Skip to content

Fourth or Heart Chakra

This post is part of a series on the chakras. For details on the information provided for each chakra, be sure to read the Legend to this series.

Fourth or Heart Chakra


Focal Point: Center of chest, where breastbone starts to curve

Color: Green; sometimes pink or gold

Element: Air

Life Aspects/Themes: Associated with love, compassion, empathy, relational skills and emotional balance.

Physical/Health Correlations:

Body Systems/Organs: Heart, lungs

Gland(s): Heart, thymus

Foods: Cruciferous vegetables, leafy greens, sprouts, raw foods

Strengthening Activities: Any activity in fresh air, open space, ‘green’ environment; compassionate service.

Spiritual Practices/Correlations:

Yoga Asanas: Breathing exercises; Chest openers; backbends

Mantra: Yam (pronounced ‘Yum’)

Fourth Chakra Yantra

Yantra:  6-pointed star (2 triangles), 12 petals

Intuitive Sympathy: Relational – interactive/empathic

Spiritual Gateway(s): Love, devotion

Spiritual/Religious Paths: Christianity, Sufism, Guru paths

Other posts in this series:

Legend/Key, w/ Related Book Suggestions

First or Root Chakra

Second or Sacral Chakra

Third or Navel Chakra

Fifth or Throat Chakra

Sixth or Third Eye Chakra

Seventh or Crown Chakra

No comments yet

I love to hear from you...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: