanted to see what I would remember about it today. I can readily respond to a post about dogma or parenting, for example, but my Western upbringing leaves me with no point of reference to discuss energy bodies or subtle bodies. Both of those terms are fairly new to me. I am so glad you are trying to educate those of us who haven’t done the reading you have on these topics. It’s all very interesting yet still feels ephemeral, if that’s the right word. Things like dogma and parenting are so hard and fast and ever-present, whereas energy is sort of shifty and slippery.

    The thing I remember most about the post is the phases part and the sacral part. As one who is now past menopause, I can look back and see the many phases in my life. Second chakra energy hounded me for years and, honestly, it’s kind of nice to be relieved of that urgency. 🙂 Also, I didn’t understand the part about energy lines/anchors.

    As always, very interesting and informative, Lisa.

  11. mommymystic permalink*
    October 28, 2009 8:44 pm

    Sarah, thanks for coming by!

    Robin – interesting you brought up the photography example, as my husband and I play that same scenario out when we hike. He wants to find the perfect picture and capture it, and I just want to relax and feel the energy. And my son does throw things all over the place, much more than my girls. There are actually a lot observations I have made along those lines with my own kids, especially my boy/girl twins, but I am not sure what is nature and what is nurture, what is intrinsic to their energy and what is not. I wonder, did my son throw a ball at some point early on and someone said ‘what an arm!’ so he kept doing it? And when my daughters did it someone said ‘oh, don’t throw that sweetie it might break something’? It’s so hard to separate out all these different factors. That’s another post in itself I guess!

    Brenda – Thanks for coming back! So far, this post seems to have flummoxed many of my usual commenters – or maybe they are just busy, as I know it is not just all about me and my blog:-) I really am interested in any intuitions that anyone has in this regard, not just people who have studied these areas or work in energy fields. I think the intuitions of ‘real women’ on this subject would probably be the most interesting. It’s interesting what you said about menopause, many women say that. And many women report that their intuition improves and their interest in spiritual subjects increases. In some cultures, this is considered the ideal time for women to pursue enlightenment, for those reasons.

  12. October 28, 2009 10:03 pm

    Can I say all of the above? It would take to long to list all of my experiences here, but I totally agree.

  13. October 29, 2009 12:13 am

    First of all, I think you could write a book with a chapter for each of these! I find them all so interesting and would love to hear more of any of them! Each one seemed to be true from my experience and I wish I had known more about the energetic body before my kids left home, which is when I finally had time to pay attention to such things. Seems that the older I get the more deeply spiritual and intuitive I become. No wonder the indigenous cultures revere the elders. That is when true wisdom appears. I would love to hear more about each topic!

  14. October 29, 2009 12:26 pm

    I have to agree with Mermaid, Lisa, all of the above. And depending on any given day, one be more pertinent than the other. In my own life, #3 is key. I KNOW that I much more sensitive to the environment than the men I know; highly attuned to sounds, sights, smells and people’s moods. Not always an easy path to walk. The technical term for this is HSP, “Highly Sensitive Person” and there are books about it. That is me to a T. But #7 also rings true most of the time. This whole cycle/hormonal thing has been another big road to walk, esp. with perimenopause, which has now gone on for over 12 years with me. At times, it has been exhausting (perhaps that is why my mental/heart practices sourced in Buddhism really appeal & work!)

    And last, I agree with Diantha, a book could be written on each and I think you just might be that author. (wink) xo to you with tons of blessings. Wonderful, wonderful post!

  15. mommymystic permalink*
    October 29, 2009 4:04 pm

    Mermaid – of course you can, they all resonate with me in different ways as well.

    Diantha – yes, and this idea that women especially come into their own during perimenopause and menopause appears in a lot of different energy teachings. Basically, the idea is that many of the fluctuations and sensitivities mentioned in the earlier points ‘smooth out’ and women develop a natural connection to the other side that was often hard to access during child-bearing years, because of the energetic demands. Dr. Christine Northrup (The Wisdom and Menopause) and others talk about how this translates at the physical level too (of course there is often a lot of turmoil transitioning to that turmoil, that is for sure.)

    Jan – It makes sense to me that as a HSP the transition that is perimenopause/menopause would be especially dramatic for you. The energy changes in addition to the physical changes would be even more pronounced. I am sure you have read Dr. Northrup and all that. It’s interesting you mentioned feeling like you are vibrating all the time lately at a high rate in a recent post of yours, because I associate this with the perimenopause/menopause transition in many women, especially those that have done a lot of energy work already before entering this phase of their life. At 12 years, you are due for a real breakthrough! You know, 12 is the symbolic number of years that is often used in the Tibetan legends of the Mahasiddhas on their pathway to enlightenment. They are always meditating for 12 years, or living in a cave for 12 years, etc. etc. So hopefully 12 is your number!
    And re: a book, of course I would love to do this and probably will, but have to pace myself of course, with my children being so young, and knowing what I know about this whole energy connection.

  16. Durga permalink
    October 29, 2009 5:22 pm

    Re: Perimenopause

    Just another perspective to add to this discourse:

    I feel SO MUCH better in perimenopause than I did in pre-perimenopause! Yahoo, party city! 🙂

    It does not have to be a challenging, dramatic experience for everyone (though I know it legitimally is for some women).

    I think the energy work (meditation, etc.) helps, it evens out my being.

    ~Namaste

  17. October 29, 2009 5:26 pm

    Hi Lisa,

    I have always been fascinated with chakras and the differences between male and female energy. A lot of what you wrote resonated with me. I do feel that women’s energy is more like a circle while men are much more linear.

    That said, I also think a big factor is that women are much more emotional and heart centered than men. Men will think more with their minds than their hearts. While women are the opposite. The mind is so cut and dry…hence, the linear energy while with women it is constantly in motion.

    And thank you for the book recommendation. Sounds interesting. I will have to check it out.

  18. November 1, 2009 6:46 am

    I am beginning to see how this can be your life’s work. You really have a lot to share with us all!

    I resonate best with points #2 and #7. I am not too sure about point #10 because I tend to think of my heart chakra as the doorway for me.

    I noticed that you used the words “women” and “men”. Just to clarify, by these, do you mean by sex gender rather than feminine and masculine energies that can reside within each of us?

  19. mommymystic permalink*
    November 1, 2009 5:49 pm

    Nadia- yes, I think your observation re: men and women holds true, although to what extent that is energy based and to what extent it is socialized is the question. I think there are intrinsic energy differences just like there are are intrinsic physical differences, but they don’t necessarily have to translate into psychological/mental differences, which I think are more socialized/conditioned…so I tend to view the value of knowing these energetic differences as simply helping us to address things on an energetic level more easily, and to understand what pathways might work best for us as we attempt to unify yin and yang…

    Evelyn – Re: #10, I think we all use multiple doorways, and we do all have one that tends to be our ‘main’ one, it’s very individual…the 2nd chakra was traditionally associated with magick in some ancient circle and ‘white’ occult power, so it was a very specific doorway, that has been lost to some extent…as for your question, to keep it simple I was using ‘women’ and ‘men’ in terms of gender, but really I do think of this as more of a spectrum than a polarity (or really it is both) and from a spiritual perspective we are all working to unify yin and yang, or masculine and feminine…so for me it’s about looking at it from both perspectives…the energetic differences which are very tied to our physical gender differences, and then on broader level there is yin and yang, and we are all attempting to balance those energies, individually and as a culture…

  20. November 2, 2009 8:35 am

    How about women’s energy is more sensible, and men’s more idiotic? (Especially when the husband makes comments about the height of the ironing pile!)

  21. November 4, 2009 8:21 am

    Hi there Lisa,
    You know, I came here many moons ago and loved it and I’m pretty sure I commented at the time… anyway, am revisiting, and didn’t realise it was *your* blog, lol.
    Anyway, have you read much about macrobiotics and yin and yang? These principles you have listed (esp. 1-3) a lot of macrobiotic theory talks about in terms of yin and yang. Yin – female, yang – male.
    I really notice in my children this difference. Also the fact that male genitalia is external as opposed to the female that is internal, really supports the yin/yang qualities that female and male exhibit, that centripetal/centrifugal difference (and of course one is not purely one without the other, but essentially female energy is yin, male yang). And also in character I think too. I find little females especially a lot more self-contained, whereas little boys are much more out there with their energies…and this carries on of course into adulthood, except with contemporary social constructions, men don’t seem to be able to use their energies enough in that needed physical way, and females tend to be too ‘masculine’ or ‘yang’ which I believe leads to many problems… could go on and on and on pondering all this!

    It doesn’t explicitly talk about men and women here (but I have books on this subject related to male and female energies, one I think is hip chick’s guide to macrobiotics, lots more by George Oshawa). Anyway, more stuff here if you are interested… http://macrobiotics.co.uk/articles/principles.htm

    (have been doing my own study in macrobiotics for some years now)

    (^_^)

  22. mommymystic permalink*
    November 4, 2009 8:59 pm

    Ruth, Thanks for coming back! I would love to get into macrobiotics with you more sometime. It is one of the sources I have used for some of this, but I don’t know a ton about it. I read some things by Michio Kushi on the centrifugal/centripetal male/female energy. I am always looking for more sources on this, as it is an area I am researching a lot right now, so I will definitely check out the books you mentioned. I could go on and on about yin and yang too, both individually and socially…and actually, I kind of DO go on and on about it in different forms on this blog…been thinking a lot about this in terms of the kali yuga and 2012 too…

  23. November 5, 2009 12:06 am

    This is fascinating to me Lisa – and many of these ring true for me both experientially and intuitively. I did a qi gong course some years ago, and explored a number of these ideas and energetic patterns.

    But the idea of maternal energy lines extending over time is something I hadn’t thought about, but makes a lot of sense. So in this way, women could be said to becomes expansive in their energy – and it has a greater range of movment…possibly.

  24. mommymystic permalink*
    November 5, 2009 4:24 am

    Nettles, yes, a women’s energy could be said to be more expansive through her lines to her children, but it also means that the energy of her children impacts her for the rest of her life, and that she is potentially more dispersed…which I intuitively feel is a problem for many women, although it is not PC to say so at all…I don’t think it HAS to be a problem, but I think it is in reality for many, because finding the right balance is tough…the right balance of energy for themselves vs. their kids (and I am talking adult kids in this case, when they theoretically shouldn’t ‘need’ that energy anymore…)

  25. ruth permalink
    November 5, 2009 9:27 am

    I can provide you with many ideas for macrobiotics resources!
    The Hip Chick’s Guide to Macrobiotics is quite a nice and fun and not so rigid approach that I would recommend as a book to read. Kushi is good of course (although in the macro world, there is criticism against the Kushi’s for apparently being too rigid hence why his wife died of cancer, I don’t know what e died of…). George Oshawa is really the father of it so anything by him is interesting and gives you a good base, although pretty hard core iykwim. He has a book called “You are all Sanpaku” which is interesting, and a book on babies and motherhood. There is a natural healing book (Natural Healing from Head to Toe) that’s a great resource to have, also by Cornelia and Herman Aihara. Am discovering many great healing foods especially kuzu and umeboshi.
    Nowadays contemporary macrobiotic practice is much more gentle in approach. macrobiotics.co.uk is a great resource online.
    ‘Kaleidoscope’ by Herman Aihara is a really lovely philosophical account with lots of different stories, worth a read if you can get your hands on a copy… His book dispells the myth that food is the central issue, it really illustrates the wide-ranging applications of macrobiotic thought, universal theory etc,etc. Quite old now (essays between 1979-1985) but relevant nonetheless and lovely and funny.
    There’s some food for thought for you 🙂

    Ohhh…2012, is this as in the end of the Mayan Calendar 2012 date?

  26. mommymystic permalink*
    November 5, 2009 5:16 pm

    Ruth, thanks so much for the references, I am going to check the library database right now – one pro to living in LA is I have access to the entire municipal library system and so far they do seem to have just about anything! As for 2012, yes the whole Mayan thing, but really all the theories that have been extracted from that…it is actually refreshing to have someone ask about it, and know that somewhere in the world it is not the center of everything being written, because here in Los Angeles, and alot of the blogs I visit (many of which are probably considered New Agey) sometimes it seems like that is all ANYONE is talking about…so I have been feeling like I should weigh in at some point, not sure when…or if, really, maybe the blogosphere does not need one more 2012 post.

  27. November 9, 2009 9:23 pm

    Lisa,

    That sure is an interesting read and it resonates with what I have read and experienced regarding energy bodies. Loved reading this post. 🙂

  28. November 12, 2009 5:03 am

    Hi. I wanted to let you know that I was listening to SARK speak this evening and she recommended the book “Energy Medicine for Women: Aligning Your Body’s Energies to Boost Your Health & Vitality” by Donna Eden. I have not read it, but thought it may be of interest to you based on this post.

  29. mommymystic permalink*
    November 12, 2009 5:24 pm

    HI Stacey – yes, I do like that book, good for all sorts of reproductive related issues especially…

  30. January 22, 2010 3:32 am

    Hi. I enjoyed your post and am kind of comforted by the emphasis of the second chakra. I had mystical experience that started with a rush of sexual energy. Really overwhelming and something that has calmed down, but not subsided. Its a power in myself and in Nature I have to learn to use. Base or higher. And I’ve done a lot of reading, particularly Carl Jung and Sufi philosophy. But those mystical narratives cover the experiences of men. I don’t think a mystical awakening for a woman is as traumatic as it is for a man, fighting dragons and all that. I wrote some of these ideas out on my blog: http://www.lovehateflow.com/2010/01/20/feminine-soul/

  31. mommymystic permalink*
    January 22, 2010 8:36 pm

    Sarah, I have heard from so many women that had similar experiences to you regarding a spiritual awakening being tied to sexual energy awakenings in the 2nd chakra. It can be very intense and confusing. It sounds like your own energy has settled down a bit….the goal in chakra/kundalini work is for the kundalini awakening to happen very gradually and smoothly, but for some people, there are ‘jolts’ that occur. I assume you read my 2nd chakra series too, but if not, check it out, along with some of the comments if you like, as other women discussed this there, and that might be useful or interesting to you…thanks for visiting. – Lisa

  32. Emma Kate permalink
    June 19, 2012 5:31 am

    Great post. Offered great clarity around the different expressions. Thanks for putting it together! I have had similar experiences to you regarding point four (4) – my observation being in highly conscious / evolved men their energy fields seem significantly more expansive / dense than similarly conscious women – whose fields seem softer though also expansive, more smokey than solid / electric. (!!! Hard to put into words).

  33. June 19, 2012 6:53 pm

    Hi Emma Kate, yes these things can be hard to put into words! I’m glad this resonated though. And yes, as you noted, these energy body/subtle body differences really have nothing to do with the level of someone’s spiritual realization. Source/light/awareness simply comes through our ‘vehicle’ – our physical and subtle bodies – into this world differently. That impacts our journey, and our expressions of enlightenment.

  34. Angel permalink
    November 17, 2012 8:22 am

    Hi Lisa!

    I liked ur comment 10th. Women sacral chakra is spiritual doorway.
    I had spiritual experience during my periods.
    I was looking for explanation for that as I was debating that it was spiritual experience or not.
    As I always heard people meditate for this kind of experience. I had experience with no efforts but I was lot in pain at base of my spine which could have triggered the spiritual experience. But I had always doubt why it triggered while in periods.

    Ur blog gave answer that our sacral chakra is doorway. And sacral chakra connected to our reproductive organs.
    Please highlight any comment on this way of experiences.

  35. November 18, 2012 9:27 pm

    Hi Angel, I responded to your other comment on the women’s energetic page, let me know if you don’t see it! – Lisa

  36. Anonymous permalink
    March 24, 2013 6:53 am

    hello,

    it might be a little weird for you to know that this reply is coming from a male individual. i came upon this article while doing a research for creating a marketing campaign for a beauty salon. i found the first 3 points strangely consistent with my personal experience in understanding women’s perception and thank you for writing them well. but the following points have become increasingly ambiguous and was harder for me to put in context regarding my research. do you have any more publications which could help an understanding in women’s specific perceptual difference in contrast to men? it would be really helpful for me and probably a wider audience in such matters.

    best regards,

    Fuad Hossain
    email: noesis.adcomm@gmail.com

  37. March 24, 2013 3:44 pm

    Hi Fuad, thanks for your comment. I’m not sure exactly what you mean by ‘perceptual difference’, but if you mean you are interested in research that is more related to differences in men’s and women’s brain functioning, including differences in sensory and spatial awareness, then the book The Female Brain by Louann Brizendine is quite interesting. I recommend reading some descriptions of the book on Amazon or elsewhere and you can get a sense of whether it’s relevant to you. If you are more interested in marketing research on women, The Soccer Mom Myth by Michelle Miller and Holly Buchanon is a decent read that may have some relevant material for you.

  38. November 8, 2014 4:58 pm

    Hi Lisa,
    I just reread this post for about the 3rd time. The first two times I had a sort of “intellectual” YES! to your descriptions, but this third time, with the amount of inner growth that continues to turn me upside down (or perhaps I should say, “rights me up,” I have a full body Knowing to YES! xo

  39. Charma permalink
    November 16, 2018 8:18 pm

    While most of this is a journey that my present self find to be new my universal entity is aware of these only in different context…#9..all my life I have lower abdominal discomforts and as I learned my connection with the external and my own emotion I began to learn how manipulate it..
    #2 I hated being in a crowded place or a place where people were ill..I would leave feeling overwhelmed..I would be able to deal with one person’s energy but multiple would make me sick -as I grew I learned to compartmentalize multiple flow..or even block unwanted energy…
    #6. My mother lives on another continent and my daughter could be hours away and I feel their energy…I get my daughters period cramps even during pregnancy with my second daughter Of could pick up clearer energies relating to my mom and my older daughter..

  40. November 30, 2018 5:53 pm

    Hi Charma, thanks for sharing and it sounds like you’ve been on your own journey of learning to work with these. I have some free meditations and resources both here and on my DailyOm course that may be of interest to you – let me know if I can help. Lisa

Trackbacks

  1. Fatigue in Early Pregnancy, Can be Normal or it May be a Sign You are Nutritionally Depleted | Your Pregnancy
  2. a woman’s energy « dimitri seneca snowden

I love to hear from you...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.