Skip to content

August Month in Review

September 1, 2009

I can’t believe our summer is over! Time for my August month-in-review post, format and idea courtesy as usual of Mon at Holistic Mama. In honor of the end of summer, most of this post is going to be a photo album of our recent vacation to visit my family in the mid-west and our favorite spots in the desert southwest. These trips were 100% Americana, including tractor rides on my Dad’s farm, an annual county fair, apple-picking, and lots and lots of cousins. If this isn’t your thing, come back in a few days, and I’ll return to my usual waxing on about all things ‘spiritual’.

First a shout-out to a blogging friend, Alexis at Taking the Lid Off The Sun, who is looking for contributors for a book she is writing on parenting sensitive/intuitive/Indigo/Crystal children. Even if you are a bit wary of these terms (as I am), read her post on what she is looking for, and consider contributing, as I think there is a big gap in this area, and she is a great candidate to fill it.

OK, here goes:

A thought…

Transition. The weather is transitioning, as a family we are transitioning from our summer to our school year schedule, and I am transitioning back into writing and teaching regularly. My eldest started kindergarten this morning, and although she has been going to preschool for two years, it is still a big transition. Not the least of which is the new traffic patterns we are dealing with – we were in fact 15 minutes late to her first day because I underestimated them (this is LA after all!) In a way this was good, as there was no time for sentimentality. Being the independent sort, I wasn’t expecting tears from her – she ran right in with hardly a glance at me (sigh) – but I might have shed a few if there had been time!

Transition was also a big theme of the comments on my Using Death as an Adviser post. I want to thank all of you that commented, as it truly ended up being a fascinating thread (for me at least!) I love when that happens and it’s part of why I’ve come to love blogging in general (and part of why I only post weekly, so that there is time for some of these conversations to evolve.) Thank you.

OK, back to that vacation I was mentioning…

A sound…
Antique John Deere tractors. They are LOUD. My father owns 15 (or so), and I am set to inherit half of them – which I am in NO rush to do. But the kids could spend all day riding around his farm on them. Just in case you are not really sure what an antique John Deere tractor looks like, here’s the kids showing off their’s (they each have one too) with my Dad.

Tractor 1Tractor 2Tractor 3

A taste…
Tom Thumb donuts – a staple at mid-west county fairs. For the uninitiated, they are bite-size, served warm, covered with cinnamon sugar, melt in your mouth, and have no nutritional value whatsoever. They are one of the few foods all three of my kids agree on. And the rest of my family too. So although we have dozens of pictures from the county fair we visit annually – the county named after my maternal great-great grandfather’s family, and where my 96 year-old grandmother still resides along with much of my extended family – we have not a single shot of anyone eating a Tom Thumb donut. Because to stop and take a picture would mean you’d lose your allotment, and fast.

But here’s some shots of the kids at the fair itself:

Ride 1Fair 2Ice Cream Tongue

An image…

My favorite this month is actually from our time in Utah. We went apple picking at a local farm, and here’s the kids enjoying their spoils on the farm’s porch swing afterwards. I actually made an apple pie after this. I am not particularly domestic, so this was a rare event. Sorry, no pictures of the pie, you will have to take my word for it.

Apples

A scent…

Smoke. We returned from our vacation to massive fires here in Southern CA – a now annual event.

A word…

Cousin. The kids have a lot and saw most of them this month. I don’t want to show too many here because I didn’t get permission to display their pictures online, but boy did they have fun. It’s one of those things you don’t really think about when you have kids, or at least I didn’t – what fun it will be to watch your kids play with their cousins. And come to think of it, I got to have a marguerita with my favorite cousin too, as our husbands watched our cumulative 7 kids (no pictures of that either:-)

Cousins1MoreCousins1

A touch…

The cool, ancient walls of a new slot canyon we found in Utah (new to us, that is.) Most of them are too inaccessible for the kids, but this one was a brief walk. My husband and I did endure quite a bit of whining to get the kids there, but it was worth it (and they agreed.) It is always amazing to see the shift in their awareness that naturally occurs when we discover a place like this and spend time in it. They are just completely happy and light. Hard to really capture these canyons in a picture, but here’s a shot looking up from the bottom.

Slot Canyon1

A gift for me…

Interviewing Gangaji

A post you may have missed…

Profile of Sun Buer, Taoist Poet. One of my favorites amongst the women mystics I have discovered the last few years.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2009 9:53 pm

    Thanks for the out-West imagery. I would have loved to get there. In the back of my mind had always planned to. Landscape, the look of the sky, the kind of trees, the look of the foliage at different seasons, the lighting, – all of that had a big impact on me, but it ended up being all New England. I’m sure I’d have found natural vistas that I’d never seen before inspiring, and western landscapes are so dramatically different from the northeast.

  2. September 2, 2009 12:03 am

    Oh Lisa
    What a vacation. I grew up in concrete city, in apartment buildings and no park or any nature around what soever and I hated it. However it propelled me to where I live now, in nature and I love every minute of it.
    Your photos and post oozes love and fun and what a playground the earth is, isn’t it?
    And having your own tractor, oh my!

  3. September 2, 2009 2:07 am

    Thanks for the images. They have air of serenity. And change.

  4. September 2, 2009 4:42 am

    I love your month in review posts. One of these days I’m going to have to try my own. Summer vacation photos are timeless and priceless.

  5. September 2, 2009 7:49 pm

    Lisa, your kids are adorable!!! I love all the pics! You know, transition is a biggie for me right now. It always kind of is at the change of the seasons, but right now especially since we have no idea what the next few months will look like.

    Transition is a much better word than change or uncertainty… it implies a smooth, natural, painless shift from one phase to another. I think I’ll adopt that word, for my own peace of mind. 🙂

  6. September 2, 2009 8:18 pm

    Those pictures and memories are so precious. Thank you for sharing.

  7. Anonymous permalink
    September 3, 2009 2:57 am

    I always look forward to your month in review, Lisa. It’s fun to have these little peeks in to other’s lives. Your kids are so precious and I am so glad you are conscious enough to truly enjoy them… The canyon sounds amazing. Perhaps next time I could go and be the temporary nanny.:-) I need a west world canyon fix. xo

  8. September 3, 2009 7:17 am

    Wait…. you baked a pie!? You baked!? ;D

    What a great time for all of you and especially the kids – all those cousins and rides. I LOVE donuts. Best I ever had were in Bangkok, how weird is that?
    Lovely to see the kids.
    I would like to ‘tour’ America one day, especially these states.

  9. mommymystic permalink*
    September 3, 2009 4:26 pm

    Thanks all for your comments!

    Lisis – yes, I always like to stick with ‘transition’ even if I don’t know what I am transitioning too! Makes it sound much more manageable….

    Anon – I will take nanny help anytime in exchange for a few hiking tours in my favorite spots!

    Mon – yes, I baked. Must have been some weird aspect or another. It was actually very soothing. But if I start crocheting, the people around me may go into shock, and I think you and your crafty ways would be partially to blame.

  10. September 6, 2009 1:12 am

    This is a beautiful, down-to-earth post that reminds people to value every moment and of course, simplicity. The opportunity to laugh or cry, to share priceless moments with family awakens you to the power of the heart and unconditional love. To appreciate otehrs as they are mirrors how you also come to value yourself.

  11. September 6, 2009 1:50 am

    What a joy to see your photos and to go on vacation with you and your family through them! Your kids are adorable! Glad you had such fun! You will look back on these precious days with such nostalgia! Thanks for sharing! xo

  12. September 8, 2009 8:03 am

    beautiful review…love the images and your description of the canyon…wow! That would be quite an experience. The feeling of space and silence there. Except for the, erm, whining…hehe.

I love to hear from you...

