Skip to content

Guest Post at Evolving Beings, and Book Recommendation

May 1, 2010

I’m still on a bit of a break, for another week or so, but I’m honored that Evita from the wonderful blog Evolving Beings asked me to participate in her monthly Evolving Beings in Action series, for the month of May. If you have not yet checked out Evolving Beings, be sure to do so, as it provides an amazing wealth of posts and resources on spiritual, metaphysical, and self-development topics, including profiles of teachers and book recommendations. She also regularly features writings from Cyndi Dale,  my favorite author on chakra and energy healing topics.

This particular question series focuses on one change or decision that has influenced the participant’s life positively, and its role in the past, present, and future. Of course I had to talk about meditation!! So I hope you will check it out, and Evita’s other articles also. Be sure to also check out her other two blogs, Evolving Wellness, and Evolving Scenes (which features Evita’s amazing nature photography.)

The End of Your World

The End of Your World

And when you’re done with that, I have a new favorite book – Adyashanti’s The End of Your World: Uncensored Straight Talk on the Nature of Enlightenment. I know it seems like I have a new favorite book every week, and that is basically true, but this one is truly a very unusual book. In it, contemporary teacher Adyashanti provides a very lucid, honest and accessible description of the challenges and traps many seekers face after they have had a profound awakening experience. He shares his own journey, and I found it all just wonderful.

Hope all is light and lovely in your word. Namaste-

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 2:06 am

    Hi! I just came over from Mizfit’s. The link on your comment is hysterical! Thanks for sharing.

  2. May 3, 2010 6:05 pm

    Gina – I’m glad you liked it! It definitely had me LMAO.

    For anyone who happens to read this and their interest in piqued, check out Mizfit’s post here:
    http://mizfitonline.com/2010/05/02/sunday-thought-of-the-day/
    and you’ll find the link in my comment – it’s an old Saturday Night Light skit for middle-aged moms with lower back tattoos…

  3. May 4, 2010 8:44 pm

    Great interview–good to know more about you; and great book recommendation! Enjoy your hiatus!

  4. May 5, 2010 8:10 pm

    “The most fundamental gift of meditation to me has been helping me to live a more aware life.”

    “Trust yourself. Face yourself”

    Lisa, I am so glad to know you, even in Blogland. Whenever I am going through a dark, difficult time, these teachings give me the fuels of patience and trust I need to keep going and face myself. I usually emerge with more beauty, freedom, and a lighter sense of being.

    I also appreciate your take on the non-demonitaional approach to spiritual faith. I recently attended a writing retreat, and was amazed by the common demoninator in all spirituality: Kindness and Love!

  5. May 5, 2010 10:12 pm

    Thanks Mermaid, I feel the same way about knowing you through blogland! It really is an amazing thing, these connections we can form. Although I feel I need to limit my online time, and take breaks, it is never because of the people I have met, as most have been wonderful like yourself.

    I almost added ‘Love Yourself’ too, to that post. In retrospect I would have.

  6. May 15, 2010 6:38 am

    Glad to see you are still gong strong. Sorry i have been a bit of a stranger around here. 😉 As it happens I am reading your current favorite book wight now as well. It’s a good’un.

    Peace to you!

  7. May 17, 2010 10:57 pm

    Travis – I’ve been a stranger around here myself! I see Adya will be in LA in June…

  8. May 18, 2010 4:40 pm

    Hello Lisa!

    I read the article about you over at Evita’s place. I thought it was awesome and you offer a great example for others. I appreciate that. 🙂

I love to hear from you...

