Skip to content

Breaking Silence and Upcoming Events

April 16, 2014

Breaking Silence

“To not have your suffering recognized is an almost unbearable form of violence.” – Andrei Lankov

April is National Sexual Assault Awareness month, and for me this month is really about breaking silence and facing that which we usually push aside. So much of the suffering that sexual abuse and assault survivors experience is due to the discomfort of those around them, and from our culture at large. Often the prevailing message is to keep quiet, not make waves, and move on. The underlying pain, betrayal, shame, rage, and fear is left untended.

In what remains of April, I urge you to help redress this balance in some small way. Perhaps consider a donation to a charity that works to combat sexual violence or aid survivors (VDay and The Breathe Network are two of my favorites.) Perhaps let an assault or abuse survivor in your life know that you care. Or perhaps you can show your solidarity in another way – by vowing to face something in yourself that you have pushed aside, left untended, or unhealed. We all have such parts of ourselves, and when we surface and speak them they begin to lose their power. We begin to heal, and as we heal ourselves, we heal the world.

In the spirit of this, I found a poem to share called ‘Breaking Silence’, that I feel speaks powerfully to this theme. But first, a few offerings this month, several of which are related to National Sexual Assault Awareness month:

  • I will be offering Meditate Like a Girl’s FREE monthly guided meditation next Tuesday the 22nd. The theme is ‘Spring is Here’, and we will tap into the energies of spring in nature, and our chakras, to connect with the energy of rebirth available now. Click here to register (you can listen live or by recording after the fact.)

Note that also at Meditate Like a Girl I am continuing my Chakra Meditation series by introducing a 12-Chakra meditation, based on the 12-chakra system from Cyndi Dale. The article includes a free guided meditation, as the other articles in this series have. Enjoy!

  • Related to National Sexual Assault Awareness month, tune into Diantha Harris’ Life Potentials Radio Show next Thursday night, April 24th (or listen to the recording afterwards) to hear Diantha interview both myself and Molly Harris (founder of The Breathe Network) in a show entitled “Identity and Empowerment After Sexual Trauma.” We will be discussing many powerful topics including the pros and cons of words like ‘victim’ and ‘survivor’, the role of body-based modalities in healing trauma, and the very complicated, often fraught topic of forgiveness.
  • Also offered free this month by The Breathe Network is Understanding Trauma and the Body by Lara Veon on Friday April 25th. This is the first of a series of offerings by The Breathe Network to educate healing practitioners and trauma survivors about holistic ways of working with trauma.

In honor of this month I have also created new, better-quality, versions of the audio files that accompany my free Ebook Healing the Subtle Body Wounds of Sexual Trauma. I’ll be updating the book itself soon too, but for now, at least the recordings are more usable. (And if you have utilized this Ebook and found it beneficial, please consider reviewing it on Amazon, Ibooks, Smashwords, Goodreads or anywhere else it appears. Thank you!)

I hope you find these offerings useful, and that you consider ways to break through your own silence this spring.

Breaking Silence

Had I; reached so far
Can’t sense pain anymore
With my heart ajar
Dragging my sinking ship to shore

A warrior; I’ve been
Battled with words through thick and thin
With my existence being my only sin
I forged a war within.

Hatred imbued minds
Deeper than depression, longer than loneliness
With me and my dark side
My mind; a voice in utter mess

A voyage; self discovery
Out of this cold paralysed dark
Leaving behind a trail of memories
So sore, so stark

There’s a voice within
Unheard and unknown
My only saviour, my kin
Saying I’m not forlorn

This place, this silence
Had scared me for long
However this violence
Nurtured a heart so strong

This voice shall break silence
The silence of my sorrow
Let it roar, let it show
The years of being hollow

This voice shall rise above
From the shackles of cruelty
To preach the bosses; meaning of love
To give strength to plurality

- Karan Tripathi
4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2014 3:17 am

    Yes, please to breaking the silence. What I have found in my personal journey is that each time I choose to share my experience, someone comes forward to share theirs. The action of speaking it out (or expressing via creating in some way) moves “stuck energy’ and opens space for healing. Thank you for the work that you do and for all that you share.

  2. April 17, 2014 7:11 pm

    Joy, “The action of speaking it out (or expressing via creating in some way) moves “stuck energy’ and opens space for healing” – so true, right? Sometimes we don’t even need to do anything more than this – once it’s been expressed it’s unstuck. Really amazing when you think about it. And thank you for bringing up creating, because for so many people expressing through mediums other than language is the the most helpful…

  3. April 21, 2014 1:53 am

    I just read a great Martin Luther King quote that ties into this theme as well, “Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter most.”

  4. April 25, 2014 2:25 am

    It may take me awhile but I always read your posts! I have spent the past year in intense therapy, the past month in particular, addressing many things that were “hidden,” going deeper into feelings of sexual abuse not actually experienced in this life time. The way energy works is fascinating, and I am moving into a new way of living in this body. We each must heal to heal others.

I love to hear from you...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,750 other followers

