Skip to content

May in Review

June 1, 2010

I haven’t done one of these in awhile, and thought it might be a nice time to do so. In case you’ve missed these posts in the past, these are just a little glimpse into my month, thoughts, and world, format courtesy of Mon at Holistic Mama. Consider doing one yourself, and link up to hers…

A thought…
I’ve relaxed about my blogging – and everything else for that matter, for now. As you can see, I’ve shifted into more metaphysical and occult type posts recently, as that is just what I’m enjoying right now. I understand if it’s not your thing! A lot of things I originally blogged about – mindful parenting, meditation, the spiritual journey etc. – are being written about so well by others (check my blogroll), that I don’t feel so compelled to discuss them here. I’ll touch on them once in awhile probably, but really, this blog is somewhat of a self-absorbed endeavor – I use it to express thoughts and themes I am contemplating, and your comments always expand and add to that process. So that’s where I am, and that’s what this is. For now! I appreciate those of you that have stuck with me:-)

A sound…

The sounds of summer – my windows are open all the time now. Birds singing, dogs barking, wind in the trees, cars backing up, sirens in the distance, peacocks yelping (yes, peacocks – it’s a long story), kids playing, kids arguing  – the sounds of summer in our urban/suburban home.

A taste…
Strawberries – my favorite stand is in full-swing now, and the berries are at their most delicious. One of the only foods all three of my kids agree on.

An image…

The kids found a new little cave on our last trip to Utah. It looked too small to fit them from a distance, but turned out to be perfect. Of course while they were running up to it I was yelling ‘Wait, wait, let me check it for snakes!’ (or actually, ‘let Daddy check it for snakes’ – it’s amazing how gender conditioning kicks in sometimes:-) But there were no snakes, just the perfect little spot for three little hikers in need of a break.

A scent…
Garlic from our garden – we have never planted garlic before, and boy am I loving it. Our house smells like garlic all the time – it’s my new aromatherapy.

A word…

All words, everywhere. Words on signs, on shirts, on packages, on streets, on trucks – words I just breeze by, but which my eldest daughter is now obsessed with figuring out, as she’s recently joined the reading world. And as with everything in parenting, all these words are new for me through her eyes.

Meanwhile my son has just learned his double-digit numbers, and thus very helpfully keeps my apprised of the speed limit everywhere we go. “Mommy, it’s 15. Mommy, it’s 25 now. Mommy, it’s 40. Mommy, it’s back to 25.” I won’t be getting any speeding tickets at least.

A touch…

Toes in the ocean…more summer niceness.

A gift for me…

A retreat with student-friends, in a lovely spot…

A post you may have missed…

I doubt you’ve missed any of my posts, because I didn’t post much this month. But here’s some to check out elsewhere, from friends old and new:

Mon’s introduction to Chiron in Astrology at Bohemian Shadows

Nicki’s ongoing series at Touching the Universe – Raising Children, Raising Adults

Akemi’s new blog on Akashic Record Reading

Sarah’s exquisite photoblog Inside the Light

And be sure to check out Ryhen’s fascinating and at times outrageous (in an entirely humorous way) posts at Virtual Synapses. Who else would post an interview with Jesus Christ on mind-altering substances?

Also, I did make the ‘Amazon Top 1000 book reviewers’ list this month, entirely unsought. What started as a hobby has developed into…well, slightly more than a hobby I guess. But I do love to read. So if you find any of my reviews helpful, please hit the ‘Yes’ button at the end of the review, THANK YOU!!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 12:29 am

    this was lovely to read 🙂 Thank you for the kindness of linking to me.

    we don’t have snakes in my country, but I’d be shouting out, “be careful incase of wetas!” If you don’t know what a weta is, here’s a picture to help you understand – http://weta.boarsnest.net/coverpic.jpg

  2. June 2, 2010 5:25 am

    oh yikes!! I would certainly be shouting ‘be careful of wetas’ too if they were around here.

  3. June 2, 2010 6:33 am

    love the photo of them. i didn’t know you had a veg garden!! we luuuuurve garlic around here.

    that’s so cool about the top reviewer too, that is a LOT of books. tres impressed lol

    off to check out the christ interview….

  4. June 2, 2010 12:50 pm

    i always love reading these, lisa. you inspire me – to what? to continue making meaning and finding joy (and taking insight) from the everyday. the photo with your beloveds is precious! what a lovely memory for one and all, captured perfectly through your lens heart. 🙂

    and congrats on the book review stats. you are one in a million, as far as i am concerned. but you already know that…. xo

  5. June 2, 2010 12:53 pm

    p.s. i forgot to say how much i admire your blog stance. yes, the blog IS yours. it is your prerogative to write about what is on your heart, no people pleasing. love it. 🙂 you see, yet another invitation to listen to our hearts – to live “in-spirited” – inspiration….

  6. June 2, 2010 1:52 pm

    Mon – yes we did a little container garden last year, but now this year we have gone whole hog. I grew up with HUGE gardens, because my father grew up on a farm (and has retired back to one) so that was his hobby. Of course I complained about it as a kid, but now made him help us plant ours when he was visiting, lol. We have about 50 tomatoes ripening right now!!!

    Jan – thanks, yes, it’s taken awhile for me to settle into what I want blogging to be for me, and not try and be something I’m not. Blogging is a path unto itself I think! I love ‘in-spirited’/inspiration…

  7. June 2, 2010 2:11 pm

    Writing from the Heart is the only way to go! And it is what attracts readers who want to share the journey….

  8. June 2, 2010 2:19 pm

    Home-grown garlic! What a treat!

  9. June 2, 2010 4:57 pm

    You sound happy. Whatever you are doing and paying attention to, it appears to be working:)

  10. Anonymous permalink
    June 2, 2010 7:57 pm

    Lisa, 50 tomatoes ripening! Oh, you are so lucky. I have three small plants in my sun room trying to get them to ripen in this cool Scottish air. Oh, I miss my childhood summers, so many tomatoes, so much canning to do. I will have a treat this year as I am off to Ohio in late summer, just in time for corn and tomatoes. I enjoy your posts, this one and the ones as of late. Haven’t written many responses to them, but I am allowing the interesting topics you write about to germinate in my mind. Thanks for the link. Peace, Nicki

  11. June 2, 2010 8:15 pm

    Hi,

    Thanks for providing the link to your Amazon reviews. I know you are very well read and write great reviews. I subscribed!

    Thank you also for mentioning my new blog on the Akashic Records. This is quite another animal for me…

    I grow garlics in the container, too, It’s so easy! I bet your kids love burying the garlic pieces in the ground. This is the season for gardening ^_^

  12. June 2, 2010 9:56 pm

    Cate – yes, I **knew** this, and always said I wanted my blog to be about sharing ideas and resources with like-minded individuals, but then it was hard not to let the views of others on what blogging should or should not be to influence me. And of course, our interests change over time, so our blogs have to evolve too, right?

    Kaushik – yes, and we won’t have any vampires around here, that is for sure.

    Aurora – thanks, I’m glad that comes through. I feel like I’ve been happy for awhile in my life, but sometimes it’s a ‘cosmic’ happy while life itself is challenging and sometimes it all aligns and is quite a nice happiness on every level. It’s all good, right?

  13. June 2, 2010 10:00 pm

    Nicki – I am from the midwest and we go back in the summer at corn and tomato time. There is really nothing like good midwestern sweet corn…I’m glad you are enjoying recent posts, they are quite different from my early ones here, but we all need to let ourselves, and our blogs evolve…

    Akemi – thanks for the Amazon support! I am looking forward to more of your posts on Akashic records…

  14. June 3, 2010 9:30 am

    Love seeing your wee ones in the hole in the rock, and the snake story with it (eek!) but glad there were none – what fun.
    Oh yes, strawberries – I make a super simple ice cream using frozen strawbs in a blender with cream and a dash of maple or icing sugar if you prefer – sooooo delicious – highly recommend it to you and your littlies. Come on summer again so I can do that 🙂
    x

  15. June 3, 2010 3:26 pm

    I really enjoy reading your posts on the occult. I love the topic and think you write about it quite well.

  16. June 3, 2010 6:33 pm

    Ruth- yummy! We are in a smoothie stage right now, smoothies with strawberries almost every day, but I would love to try ice cream too.

    Spiritsoflena – thank you so much for the encouragement, I appreciate hearing that. It is my real love, although I held back on writing about it at first for various reasons…

  17. June 4, 2010 12:26 am

    Dear Lisa. That is why I am still here, as I said many times before, I love your down to earthness and that makes me feel comfortable reading about occult when you write it.
    I love the photos of the kids, oh I wish I could go into a cave and not worry about all the creepy crawlies. We do not have snakes but wetas as well. I should get over my stance on these animals, they are just as pretty as birds . . . if only I could believe that.
    xox Wilma

  18. June 5, 2010 1:26 am

    Hi Lisa
    Your AMAZING post about the Chinese cave temples reminded me to get back over here and leave a comment. I’ve been so distracted lately watching David Wilcock videos. Have you heard of him? He’s blowing my mind!

    I love the gentle tone in this post. Your contentment with life slips through the spaces between your words. I also love the memory that your mention of garlic evoked, pulling up wild garlic as a child.

    My month in review would include my daughter’s family moving to the country, to a place where people they know have gardens. I look forward to spending some time there soon. I’m missing my new little one. I’m glad to see you back on the keyboard!

  19. June 5, 2010 4:47 pm

    Wilma – Thanks Wilma! Yes, re: getting over my own aversion to snakes, I often remind myself of that same thing – and wouldn’t you know it, snakes are my eldest daughter’s favorite animal. We go to the zoo and all she wants to do is hang out in the reptile building. I am literally shuddering through the whole thing. Yet another way my children are my path at this point!!!

    Brenda – I’m glad you liked that post on the caves. I remember reading about them years ago, but they only just recently came back into my attention. Someone told me that this (or maybe last) month’s National Geographic has a big article on them with tons of pictures, but I haven’t seen that yet. I would love to visit them some day! I hope you get to visit your little one soon – how nice it will be out in the country.

  20. June 6, 2010 5:53 am

    I loved reading this! Posts like this always make me stop and appreciate moments…most which seem to go by in a blur. I love the idea of reflecting in this way. Very peaceful.

I love to hear from you...

