Skip to content

June/July Month in Review

August 1, 2009

I didn’t do one of these posts last month, so for any of you that are new, this is when I look back over the past month(s), and sometimes share a little more of my personal life, in a format courtesy of Mon at Holistic Mama. If you’re not interested in that, just skip this one and come back later in the week for an interview with Gangaji, and later in August for two long overdue book reviews, The Power of Premonitions and Fingerprints of God: The Search for the Science of Spirituality.

Since I haven’t written that much this summer, I thought I would use this post to share some favorite posts by other bloggers, in addition to my own.

A thought…

After taking a break to process a friend’s death, I thought a lot about detachment, and what it is and isn’t. I thought Paul at Original Faith described it beautifully in his own post.

A sound…

The sound of box tape being pulled and attached – we moved! This week in fact, which is why I have been MIA (again.) Since we built a house in the desert southwest several years ago that we hope to live in full-time someday (we rent it out part-time and visit as often as we can right now), we never thought we’d be able to swing a house in Southern CA as well, and have been renting. But the housing downturn has benefited us, and we found an adorable little place with great ‘karma’ (prior owner’s words, but he’s right!), that we could fix up. I have been busy supervising the work, and now moving in. The kids got to pick their own room paint and decor, and this is what the girls went with:

Girl's Room

Girl's Room

I’m not sure I could sleep in that, but they are thrilled!

A taste…

Tomatoes and bell peppers from our first garden. I really don’t have much of a green thumb, so this is gratifying…

An image…

My own little yin and yang (boy/girl twins) turned three! They completely crack me up – I mean that in both senses of the phrase. In most ways, they seem so different it’s hard to believe they are from the same gene pool, let alone twins. My son got my husband’s Italian genes, with mediterranean-toned skin, dark brown eyes, and long dark lashes (which he uses to great effect when flirting.) My youngest daughter is practically alabaster, with a smattering of freckles, blue eyes, and strawberry-blonde hair. He is in a very cautious stage, very ‘look before you leap’, while she is very social and normally dives into new situations. He is often quite serious for such a young little boy, and she is usually very playful and humorous. But they share two things in common: Their unabashed admiration for their 4 3/4 year old sister – who bosses them around like they are her troops – and their matching dimples, which they get from their Dad:

Yang

Yang

Yin

Yin

A scent…

Vomit. In the car. Sorry, but that’s the first one that came to mind. The entire family had the stomach flu, and I’m sorry to say mine made its appearance while I was driving the kids home from swim lessons. There really is nothing like motherhood to strengthen your multi-tasking skills; I managed to grab a kid’s sand bucket from the backseat, get sick in it, navigate a left turn at a busy intersection, and change the kid’s music CD, all in a one minute period. This was a week before we moved, mind you. My corporate days had nothing on this.

A word…

“The truth is that it is not the sins of the fathers that descend unto the third generation, but the sorrows of the mothers.” This quote from Marilyn French is how Mon started her Sorrows of the Mothers post, which got me thinking more about why I chose to focus on women’s spirituality (at least some of the time!) on this blog, and what it really is all about for me (NOT a victim complex or gender-separation!) I wrote a bit in the comments on her post, and want to follow-up with my own post, but because of the pending interview and book reviews coming up in August, as well as our family’s vacation, this will probably have to wait until September.

A lot of my fellow bloggers shared their occasional struggles with motherhood this month, and I think that is so important to do. Two that stood out were Mama-Om’s You Can Dance and The Zen in You’s I Have Something To Admit.

All of these posts, and some reading I’ve been doing, got me thinking more about shadows. Jenny at Heal Pain Naturally recently reviewed the movie The Shadow Effect, and although I haven’t seen it, I agree entirely with its premise that we need to face and work with our perceived ‘shadows’ to really heal, own our personal power, and/or seek enlightenment. I think sometimes that there is an overemphasis in self-help and spiritual circles on ‘being positive’, and while that is important at times, so is embracing all the different aspects of our being. BlissChick also wrote about this from her own angle, in her Integrating Our StuckChicks posts.

(And for more blogs I read regularly check out the blogroll on the right – I’ll try to highlight more later this month.)

A touch…

Cuddles – the bright spot of kids being sick is that they let you cuddle them, which is rare at my kid’s busy age.

A gift for me…

Creating the psychic space to see, with a more relaxed pace this summer, both on- and off-line. And watching So You Think You Can Dance, which I am an unabashed fanatic about! If you like dancing at all, even a little bit, you cannot help but love this show. And sometimes the choreography is absolutely brilliant. Maybe I will twitter on this show this week for the finale…

A post you may have missed…

One of the most popular posts on this blog is actually a really old one – the profile of Rabia Basri, medieval Islamic Sufi Saint. So check it out if you haven’t already. I want to get back to doing these profiles more regularly once I’m back in gear this Fall…

Hope you are having a great summer…Namaste-

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2009 2:03 am

    I love that wall with color bubbles!
    And did you say you threw up tomatoes and peppers?
    I look forward to reading more of your posts.

  2. August 2, 2009 8:13 am

    EEk at vomit!

    Loved reading this Lisa.

  3. August 2, 2009 7:31 pm

    Thanks for giving us a peak into your life. I am proud to admit that I’m also a raving fan of So You Think You Can Dance. In fact, it’s the one time during the week when the whole family actually gathers around the tube to be cozy couch potatoes together.

    Watching the AMAZING performances just lifts my spirit and makes my heart sing (also makes me wish I hadn’t quit tap when I was 12).

  4. August 3, 2009 3:59 am

    Lisa, thanks for the mention and these interesting links – and fun to learn about your children!

  5. August 4, 2009 12:54 am

    Yes, thanks for the mention of my blog!

    I love the new format of this and enjoyed reading about your month.

    Take care,
    Stacy

  6. August 4, 2009 9:14 pm

    I, too, enjoyed reading about your month. The car multitasking was admirable! The skills we acquire!

    I, too, am a huge fan of SYTYCD. I’ll log onto Twitter on Thursday night to commune with you on the finale results show. In addition to the spectacular dancing and choreography, what I love most about this show is the spirit of it. I think Nigel is an angel of dance, and I love how unabashedly thrilled he is that the show has taken off. I love Cat Deeley and her warmth and kindness toward everyone. Aside from a few occasional guest egos, um … I mean judges, everyone feels very authentically connected by a common love of dance.

    Looking forward to your book reviews!

    Cheers!
    Alexis

  7. August 4, 2009 10:09 pm

    I love your take on motherhood. We are superheroes:) The pink room with dots is adorable. I can see why they would want it that way. It’s like a fairyland!

  8. August 5, 2009 8:18 pm

    Lisa,
    You always make me smile with these posts. I love your fresh take on life (must be all that mindfulness practice!). I love it when you love on and laugh about life as a mom. I wish I had been as clear and wise as you are when I was your age. I appreciate how you savor it all: the ups the downs, the insights, even the moments of despair. May your August be doubly blessed!

  9. August 7, 2009 9:46 pm

    Hi. I heard of your blog from Lance over at the Jungle of Life. I love the format of your month in review. My thought is change, since I’m currently changing directions with my blog. My sound is also tape being pulled and attached since we also just moved.

    As a huge fan of self care, I love the concept of “A gift for me”. I am in the process of creating a space for myself in my new home just for me too.

I love to hear from you...

