Skip to content

The Energetics of Midlife – Burning in the Fire

November 4, 2014

I have received many questions about mid-life kundalini transits recently, and so felt that was a sign I should reblog this post. Also please note that the final edition of Meditate Like a Girl published this week, and includes the last of my posts in the 12-chakra meditation series I had been doing there – ‘YOU as a Chakra’, with a free guided meditation. You can get to that by clicking on the link in the sidebar after reading this post. Namaste-

Mommy Mystic

Alex Grey’s Holy Fire, http://www.AlexGrey.com

“In each moment the fire rages, it will burn away a hundred veils.

And carry you a thousand steps toward your goal.” -Rumi

There’s one word for summing up the energetics of midlife, at least within the spiritual traditions that discuss it – FIRE. As in holy fire, sacred fire, kundalini, transformative light, and the burning away of obstacles and any debris. Also hot flashes of course, which I have yet to experience, but are all part of the energetic fun.

From an energetic perspective, midlife shifts occur throughout our forties. Biologically, perimenopuase for women is the 8-10 years prior to menopause, and the current average age for menopause is 51. Throughout most of our 40s then, our body (and energy body!) are experiencing shifts in preparation for menopause, regardless of whether we experience any physical symptoms. Our hormones are shifting, and usually we experience…

View original post 1,214 more words

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Grace Darling permalink
    December 2, 2014 5:25 pm

    Oddly enough, around Diwali in October, my ramblings led me to the traditions of
    Ambubachi Mela, Adya Shakti and Kamakhya Kameshvari. Reading about the
    menstruation festival Raja Parba filled me with sadness that I had gone through
    four decades of being quite matter-of-fact about my moon-time, not missing a beat
    or placing any special significance on it.

    Perimenopause-to-menopause changed all that and in late October, it had
    been six months since my last period, so I was feeling sad that now I had a
    deeper connection to my body – the circus had already packed up and left town!

    A few days later ‘Aunt Flo’ arrived, stayed for 17 days and I got to do rituals
    to give my Fertile Identity a proper send-off. I was rather amazed by the
    swiftness of the response.

    During WWII, my British-born father was stationed with the RAF in Ceylon,
    Southern India and Burma. In tracking his foot-steps, I have come into
    contact with these traditions and there is an awesome synchroncity that
    my father who regretted I was not a son, has left me this legacy of pllace
    names and sacred spaces to explore. Things he witnessed and were
    kept in trust for me, transmitted through his DNA – energetic, intra-psychic.

    I dunno. I’m winging it. Every mourning brings a new arrival…

  2. December 4, 2014 12:44 am

    Hi Grace, thanks for sharing your story – the mind/body/spirit connection is quite amazing!

I love to hear from you...

