Skip to content

Summer Book Shares

August 2, 2013

It’s the heart of summer (in my hemisphere anyway) and as you can see I’ve been taking it easy on the blogging front, but I did want to share some wonderful books that I’ve come across recently, for both children and adults.

However, first a little ‘housecleaning’ – as you may have heard, Google shut down Google Reader earlier this month. When I first began blogging 5+ years ago, I initially linked to Google Reader for all subscriptions, including email subscriptions. So if you were an early subscriber, and if you happen to have come by this post through some other means today, please take a moment to resubscribe over in the right sidebar.  And in another Google related change, Gmail is now sending a lot of newsletter and blog/site subscriptions to a ‘Promotions’ folder. If you are a Gmail user, you may want to check your Promotions folder and mark your subscriptions as non-Promotion so that they are not grouped with spam.

Ok, nWonderow that that is taken care of, on to books! My favorite read this summer is actually a young adult book called Wonder, by R.J. Palacio. Although this book was released in 2012, it’s had a slow, steady build (the best kind) and has recently gotten a lot of new press, so perhaps you have heard of it. It is about a 10-year old boy with a major facial disfigurement heading to school for the first time – to middle school no less. We learn about his first school year, with all its trials and tribulations, from his perspective and the perspectives of his family and friends. The author has called it a ‘meditation on kindness’ and that is really what it is – a very moving, tear-inducing one, at that. I think it’s a wonderful read for adults and children (8+ or so) alike.

InTheGardenOfOurMindsAlso for children is In the Garden of Our Minds, by Michelle L. Johnson Weider. This book is a great way for anyone to learn about Buddhism, particularly Tibetan Buddhism, although it is geared for elementary-aged children. It revolves around the daily life of a family with two school-aged children, and in each chapter their mother, or ‘Mama’, uses the events of their lives as a way to introduce them to a Buddhist teaching. I’ve published a full review at BellaOnline if you’d like more information.

LifeAfterLifeFor adults this summer I really enjoyed Life After Life by Kate Atkinson. As the title suggests, this novel revolves around a character who lives again and again. However, it’s not quite reincarnation, as she is born into the same lifetime over and over – a pre WWI British home – but depending on tiny twists of fate, or choices that she makes after, each life plays out slightly differently. It sounds like it might be repetitive, but it is carried off so brilliantly that I didn’t find it so at all – in fact I found it a real page-turner, but with lots to ruminate on too. Not everyone agrees with me on this though, as you’ll notice if you check out the Amazon reviews, so you might want to check out some of those for more info before committing.

SexualHealingOn the healing front, the 3rd edition of Wendy Maltz’s excellent The Sexual Healing Journey: A Guide for Survivors of Sexual Abuse  was recently released. This is really a step-by-step self-help book for anyone working through sexual healing issues, and is not just for survivors of explicit physical sexual abuse. It is very compassionate and all-encompassing, and has long been on the Resource list of my own e-book, so if  you are an abuse survivor and ready to focus on reclaiming your own sexuality, consider this book.

I also wanted to let you know about two new releases from authors I personally know and whose work I greatly respect. The first is The Subtle Body Practice Manual by healer and intuitive Cyndi Dale. I first came across Cyndi’s work when reviewing her The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy, which has become the gold standard of energy healing resources. This new book is a companion to that book, oriented more around applying the information, and it’s written in such a way that anyone interested in energy healing can learn and experiment with the techniques that she shares.

Also releasing this month is Janice Lynne Lundy’s The Mindful Mommy’s Back to School Survival Guide. I haven’t yet had a chance to read this, but am so looking forward to it. Jan is the founder and editor of Meditate Like a Girl, and I have benefited from her wisdom for years. She has been a mother for 31 years and has so much to share! As she puts it:

Life is short, our children grow too quickly for us to live any other way but gracefully and gratefully, with mindfulness and kindness at the core.”

She currently has a promotional offer going, and will also be conducting a mentoring conference call on this topic in September, so check it out.

And speaking of Meditate Like a Girl, the August edition is up, and in it I have continued my chakra guided meditation series with The Throat Chakra: Finding Your Voice.

I hope you are having a wonderful summer (or winter if you are down under!) and I look forward to getting back to blogging in earnest in late August.

In Peace.

Lisa

P.S. Thanks to all of you whom have shared posts and resources from here on Facebook and Twitter. I can see the ‘counts’ on posts when this occurs, but don’t have any way of tracing who has done so unless you tag me. But I always appreciate the shares!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Bhakti permalink
    August 2, 2013 3:43 am

    Thanks! life after life is on my list!

  2. justyn permalink
    August 2, 2013 1:31 pm

    Hi Lisa, thanks for the recommendations. I worked through the Sexual Healing book at one point and it was really helpful…

  3. August 3, 2013 12:28 pm

    I recently picked up one of Cyndi Dale’s books published in 2006, Attracting Your Perfect Body Through the Chakras, and was amazed at how accurate her quiz was in picking out my strong chakras, with tips on how to use them to better your body and your life. A valuable addition to anyone’s library. I’ll soon be posting my review of it on Becca’s Inspirational Book Blog at http://www.BeccaChopra.com.

  4. Nikki permalink
    August 3, 2013 1:55 pm

    I recently heard an interview with the author of Wonder, sounds great. Thanks for the suggestions.

  5. August 9, 2013 2:35 pm

    Hi Becca, that’s great, I will be sure to check that out when I return from vacation. I have not read that one actually.

  6. August 13, 2013 1:46 am

    Thanks for this list of good books. Your reviews really do help.

  7. October 7, 2013 11:45 pm

    Yes! It’s so exciting to put new books on my to-read list. I have a young niece, so I’m especially excited about the first two as possible reads for her as well. It’s been a long time since I’ve read any non-fiction on self-healing and meditating. Thanks!

I love to hear from you...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,725 other followers

