Skip to content

Why Adam Lambert Didn’t Win Americal Idol (or, the problem with religion)

May 21, 2009

If you are surprised I am writing about American Idol on this blog, let me just say – not more than I am.

But I simply can’t get past my view – and anger – that Adam lost because he is gay, and because Kris Allen is an evangelical Christian that did missionary work. I just can’t get past the idea that this is a referendum in the ongoing religion-fueled culture wars of the U.S.A.

I have been trying to tell myself otherwise all night and morning. I have been saying, ‘But Kris seems like a great guy, and he is really talented’, and ‘It doesn’t matter – Adam’s success is already assured, he will go on to a long and illustrious career’. Or ‘Kris’s song choices were more mainstream, hardcore rockers like Adam never win’, and finally, ‘Geez, Lisa, it’s just a TV show – get over it!!!’

I’m sure I will (get over it, that is.) Probably by tomorrow, when I’ll do the Blog Sharing/Link Love post I had planned for this week. But not before I vent a little today (Ok, you’ve received your vent warning, so if you keep reading and end up mad, it’s not my fault.)

From my perspective, it is completely naive to think religion or Adam being gay had nothing to do with this upset. For weeks, media outlets have been running articles along the lines of MSNBC’s Is America Ready for a Gay Americal Idol? The LA Times  ran a front-page article on how these two represent this country’s cultural and religious divide. In the interviews leading up to the finale, the contestants were consistently asked ‘do you think religion will play a result in the vote?’ (to which they both – good friends – said, ‘I hope not.’) But since Adam has never publicly expressed any religious views, it’s hard to escape the fact that ‘religion’ in these questions was really shorthand for ‘religious views on homosexuality.’ On a darker note, the blogosphere has been alight with vitriol from supporters of both contestants, most of it aimed at their beliefs and personal lives.

It’s the vitriol on both sides that really gets me. And THIS is the problem with religion. The New Testament is 100% about love. That is almost all Jesus talked about. Sure, there are some other statements about the social and political situations of that time. But when asked which commandment is the most important, Jesus makes himself pretty clear, “Love God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.” and then “Love your neighbor as yourself.”

Love, love, love. Buddha rarely used the word ‘love’. He focused more on connectivity, on the essential oneness of us all. But the essence was the same. And of course Jesus and Buddha were just two of the more famous messengers – there have been many more, within virtually every religion, and many outside of them all. They each found this love, this truth, for themselves, and then they said ‘here is how I did it, here is one way to find this out for yourself.’

Somehow, over time, after a messenger is long gone from this earth, the message always gets mucked up. Someone comes along that wants to use it for political purposes, or just has an axe to grind, and the ‘one way’ changes to ‘only way’, and the focus on ‘love’ shifts to ‘righteousness.’ And one great teacher’s realization gets morphed – in my view disfigured – into a religion.

Don’t think this has only happened with Christianity. I have been on many Buddhist forums over the years, and have often been shocked with the views on what makes a ‘true Buddhist.’ I have read that you can’t be Buddhist and 1) eat meat, 2) drink wine, 3) be pro-choice, 4) be a Republican. Since 3 and 4 rarely go together, you can see it would be tough to meet everyone’s standard for ‘Buddhist.’ I have also run into strong opinions about meditation, about what is ‘real meditation’ and what is not, and what I should or should not be teaching regarding the chakras. This is in the Los Angeles progressive new-age community, so self-righteousness is not something reserved only for the Bible Belt.

And this is why I don’t define myself as anything anymore. And why, even though I hold deeply spiritual beliefs, I was interested in the mostly atheist views of Raising Freethinkers. Because even though I am a ‘believer’, I sometimes think maybe the world could use a few centuries of atheism, or at least secular humanism, to clear itself out and start afresh on the spiritual front. (As an aside, after giving my intro spiel at a meditation class last Fall, one woman raised her hand and said, ‘Ok, let me get this straight. Your credentials for teaching this class are that you are an ex-Episcopalian, ex-Atheist, ex-Buddhist making things up as she goes along.’ To which I could only respond, ‘yes’.)

OK, I think I’m done. I feel much better. I will return to my usual ‘all religions share common themes’ and ‘all religions are different paths to the same truths’ next week. For today, I mourn for us all. I mourn for Adam because he deserved to win. I mourn for the teachers past and present who have tried to show us how to love one another, and whose messages have continually been lost. I mourn for the world my children will inherit, which I am profoundly worried about.

Namaste-

46 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2009 6:08 pm

    This is beautiful, Lisa. Just beautiful. I didn’t watch American idol this season. I weaned myself off of it a couple of years ago, and now avoid it like an alcoholic avoids happy hour. But I am sad to know that there was this…overtone…of religious thought and intolerance that clouded it this season.

    For a long time, I considered myself to be an Omnitheist, believing that all religions held a part of the truth, and that they were all equally valid paths to the divine source. Since I usually visualize the “Divine Source”as a Goddess, I usually throw in the term “Pagan” with my omnitheism. And while I still believe that to a large degree, the truth of my beliefs is a little less “kum ba yah.”

    On good days, I think all religions are equally valid. On bad days, I think they’re all equally stupid. Whenever I encounter religious intolerance, whether it be from mainstream religions or the new age community (I, too, have experienced a great deal of intolerance just like what you’ve described here), I am always thrown into the “equally stupid” thought pattern.

    I, too, mourn for the world our children will inherit.

    ~Namaste.

  2. May 21, 2009 6:09 pm

    ooohhh mommymystic…my heart aches for you all! giggle giggle…i am one of those whom do not watch television anymore. honestly! i own a tv but chose to not watch mainly time related and the other because of this blog! when the world or our country decided we needed more “reality” in our lives by syndicating nothing but reality shows i for one decided to bow out of this. thank you very much but i have enough realism in my tiny world in which i live. i know its all about entertainment so why do we buy into the product everytime? because we care. because we love. because i chose to believe that every being has a depth of compassion to grow from. sorry about your loss….hazel

  3. May 21, 2009 6:22 pm

    We can laugh at the religious bullies and fanatics–about their menace and defensiveness–but that energy exits in all of us. Try to give up a cherished belief, and that energy comes right up as resistance. The good news all we have to do is to notice it.

    Btw, Buddha used the words compassion and metta (lovingkindness), and not love–that’s probably a cultural or semantic thing. The English translations of the New testament use the word “love”. It would be interesting to find out if the word Jesus used in his original Aramaic is closer to love or compassion or something else.

  4. May 21, 2009 7:15 pm

    How did this happen people? I thought Adam had this in the bag….Oh….my heart hurts !

  5. Monika permalink
    May 21, 2009 7:36 pm

    This was one of the best blog posts I’ve read in a very long time, Lisa!!! I heartily agree with your view that intolerance is found everywhere. It is up to each of us to be aware of those springs of intolerance within ourselves, and to change our own views accordingly. Awareness, as they say, is the beginning of change!
    Back to Idol … I am very sad that Adam lost the award because of his sexual orientation! Do people not realize that we are “ALL” made in the image of God … our sexual preferences are not a choice, but an integral part of who we are when we are born? Such narrow and self righteous viewpoints are what, long ago, set me on a path outside organized religion. In my opinion, many/most religions have often been the cause of wars and intolerance; they have been used as “power over” others … they seldom have any connection with enlightenment, love or tolerance!

  6. mommymystic permalink*
    May 21, 2009 8:02 pm

    Jay – yes, I am with you on the wavering between ‘all religions are equally valid’ and ‘all religions are equally stupid.’ I tend to define myself as ‘spiritual but not religious’ to try and toe that line, and focus on mystics within each religion whose transmission really speaks to me. But every once in awhile an event like this gets me worked up, and I get militantly anti-religion for a day or two…

    Hazel – You know, I didn’t watch TV for years, I am with you on that. Right now, my husband and I usually pick one show each season that we watch (on tape delay, so no commercials) for entertainment value. I didn’t watch American Idol until its sixth season, but I love singing, so it came to the top of our list then. It is a ridiculous show in many ways, I do not dispute that. But the journey of the contestants really is interesting to watch, and the public’s reaction to them always a unique window into the American psyche (for better or worse….)

    karmarider – Yes, of course you are right. Whether it’s politics or a favorite restaurant, the ego just loves to take hold of a view and never let go. I think seeing it is the first step, but seeing beyond it takes a little more than that personally. Lots of people fool themselves into thinking they are beyond ego. As for the terms Jesus and Buddha used I do think it would be interesting to know Aramaic and Sanskrit and approach it that way, because these words take on different cultural connotations over time. I do tend to equate the Buddha’s use of metta and Jesus’ use of love, but I know some people draw distinctions between them…

    Cynthia – I know!!

    Monika – Well said yourself. Amen.

  7. May 21, 2009 9:11 pm

    Bravo for the release! Your instincts may very well be accurate or you could be picking up a static vibe that creates distortion from truth. From my perspective, both these guys have risen above any particular label or opinion from others and have just been themselves. For them, it wasn’t about being the “American Idol” as much as it was about enjoying the ride. You can see that from Kris’ response, he was just happy to have had the experience. The same goes for Adam. As you said, they are both on their way to great things, not because of America’s vote, but because they’re in the zone with their gift. Both Adam and Kris are in the right place at the right time. As are you when you are holding your light. Let’s have compassion and understanding for the naysayers and those held hostage by the ego. After all, aren’t we all students of the same lesson? So, hooray for Kris, props for Adam and kudos to you for keeping the light on!

  8. mommymystic permalink*
    May 21, 2009 9:21 pm

    Magsjoy – you are right of course. Kris and Adam had a great season, and this will change their lives forever. And we all have our intolerances, and compassion for both ourselves and others is the only answer. But sometimes we have to speak out too, and that’s what I decided to do today (which is a little out of character for me honestly.)

  9. May 22, 2009 1:24 am

    Thanks so much mommymystic. I was dumbfounded to read some responses on old friends on my Facebook page about American Idol. One said she was so glad she lived in a country that wouldn’t let Adam Lambert win. Ohhhhh–my panties got in a bunch over that one. Then I found your post and felt so much better. I couldn’t agree more with your opinion. I’m glad you vented.

    Faithful reader,
    Melinda

  10. May 22, 2009 1:31 am

    as always, lisa, you invite us deeper to look at what holds us back from truly accepting and loving one another. congratulations for the courage it took for you to write this post. you voiced my concerns too. this whole incident makes me wonder about the 100 million folks who voted (record number, I understand) and what their “agenda” was. what are their spiritual values? how do they live them in the world? like you, my hope is that we will rise above our perceived differences, find commonality, and embrace one another, finally act as the “one being” we are.

    fyi, i stopped identifying myself as a specific spiritual tradition too. it feels very freeing. if anything, I describe myself to those who must ask as an “interspiritual” sort of gal…

  11. Amy Knox permalink
    May 22, 2009 2:15 am

    Thank you so much!

  12. May 22, 2009 5:33 am

    I always watched Pop Idol in UK and then started to watch the American version too. Now here, I only get the Croatian version (yikes). I’m an open reality TV fan. Not all of it, but I just enjoy thoroughly peeking into real people’s lives. I took psychology at uni for a real reason! lol

    I think it’s a sad sad reflection of the state of things in America. But the religious (Christian) right holds a heavy influence no?

    I never thought that a black man would become president in my lfetime, so perhaps there is a movement forward? I’m not sure.

    Uk had a gay pop idol, but I thnk the issue was more economical – will he appeal to teen girls?

    So I guess after Obama, what you need is a gay president. 🙂

  13. May 22, 2009 5:54 am

    I am so glad I stumbled onto this post. It’s the first thing I’ve read about the Idol finale and boy did I need to read this. You’ve expressed exactly how I’ve been feeling about this outcome. When Ryan announced the winner last night, I was aghast. Couldn’t breathe. Couldn’t speak. Felt like I’d been punched in the chest. How could a truly average performer possibly get more votes than a super star? Unbelievable. Even Chris was speechless. All he could say was “Adam deserves this.”

    I want to applaud you for going through all those dense emotions to write this. You are an incredibly gifted writer. I love the resolution you achieved at the end. Reading this helped me feel better too. I often have to tell myself that “whether or not it is clear to you, the universe is unfolding as it should.” If that’s the case, then Adam’s loss was necessary and some greater good will come from this as it should.

  14. May 22, 2009 1:18 pm

    Ah… Lisa. I’m glad you put that all out there for us, because it has clearly been percolating all season (right alongside the Miss California gay marriage thing). Then there’s the interpreters who were kicked out of the military for being gay… at a time when we must use “every available resource” (including torture, apparently) to keep our country safe. Every resource, that is, except gay soldiers?

    It’s just weird. Crazy. Frustrating.

    Adam was clearly leaps and bounds better than all the others put together. This whole thing was just silly and pitiful (kinda funny and kinda sad).

    Thanks for venting for the rest of us! 🙂

  15. mommymystic permalink*
    May 22, 2009 1:56 pm

    Thanks to all for your comments, and for speaking up yourselves. I’ve had several friends tell me I’m wrong on this one, and maybe they are right (although I REALLY don’t think so). Sometimes just raising issues is part of the process of moving forward, and this was done in that spirit…

  16. May 22, 2009 7:18 pm

    Lisa, I felt this very same thing. I was considering writing a blog post about it, but couldn’t figure out how to tie it into being the mother of a crystal child :). I’m glad you didn’t let your blog theme keep you from writing this. Regardless of who thinks you’re right or wrong about this, it’s an important perspective to put out in the open.

    My heart felt very heavy after that announcement on Wednesday night, and it’s stayed with me, for the same reasons you wrote about in this post. It’s how I felt when Prop 8 passed in California in November. It’s how I feel whenever I hear or see people being hateful to those who hold beliefs different from their own.

    What I have to be careful of is that these feelings make me want to withdraw my energy from the world. I feel fear in the face of so many people expressing so much meanness and smallness. It makes me doubt that positive change is possible. It feels like we’re heading backwards in time to the Salem witch hunt days.

    So, I notice my fear, and my desire to withdraw, and I try to breathe some love into it. It’s very(very, very, very) difficult not to drop to that level and return the judgment, which would only keep perpetuating that low vibration.

    People like you give me hope. I’m so glad to have found you.

  17. May 22, 2009 8:37 pm

    You see? Mack’s comment is the kind of thing that makes me want to curl up in a ball and roll away from this world. I’m saddened.

  18. mommymystic permalink*
    May 22, 2009 8:44 pm

    Yes, me too, so I deleted it. I debated leaving it up (for others of you reading this, there was a hate comment that Alexis was responding to in her last comment.) If he had shown any true interest in debating, I would have left it up and responded. But it was just hate. So DELETE!! That’s the same reason I didn’t link to any of the religious sites advocating voting against Adam – didn’t want to send them hits.

  19. May 22, 2009 10:10 pm

    Poor Mack. The guy wasn’t able to write a single coherent sentence. These are the people who need others to think for them. They’re particularly susceptible to emotionally charged language. They’re the ones who voted for Kris. It is sad and it drains my compassion.

  20. May 23, 2009 12:46 am

    A very good essay, accurate, honest, and heartfelt. This caught my eye because it deals with the essence of my recently released biographical novel, Broken Saint. The book is based on my forty-year friendship with a gay man and chronicles his internal and external stuggles as he battles for acceptance. At the core of his difficulties is his inability to reconcile his sexual orientation and his Mormon faith. If interested, you can learn more about the story at http://www.eloquentbooks.com/BrokenSaint.html.

    Thank you,

    Mark Zamen, author

  21. Anonymous permalink
    May 23, 2009 4:38 pm

    Yo America!! What’s wrong with you guys???
    Kris over Adam?!?!? do we really can compare??
    I haven’t heard a vocalist like Adam for a long long time!!!!!
    Adam had to win!!! he’s no. 1!!!!!

    A disappointed viewer from Israel ):

  22. Mack permalink
    May 23, 2009 5:27 pm

    Okay everyone, I want you all to take a moment to close your eyes, and imagine your father and your mother broke up and it was your father who broke up with your mother…. and later on you found out because he did what he did because he was cheating on her with another Guy….. how would you feel?

    Can you open up to your friends and relatives of the wrong doing?

    You as an American want people to go thru this? It really is an embarrassment.

    So PLEASE don’t be a hypocrite and reach thru your soul and put you self in your situation instead of the situation of that fantasy world that you have.

    Religions huh? okay lets talk about it God made Adam and Eve, Not Adam and Steve…..

    If God think eating an apple from a tree is bad O Boy will he be pissed when he see people trying make Eve to Steve.!

    Do Not try to be a super hero and really Visualize of what i am trying to say…

    Don’t Hate this thread because what i state or reasonable facts and i think America with over 80 million votes should have a normal example have a good America’s Idol

    In my mind i thought Adam Lambert was going win
    after the annoucement i am glad he didn’t win.

  23. May 23, 2009 7:00 pm

    Seeing Adam and Kris on Larry King last night sure helped me resolve some of my conflict. They were like best buds totally supporting each other despite their differences. They both said Kris won because Danny Goeke’s votes went to Kris. They’ll be back on Monday night’s show.

    Great models for all of us to accept each other in love and to reject hate. Kris cares more about what other people think than Adam does, but Adam is the more dynamic performer because he is so authentic. There’s room for both at the table.

    I see Mack turned down his volume and wrote some good sentences. Maybe someday he’ll quit worrying so much about what others think and stop calling decent people hypocrites. Don’t make us sad, Mack. Make us GLAD!!

  24. mommymystic permalink*
    May 23, 2009 7:09 pm

    Mack, I deleted your first comment because I felt it was very hateful. I decided to let this second comment stand, because it is less so. But I am not interested in debating homosexuality. This post is not about that. Everyone is entitled to their views, and everyone is entitled to their views on how Christianity views homosexuality. What I was objecting to in this post was 1) The use of those views to organize a campaign against an individual in a singing competition (which is certainly what happened, although I chose not to link to those sites, as I do not want to send them hits), and 2) The expression of those views in a hateful way, in the name of Christianity.
    And really, in my eyes the post isn’t even about certain interpretations of Christianity, it is just about our tendency (humanity’s) to turn spiritual messages of love into divisive doctrines and dogmas. And the tendencies of our ego to dwell in self-righteousness. Of which I do not claim to be immune, although I try. Namaste-

  25. mommymystic permalink*
    May 23, 2009 7:16 pm

    Brenda – yes, Kris and Adam have really been wonderful examples throughout. However, after reading some of the hateful sites that encouraged people not to vote for Adam, I’m not convinced. I’m sure Danny’s votes went to Kris, the question is, why almost all of them (based on the reports that the vote wasn’t even close?)
    Anyway, I really meant for this post to be about the problem with religion, or with certain interpretations of religion, rather than American Idol. So this has taught me a lot about the pros and cons of presenting ideas within the context of public events, which I had not done before on this blog. I’m grateful for that learning experience, and for those of you engaged in the discussion:-)

  26. May 23, 2009 8:17 pm

    Lisa

    I never left more than a single comment on a blog post before this one. Of course this is all about religion, but look at what a difference this post made for Mack. He came back with a little less hate in his heart. Maybe others were affected similarly but didn’t comment. What you’ve done here is important.

    What my 21-year-old son is doing at the Stanford Atheist Club is important too. Many more young people are starting to view religion as you and I do. It’s all about education. Somewhere in our nation’s history we were taught that hate mongering is acceptable. Now we’ve got to get the message out that hate is no longer acceptable. Again, I applaud your efforts.

  27. May 24, 2009 6:19 am

    Hello Lisa, I was intrigued by the title to this post and was wondering what you would say about Adam Lambert losing. Although I am not about to pass any judgement or make any speculations on why he lost, I have to admit that I have found your thoughts interesting. If what you have said is indeed true about religious views having a huge part to play in the votes, then it is a real pity.

    On the other hand, I am also reminded that the American Idol is about the ability to connect with the audience. It is not just about singing ability. This being the case, someone like Kris Allen would have a wider appeal. I also recalled reading about a judge from Singapore being interviewed on the issue. He said that Kris also had the versatility of being able to perform on his own or being in a team. The same cannot be said about Adam. He also said that a winner will have to embody all related attributes that will make him or her a real star.

    While I use the Buddhist framework, I would also say that I refuse to be boxed in by guidelines or to be defined by some criteria that does not make sense. I appreciate the way you are, Lisa. I admire your guts to standing up to being “ex-Episcopalian, ex-Atheist, ex-Buddhist”. Bravo!! We need more of you around!!

  28. May 25, 2009 11:02 pm

    Brilliant! Awesome post, and I feel privileged for having been a venting wall. Seriously.

    I just wanted to riff on one idea, the idea that all the great teachings get mucked up as time goes on. I think the primary reason is laziness, pure and simple. People see a group that seems to be accorded some version of a better life and they want a piece. They are not driven, or disciplined enough to follow the injunctions of the given teachings, so they just grab the trappings and start using the support of the group to afford themselves some more comfort (physical, emotional, spiritual) and then use the cache of the group to advance their own goals.

    The Buddha asked us all to work out our own salvation and he offered some great suggestions for doing so. He also said that we should take nothing anyone says (including him) at face value without first testing the truth of the statement against our own experience. That is the first mistake the lazy folks who jump onto the Buddha’s bandwagon make.

  29. mommymystic permalink*
    May 26, 2009 2:47 am

    Hi Evelyn – thanks for your comment. Part of the reason I like your blog is because the themes are non-denominational (or cross-denominational as I prefer to call it). As for Kirs, there’s no doubt he’s very talented, very likable, and very mainstream. If I hadn’t seen and heard some of the campaigns waged against Adam, I would not be mentioning this at all. But this did seem to become another battle in the culture wars, at Adam’s expense (even if it didn’t cost him the contest), and the dominant presentation of religion out there, especially Christianity in this country, is becoming an increasing problem, and a very serious one. There is virtually no political issue or social event that doesn’t get interpreted through this lens here. And the dominant counter-voice is atheist/secular – there just isn’t a very loud clamor from those of us who interpret Jesus’ teachings differently. I am starting to think we need to speak out more in the social arena.

    Travis – I’m glad you liked the post. I do agree about laziness being a big issue, but I also think this has been encouraged historically within most religions, when separate ‘layperson’ traditions developed. These traditions – whether in Christianity, Buddhism, or Hinduism (the three I am the most familiar with) – were generally along the lines of prayer, offerings, and submission to some sort of church or temple authority. The whole idea of ‘spiritual practice’, or of attaining realization oneself, got lost. And the ‘authorities’ in each case, benefited the most. So the ‘laziness’ was really a form of encouraged submission for control purposes.

  30. May 26, 2009 2:50 am

    Good point! The whole layperson thing is built into the old-paradigm about religious effort being able to be done by others which is a carry over from shamanistic practices. And, it flies right in the face of what the Buddha said.

  31. May 26, 2009 6:27 pm

    Lisa, your point about the lack of attention given to alternative interpretations of spirituality is such an important one! Unity, which is part of the Global New Thought movement, embraces these alternative interpretations, and seems to be growing in popularity. The minister at our local Unity Center, Rev. Wendy Craig Purcell, recorded video interviews with Deepak Chopra on his new book, “The Third Jesus” (along the same lines as Oprah did with Eckhart Tolle) and they are getting picked up by PBS to run six times this summer! Talk about getting the word out! I’m really excited to see this happen.

    I think many people who consider themselves “spiritual, but not religious” tend to shy away from vitriolic political and social controversies, wanting to only dwell in a peaceful place. Here’s my take on it. It seems we are being called to up the ante on our individual spiritual practices so that we can maintain our peaceful inner world WHILE PARTICIPATING ACTIVELY in our not-so-peaceful outer world. We bring the inner peace outward. I agree that we need to speak up,(in the thoughtful, compassionate and non-attacking way you have done here),and not be afraid of the backlash. Perhaps this backlash is simply the death throes of a paradigm that is past its prime.
    Cheers!
    Alexis

  32. mommymystic permalink*
    May 27, 2009 2:55 am

    Alexis, There is a lot of momentum in terms of other interpretations of Christianity getting out there, which I’m glad to see. Chopra’s Jesus is a favorite of mine, and The Third Jesus too. I have a lot of family in the midwest though, and sometimes it feels like the ‘movement’ is very isolated – like the country is just getting more and more divided along ‘red’ and ‘blue’ states, in religious terms too. But I am also starting to gravitate towards speaking up more, so maybe there are more of us out there…

  33. anya permalink
    May 31, 2009 2:57 am

    Lisa

    Yes, people with fundamentalist world views see religion as a set of rules rather than about love and wisdom. There’s still plenty of those in this world! Adam Lambert is a magical soul, and inspiring, loving, deep soul – its in his eyes and in his way with others. But there will be those who misunderstand and try to abuse him. I would stand up and fight any of those. Their hate and contraction cannot be allowed to drag this world down more!

  34. June 3, 2009 10:16 am

    Lisa,

    This is -to date- my favorite blog ever. I can see why it is the most popular. You know how sometimes you read something and you give a big sigh because the words are ringing true and they are the words that you’ve been trying to say for a long time and just never quite get it right. You got it right, sister!

  35. mommymystic permalink*
    June 3, 2009 7:55 pm

    Thanks Amy, I’m glad it resonated!

  36. June 3, 2009 9:27 pm

    Human beings sometimes forget that everything happens for good reason. The dialogue sparked by the recent Idol result pertains to a topic that often remains hidden in whispers or relogated to places with closed doors. It is not discussed in public. Why? Fear. Everything is based in love and acceptance or fear and rejection. People tend to avoid what evokes discomfort in themselves. That, in turn, avoids the basis for the deep-seated self judgment in the first place. When a person is unwilling to acknowledge the reasons for restlessness are grounded in misplaced inadequacy, unfounded insecurity or lack of unconditional self-love, the presence of someone who raises all these issues to the surface is not always appreciated.

    Consider the story of how the film Philadelphia gained mixed public reactions, yet Tom Hanks got the best actor Oscar, and how the story of Harvey Milk won the 2009 Oscar for Best Picture. These examples make statements about context of where homosexual topics are emerging to spark new discussions.

    Dialogue is useful insofar as it prompts people to be more honest with themselves about why they feel as they do. As people evolve, they can learn their own reactions to everything teach them valuable points about their own character, traits and evolution. To recognize why you feel as you do is an incredible thing. Once you have the information, the next step is to decide what to do with it- react, or not?!

  37. June 4, 2009 4:58 pm

    This is an intriguing post. It’s Clay Aiken all over again, although we can’t state that Adam is gay, since he hasn’t come out publicly, so we just have to say we believe he’s gay.

    I gave up on organized religions a long time ago, because they have dogmas that don’t make sense, and so many of their adherents are bigots and/or hypocrites. It’s hard to believe that homophobia is a “Christian” belief. Americans, in particular, seem to love to hate anyone who isn’t like themselves. I’m glad that Obama won the presidency for that reason. The more people are exposed to the people they hate, the more chance they have of realizing that they’re just people, like everyone else.

  38. mommymystic permalink*
    June 5, 2009 2:31 am

    Liara and Dot – thanks for adding to the conversation here, this post continues to attract attention, and I sure hope people are reading the comments too, because I think so many were eloquent here, including you two.

  39. liam permalink
    June 7, 2009 4:33 pm

    i find it interesting that we say one is a winner and another one not. I find it clear that Jesus said, to be first we must be last. regardless of who recieved more votes than the other, this was about the number of votes to get the spot. they both are talented, they both will have incredible careers. I will surely by music from both, although Adam is my favorite singer. someone said, we don’t see the world as it is, but as we are….some of us thinks this is about gay versus whatever. this is not about anything. this is the lives of two talented people now in the spotlight that the world wants to observe and judge.
    its only about singing and who the number of people who chose to vote and their votes got through. we make the world more complex and difficult when we believe this is about something else…its about them or its about us. I think its about them. I wish them both success. Namaste

  40. mommymystic permalink*
    June 8, 2009 6:13 pm

    Liam – I would love to agree with you, I would love for it to have been only about the singing. I fear it wasn’t though, however much we would like that to be so. There’s no doubt they will both be successful though, and this gave them the opportunity for that, so more kudos to them…

  41. June 19, 2009 2:08 pm

    Though I am not an idol fan, I agree with your sentiments regarding who won and who did not and how it is a sad commentary on the state of America’s level of consciousness. Deepak Chopra said once that our political leaders are a reflection of where our level of consciousness is collectively. I think the same is true regarding our entertainers. I am encouraged by our recent shift in politics and hope for a shift to take place in what we choose as our entertainment.

    Shifts happen both slowly and quickly. There is a slow progression of small incremental change and then a quick jump at the end. It is the whole critical mass phenomenon I talk about in my book, “the 100th human.”

    I choose to believe that we are making slow incremental shifts away from religion and towards faith and love. I choose to believe that we are close to a major shift or jump in that progress. I choose to believe these things, because I don’t like the alternatives 🙂

    Thanks for the blog, and I continue to follow and btw, sometime rants produce the best stuff.

    Blessings,

    Chris

  42. aleesha permalink
    August 20, 2009 5:20 pm

    This is all so simple: Adam is a Chrystalline/rainbow child. Look it up on google. He is very special.

  43. mommymystic permalink*
    August 24, 2009 1:49 am

    Aleesha – I have read quite a bit of theory on Indigo/Crystal/Rainbow children. The thing that always stumps me though is that many sources claim that by the 1990s, and certainly by now, 80 or 90 percent of people born fall into these groups, so in Adam’s generation, he would not be so unique. And he certainly does seem unique to me, so I tend to attribute it to special abilities – musical and occult – that he has, and think of these as being past-life generated. It doesn’t matter I guess, but he is certainly fascinating to watch, especially energetically. It has been interesting to read some recent reviews of the American Idol tour, in which he really pulls out all the stops. Most reviews have been mixed on all of the other performances, but I haven’t read one bad review of his section yet, and most people say they can’t even find words to express the transformations he makes during his segment. A very unique being.

  44. Aleesha permalink
    December 20, 2009 2:03 am

    Adam Lambert is an advanced rainbow chrystalline child/adult. The most striking characteristic/gift/ability that he exhibits is his integrity and honesty. It shines thro as he speaks and performs. Life is very clear for Adam. He lives reality. He knows who he is, where he came from, why he is here and where he is going. Humans are drawn to truth and authenticity. “the truth sets you free” and Adam knows his truth and lives it. To function at the level that Adam’s left and right brain exhibits in his speech and performances is a gift that many humans may possess but do not know how to practice. Thinking in truth form is so simple it is difficult for fearful people to do…..Adam is a gift to us at a very difficult time in history. He and his music will change the world for the better….

Trackbacks

  1. You Thought the Witch Hunts Were Over? « Taking the Lid off the Sun
  2. American Idol Scandal « Media Lens

I love to hear from you...

