Skip to content

March in Review

April 1, 2009

Well, I had lots of plans about getting my mystic series completed in March, and instead I’ve barely begun, and now it’s already time for my month in review post (again, thanks for the idea and format to Mon at Holistic Mama, although I am considerably more wordy!) If you come here for the spiritual resources, and aren’t interested in my personal updates and mini-rants, then you can skip this one. Come back next week and I promise I will finally get into mysticism more, and particularly the 2nd chakra insights I have been wanting to share.

Summary

On the surface this month was busy with visiting family. Under the surface though, I can feel a transition brewing. Things are about to change – or I am about to change them – but I don’t see what clearly yet. At this point, I know better than to push these things, as I will only mess it up if I try. So we’ll see where it all goes….

Fun

My birthday – I turned 42! Didn’t think much about it one way or the other, although had a nice day. My daughter did ask me if I was too old to do a carthwheel however, so I gave it a try. I’m not. But it HURT!! Decided I’m Ok with the idea that my cartwheel days are over. Age has other compensations (like I increasingly don’t give a hoot what anyone else thinks of me.)

Cousins together – With all the family in town, the kids got to play with 9 different cousins, 5 of which they only see once  year. It was so much fun to watch. Now that they are old enough to really play, family gatherings have a whole new energy and fun – and I don’t require quite so much wine to survive them. (Plus I got some inspiration for my spiritual parenting post out of it.)

Disneyland – Said cousins of course wanted to go to Disneyland. So I vowed to comply and enjoy myself no matter what. Keep in mind that I don’t like crowds. Or pirates. Or rides that spin. Or princesses. Especially princesses (for a subversive princess story, check out Princess Smarytpants.) But I vowed to practice my best Non-Judgment and Acceptance of What Is. For the most part I succeeded. The Tiki Room and Jungle Cruise are my favorite, because they rely on atmosphere and not thrills. Of course It’s A Small World is also a beautiful classic. But I’m sad to say that Disney corp is shameless and has inserted several Disney characters into it during a recent renovation. The Aloha room now contains Lilo and Stitch, Nemo, and – most shameless of all – Ariel ‘the little mermaid’. To which my daugher responded, “Mermaids live in Hawaii?!? I didn’t even know they were real!”

Interviewing Cyndi Dale – Who needs a salary? To interview authors of books that I like is manna from heaven for me, and all the compensation I require (DH is not quite so certain on this point, but supportive.) Needless to say, I am pursuing more interview targets for both here and BellaOnline.

Planting a vegetable garden (see picture below) – In a burst of uncharacteristic domestic ambitions, DH and I decided to create a container vegetable garden on our patio. Do opposums eat bell peppers and tomatoes? We will find out, as they are the primary wild critter in these parts. The kids loved this project – mostly the digging and watering. Especially the watering – who needs toys? Just hand them a hose.

Challenging

Saying good-bye to visiting family 😦

Homeowners Hell – We rent in CA, but built a home in the desert southwest that we rent out part-time and hope to live in full-time someday. The homeowners association was only recently handed over to the homeowners from the developer, and DH was talked into joining as VP by a well-meaning neighbor. Thus began yet another version of the Oldest Story Known to Humanity. Like always, it started with a small disagreement between two people (DH was not involved.) But egos arose, tempers flared, and volatile things were said. The disagreement became a war. Battle lines were drawn. Allies were sought. All subsequent disagreements were seen through the lens of this initial encounter. Both sides now react to anything that occurs as if nothing less than the world as we know it is at stake. Believing this way justifies all their self-righteousness. Eventually the President resigned in protest. Now poor DH is at the center of all the animosity. Ugh…

Thoughtful

I have finally organized the blogs I read, and added some new ones. Soon I will try and update my blogroll and maybe do a favorites and gratitudes post (so many post ideas, so little time.) But all this reading of great blogs (and books) can leave me with a bit of a writer’s identity crises – feeling like I have nothing new or unique to say. I’ve worked through this in teaching before, as everything about spirituality has already been said by someone at some point in history. I really don’t just want to be tooting my own horn – my original intent for this blog was as a resource. So I am contemplating what I can really add to the conversation. Not that I have such grand ambitions, but I think this is part of the transition I am feeling –  a refocusing on topics and themes that I have a knack for communicating, without worrying about how many people will be interested.

An insight/thought

Have been rewatching Discovery’s Planet Earth series. Stupendous. There is no way to watch this series without feeling completely in awe of nature and its amazing power, efficiency, and ability to adapt. Since the series focuses on ecosystems that are relatively untouched by humans, it also drives home the point that we (humans) are most definitely not the center of existence. Changing our ways on this planet is not about saving the earth – it will do just fine without us, thank you – but about saving our ability to exist here. I say that only because I do think some commentators, particularly politicians, come off like this is some great magnanimous act on our part, continuing – in a twisted way – the delusion that we are at the center of the universe. The truth is very humbling.

Website/blog Find

A StumbleUpon buddy sent me this link on Tantric Buddhism, which gets particularly interesting about halfway down in the ‘Mother Lineage’ section. This is the only Tantric linege I have found that honors family life and mothers –  in most Tantric lineages motherhood is considered too much of a drain on a woman’s life force for them to pursue this path. So I have been trying to learn more, partly for my 2nd chakra series, but the actual sites for the current practitioners of this lineage don’t mention it and are quite boring. Will see if I can find anything more….

Words

Got this off Twitter (see, it’s not a total waste of time) – “Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.” ~Dr. Seuss

Favourite Tip/Idea from web

Kiva.org – Not new, but I finally made a loan, to a dressmaker in Tanzania. This is a fascinating site, and the organization is very well-respected. I was reminded of it by BellaOnline, which donates ads to Kiva, and many other charities. FYI – no one at BellaOnline takes any salaries, all ad income beyond what is needed to pay for the servers goes to charity. So feel free to just go there and randomly click on ads – you are in effect donating to BellaOnlines charities.

Slice of home

Urban gardening…I know this may look sad to those of you that actually live in the country, but we are very pleased with it!

dscf1952

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2009 7:18 am

    I keep meaning to check what’s going on astrologically because transitions seem to be a popular pasttime right now! I find crochet is a lot easier, lol

    Disneyland and neighbour wars – I would struggle with both. Poor hubby.

    We borrowed the PE series and have been re-watching it as well. We must get it for ourselves because it’s too fabulous. The LO loves the animal bits.

    I think your container garden looks just great. Yes, kids love gardening!

    Do I have you on twitter? Must check.

    Great to read about you month.

  2. April 1, 2009 10:57 am

    Great roundup! Happy (belated) birthday. A Pisces…I know some beautiful Piscean souls.

    Quite a month full of challenges. Lots going on for you.

    Love the gardening – planters look fab.

  3. Carin permalink
    April 1, 2009 1:00 pm

    The PE series is great. I love it too, and so does my daughter.

    The planters look great. We need to do quite a lot of container gardening too. Laughed at the kids’ watering the plants thing. Check my month in review to see why lol

    Recognise the feeling of not thinking I have anything new to add. I have deliberately not talked about a spiritual subject close to my heart on my blog for that very reason, yet I think it’s one of my major jobs on this earth to “get out there”. Odd!

  4. April 1, 2009 9:31 pm

    Two things:

    First of all, Happy Happy Birthday. Are you an Aries by any chance?? I loved what you said about “not giving a hoot” about what anyone else thinks of you!

    Secondly, whatever your intenntion was for this blog, I like the personal stuff. It makes me feel as if you are human, suffering and joyous just as we all are.

    I also love The Jungle ride, Tiki Room, and It’s a Small World. It’s been ages since I’ve been to Disneyland, but we will finally take our then 3.5 yr daughter there this summer.

  5. mommymystic permalink*
    April 2, 2009 2:51 am

    Mermaid – I’m a Pisces, but I actually have lots of Aries too! I’m glad you like the personal stuff. So far, that is the feedback I have gotten – that it makes me seem more ‘human’. Which sort of stunned me when someone wrote that, because what did I come off like before?? I think I am just very theoretical/mental oriented, so the headiness can be a little distancing in print. So doing these personal updates once a month hopefully balances it out a bit…thx for your comments.

  6. Eloquent Bohemian permalink
    April 6, 2009 10:26 pm

    Hi…
    Love your garden. I envy people who can grow things. I don’t have a ‘green thumb’ at all.

    I didn’t know that BellaOnline’s ads went to charity. This is admirable.

    I share your dislike of crowds and rides which spin, come to think of it, just about any rides. 🙂
    I am not a fan of the Disneylands either, or many other theme parks.

    And ‘neighbour wars’… why can’t we all just get along and keep the egos out of it. *sigh*

    As for the astrological references in the replies above, and you mentioning being a Pisces (…happy birthday), read my recent post on my blog (Apr. 6th). I have studied Astrology since ’96 and practiced it since mid ’97. Just recently, I realised something which altered everything about it.

I love to hear from you...

