Skip to content

BellaOnline, Belief-o-Matic, Contagious Happiness, Interfaith Calendar

December 23, 2008

With the holidays coming up, I thought I would just do a misc. post with some little things that might be of interest.

First of all, I wanted to mention that I have recently become the new Buddhism site editor for BellaOnline. BellaOnline is the second-largest women’s site on the web (in terms of traffic), and the only major one not commercially owned. All the writers and management are volunteers, including each of the site editors for their 400+ topics. Although I am still officially in training, I have posted my first two articles, and will be adding at least an article a week going forward, as well as revamping the various site categories and external links. If you are interested in Buddhism, check it out at http://www.bellaonline.com/site/buddhism, or check out some of the other articles in the Religion and Spirituality category.

I will of course continue to post here on more general spiritual topics, especially on issues of women’s spirituality, women mystics, motherhood and spirituality, spiritual books, and meditation.

Ok, now for fun. If you are interested in having your faith tested (literally), consider taking Beliefnet’s Belief-O-Matic quiz. This funky test asks you 20 religious/spiritual questions regarding your beliefs (or lack of), practices, and views on certain social issues. Based on your answers,  it spits out a list of practically every major religion and spiritual tradition there is (and some I am not so sure exist) and tells you what percentage of your answers matched each one. The idea is to match you with traditions most compatible with you.

In the interest of disclosure, I will tell you my top and bottom five:

1.     Neo-Pagan  (100%)
2.     New Thought (96%)
3.     New Age (94%)
4.     Scientology (94%)
5.     Mahayana Buddhism (94%)

23.     Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)  (19%)
24.     Eastern Orthodox (19%)
25.     Roman Catholic (19%)
26.     Seventh Day Adventist (15%)
27.     Jehovah’s Witness (6%)

The bottom five were not a surprise, as they represent the most conservative Christian religions. However, I was surprised to find out I was a Neo-Pagan, and a potential Scientologist! I think the interfaith nature of my beliefs contributed to that. The last time I did this test, Mahayana Buddhism was number one, which makes the most sense to me, although I think this time the question weighting system they recently introduced changed my results, because I rated reincarnation questions as lower in relevance. Anyway, it does make you think.

Another interesting thing to check out is a recent study reported in Time magazine on the contagious nature of happiness. Leave it to social scientists to prove what seems perfectly obvious to anyone involved in consciousness fields. But this is interesting to me because it is a tangible example of our connectivity, and of how we all have an opportunity to impact each other positively every moment.

Finally, one of the women on my Religious Roundtable forum on Cafemom recently posted this Interfaith Calendar, which lists holidays year round in virtually every religious tradition. If you are into such things, it is quite interesting.

Have a wonderful holiday week, I’ll post one more time in 2008!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2008 10:59 am

    All the best with bella-online.

    I do the beloef-o-matic quiz about twice a year for fun. I always have a different result, although roughly along the same lines. The last time I did it, i also got scientolgy on my top 5!!

    I think for people who are very open in their beliefs, in other words have a spiritual but barely, if any, religious approach, have the weirdest results.

    I love it when scientists perform these experiments of the bleeding obvious. LOL

  2. December 24, 2008 3:06 am

    What great news you have shared here, MM. I am so happy to hear about Bella Online. I think you’re perfect for the job! I’ll check in with you there.

    Holiday blessings to you!

  3. December 25, 2008 3:32 am

    Excellent content here and a nice writing style too – keep up the great work!

  4. December 26, 2008 6:35 pm

    Hi Lisa:

    I ran across your articles at http://www.ezinearticles.com. I have scanned over your blog on the world’s religions and you have not covered the Faithist religion or Oahspe. This is not criticism to you at all, but I cannot understand why so many people, who study all major religions, miss the most important one of all and the oldest religion on earth. The Faithist religion is thousands of years older than all other religions known to man.

    The Faithist Bible, Oahspe, was published in 1882 but other Faithist Bibles were in existence, off and on, for the past many thousands of years and have been corrupted down through the centuries.

    Oahspe is a Faithist Bible, written by God Himself, when He used a medium named John Ballou Newbrough – as Newbrough sat at a typewriter early in the morning for a solid year. God used “lines of spiritual light” like our modern lasers, that shown down from Heaven to move Newbrough’s hands. Newbrough did not even know how to use a typewriter himself, let alone write the greatest book on earth today.

    All books ever written have a bibliography to show where the author got the information to write their books. Any person who even reads Oahspe can plainly see that the information in Oahspe comes from some other source completely unknown to any author on earth. To me this is the most shocking thing about Oahspe. God Himself, says in Oahspe, that what He is writing about, comes from the libraries in Heaven.

    You were raised a Christian and went on to Buddhism and then to all major religious study. I was raised a Christian and went on to anything I could get my hands on, of a spiritual nature. I got into studying reincarnation and my sister told me not to study that because it wasn’t in the bible. I told her she watched television and that wasn’t in the bible.

    To any person like yourself, who is studying all the major religions on earth, to leave Oahspe out of the picture, is like a baker that has no oven. Now don’t get mad at me for saying that. You have a black belt. I am just trying to help you realize that you are leaving out the most fascinating book on religion you can ever read. When I started reading Oahspe, it was like going through the most fascinating castle in the world where, when going from room to room, it became more and more wonderful as I went along.

    If I don’t shorten this post, I will end up writing a book, so here are some related links you can check out if you wish. Have a nice day.

    http://more-oahspe.blogspot.com/

    http://www.angelfire.com/ia/faithist/

    http://www.sacred-texts.com/oah/index.htm

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oahspe

    http://robertbayer.tripod.com/oahspequotations/

    http://www.angelfire.com/in2/oahspe3/

    http://archives.nmsu.edu/exhibits/shalam2/shalam2.html

    http://oahspe.blogspot.com/

    http://charlotte–church.blogspot.com/

    Sincerely, Donald Ballard

I love to hear from you...

