Skip to content

2013, Year of the {You Fill In!} – BOOK GIVEAWAY

December 20, 2012

Hi all, last year for New Year’s I did my first ever (and only to date) blog giveaway, including offerings by Cyndi Dale, Gangaji, and Tsultrim Allione as my way of thanking all of you for your readership and sharings here. I decided to do the same this year, as truly I am amazed by, and so grateful for, the wonderful people, teachings, and connections this blog continues to bring into my life through you.

In last year’s post, I talked about 2012 as the Year of the Enlightened Feminine. This year, as I started to contemplate what 2013 might be the ‘Year of’, I realized there were a lot of competing ‘seeings’ in my mind. It’s been an intense year for almost everyone I know personally, and certainly an intense one in terms of social, political, and cultural events. We have seen great light and great dark, both breakdowns and breakthroughs, on every level. The Mayan Calendar predictions have sparked ideas about paradigm shifts, ascensions, rebirths, and planetary energetic restructurings (to name just a few interpretations.)

I decided I didn’t want to just add my voice to all of that, but would prefer to hear from all of you – what do you think 2013 is about – for you, for the planet, or for all? What do you hope it is about? What do you wish for it? To enter the giveaway, all you need to do is write a sentence (or more!) about this, and if you like add a blessing – something you would like to send out to the world as we turn this new page in our time here together.

Everyone who does so before midnight on December 31st PST will be entered in the drawing for the book giveaway. I will draw 3 names, and the first name will get the first book, the second name the second book, etc. No choosing books – you will just have to trust you get the right one if you win:-) You don’t have to use your real name when commenting, but do be sure to include your email address (which does not show to anyone but me) so that I can email you should you win. I will not use your email for anything else (as my daughters would say, “pinkie promise!”)

As for the books themselves, they are all favorite finds of mine this year. The first and last are 2012 new releases, while the second is just new to me. All three giveaway copies are brand new, just for you:

The Female BuddhaThe Female Buddha: Discovering the Heart of Liberation and Love, by Deborah Bowman. A beautiful and contemplative photography book pairing images of Kuan Yin from around the world with quotes by women Buddhist teachers, from the Buddha’s time to the present. I just reviewed this book at BellaOnline if you would like to read more about it. Here is one of the many lovely passages included, this one paired with a beautiful photograph of a Kuan Yin statue from a Japanese cemetery:

“I still recall, how with my bag on a pole,
I forgot my yesterdays,
Wandering the hills, played in the waters,
went to the land of the clouds.
The lift of an eyebrow, the blink of an eye–
all of it is samadhi;
In this great world there is nowhere that is not a wisdom hall.”

- Ziyong, 18th-century Chinese Buddhist nun

Awakening Osiris

Awakening Osiris: The Egyptian Book of the Dead, by Normandi Ellis. This is a beautiful, poetic rendering of the Egyptian Book of the Dead, which as the author points out, was actually called ‘The Book of Coming Forth by Day” by the Ancient Egyptians. This version highlights the lyrical language and imagery, and the text as a spiritual guide for the living, not simply a funerary text for the dead. Here are some sample quotes to give you a taste of this unique offering:

“Not a perfect soul, I am perfecting. Not a human being, I am a human becoming.”

“Name yourself in your heart and know who you are.”

“My body is but wax and wick for flame. When the candle burns out, the light shines elsewhere.”

“In the beat of a heart, the suck of a breath, you are the universe.”

Creating On PurposeCreating on Purpose: The Spiritual Technology of Manifesting Through the Chakras, by Anodea Judith and Lion Goodman. How could I not include a chakra book, with that being one of the main tools I have written about this year? I love this book  because it offers tools for working with the ‘downward’ path of the chakras – the path of manifesting from vision (upper chakras) down into reality (lower chakras.) This is the complement to the ‘upward path’, represented by spiritual traditions that emphasize the raising of the kundalini from the root to the crown. Here is the author’s own description:

“Two powerful evolutionary forces are at work simultaneously — one from the top down, and the other from the bottom up. Spirit, or the light of consciousness, is evolving downward into embodiment, infusing matter with Spirit. At the same time, matter is evolving upward into Spirit, into conscious awareness. You are the rainbow bridge that ties these two forces together. You stand between heaven and earth as both a co-creation of these two forces and a co-creator with these two forces. You are being trained to be a more capable co-creator with the Universe. You have the ability to draw down your own vision of what you want to create in your life and to manifest it here in the physical world.”

Three very different, but equally wonderful, books. So remember, to enter, just comment with your own thoughts on what 2013 represents, and add a blessing for the world too if you wish…

Namaste, and I wish you a light and love-filled Solstice, Holiday, and New Year.

———————————–

[EDIT - New Year's Day 2013] AND THE WINNERS ARE…

photo-1Thanks to all for sharing their thoughts on 2013! And may all your blessings and wishes come true…

40 Comments leave one →
  1. starlight permalink
    December 20, 2012 1:39 am

    Let’s get this started! They all look like wonderful books. I think your title, with 2013, Year of [fill in the blank] is the perfect way to think about 2013. It is open-ended. We are being offered the opportunity to embrace a new way of being. And that is my wish and blessing for the world too – that we will take this opportunity to create a more sustainable, loving, planet.

  2. December 20, 2012 2:00 am

    Lisa…

    2013 – Year of being supported by the universe

    Blessing:

    “Those who are certain of the outcome can afford to wait, and wait without anxiety” – Gabrielle Bernstein

  3. Jamie permalink
    December 20, 2012 2:35 am

    2013 – Year of Heart

    Blessing- May all beings feel safe. May all beings be happy. May all beings know peace. May all beings feel loved.

  4. December 20, 2012 2:49 am

    For me personally, 2013 will be about my own self-care. For the world, I feel that 2013 will be about all of us moving to a heart-centred space of being and living.

    I wish for inner peace, health and happiness for us all.

  5. December 20, 2012 4:28 am

    ‘I feel that as we walk through the 2012 gateway, 2013 will be the year that we all experience a re-birthing. It’s been really hard for all of us for a long time, culminating in world economic crashes and natural disasters in which ordinary people like us have had to re-evaluate who we are and how we think. We’ve lost a lost and the personality has been stripped of some old beliefs. 2013 will be about renewal and rebuilding, a new self, a new earth.We will see it in politics and in our own lives’ This is my prediction and my prayer all in one.

  6. Anonymous permalink
    December 20, 2012 6:10 am

    What a great idea! I just got back from dropping my daughter off at the airport. She’s on her way to Australia and will be gone for Christmas. So I will say off the top of my head that this is the year of new experiences. Of being brave and being careful, full of caring. This will be expressed through doing things which our hearts are crying out for us to do but our heads are holding us back. It will be expressed, and it is now, over facebook, as we all continue to share what moves us in joyful and frightening ways. Happy New Year, everyone! May the longtime sun shine upon us, but not too close…

  7. December 20, 2012 7:48 am

    Yea! Book Giveaway!

    2013 to me symbolizes new creation, new understandings, new selves, A rebirth of sorts, which a lot of clarity on the choices we make to create our lives and many changes occurring because of the self-responsibility and new choices we make.

  8. December 20, 2012 3:31 pm

    Anonymous – come back! You didn’t leave your email for me to contact you if you win. You can email me privately if you wish at lameditation [at] earthlink [dot] net, or enter a new comment but this time include your email in the email field (it won’t show here to the public.) Thanks!

    To everyone else – love your thoughts and blessings, keep them coming:-)

  9. December 20, 2012 4:00 pm

    Thanks, Lisa. 2013 feels like huge Transformations, supported by the Universe, towards living more authentically and in healthy and inspired ways. Caring for the Self will become ever more central to caring for others.

  10. Taurean Mermaid permalink
    December 20, 2012 4:29 pm

    Ooh, I’m excited about these books! I am also very enthusiastic about 2013. So much healing and empowerment has taken place within me, and it has largely been a result of my own “dark night of the soul”, of turning inward and entering the tomb so that I can face my shadows, die to my old self and be reborn. My hope is that the coming year will bring everyone the courage, strength and desire to do so for themselves, and be reminded of how brave, beautiful and full of possibility they truly are.

    My blessing for the world is that they are moved and inspired by nature and the poetry of silence.

  11. December 20, 2012 5:21 pm

    for me, 2013 and the new age we’re entering into with the december 21st shift (tomorrow!) is all about creating a baseline level of abundance. i believe that to truly evolve, human beings need to find a way for everyone to have their survival needs met. we can’t focus on learning and creating if we’re afraid we won’t be able to eat next month. or if we’re stuck doing work we don’t believe in and don’t enjoy, just to make ends meet. i believe in the west this starts with ending our dependency on consumption. i believe 2013 is the year of ‘less is more’…..using less resources, taking up less space, creating less waste, and finally ending the addiction to consumption and spending money on things we don’t need! at first this might feel scary. bubbles will burst….college education will become too expensive for many, for example. but this will open up new kinds of creating and learning, outside of an institutional structure like the university. people will take gaining knowledge into their own hands more. credit will be very difficult to come by, which will be tough at first…but it will force us to live within our means. things that don’t serve us as a whole, meaning the entire world, will start to fade away. energy will become more expensive; and we will become more conscious of how we use it. there will be growing pains. but in order for the world to become more level socio economically, and therefore for each human to evolve to a place where they are living in love and with purpose and joy, we need to make do with less. and realize that happiness comes from fulfilling work, deep connections to loved ones, and strong community.
    so 2013 is all about overcoming fear, and pursuing true joy and fulfillment, awareness, and self sufficiency. i plan on bringing this into my own life by focusing on finding work i love (i’m just starting out post-college), being purposeful with my resources, and clearing out everything that i don’t need, whether it’s a physical object, mental pattern, emotional block, toxic relationship….no more excess. simplify, and be happy! that’s my mantra this year.

  12. Nikki permalink
    December 20, 2012 5:47 pm

    I hope 2013 is the Year of the Earth. For too long we have treated her with disrespect, taking and taking. It is time to change our ways and give back. I hope it’s not too late! My blessing is a thank you to the earth for supporting us for this long.
    -Nikki

  13. Taurean Mermaid permalink
    December 20, 2012 6:45 pm

    Also, thank you for a great Solstice preparation at Yoga Bindu last night. I must admit that I nodded off a bit toward the end (though not due to boredom) and had some very strange dreams in those few minutes. When I came to, my mind was calm and ready to focus, but my body was so restless I had to restrain it from getting up and moving all around. Not sure what that was about—perhaps some small part of me still wants to hang onto all my old junk and was trying to put up a fight :-)

  14. December 20, 2012 9:49 pm

    Many years ago, a psychic told me we were all here on the Earth at this time to learn to love ourselves. I hope that 2013 is the Year of Unconditional Love for Ourselves (it all begins with us) and for Others. Thank you for your wonderful writings throughout the year – I look forward to your wise words in the New Year.
    Namaste!
    Becca Chopra
    http://www.thechakras.org

  15. December 21, 2012 12:28 pm

    I wasn’t there when these prophecies were written. (Well, I don’t remember, anyway. lol!) I study nature. Everything in the natural world renews itself, on some level. Each day brings new things to our lives and this world. Nothing stays the same; change is inevitable.

    I don’t know what will happen. All I know is it’s time for a ‘cool change’, as in the lyrics of the old song I grew up with. I stopped reading and watching the news many years ago. Today, I can’t go to my email account without being bombarded by devastating news. I can’t let the hopelessness be my focus. For my own sanity I have to believe thigns will get better.

    I’d like to see love. That’s what I want for the new year. I want people to be so filled with love for themselves, this planet, and others that we’ll no longer have to suffer at our own hands. All hungry people will be fed, crime will stop, pain will be relieved without side effects and huge bills, our earth will heal itself, our spirits will heal.

    It can happen. I know it sounds unrealistic. Without hope and dreams, we’re nothing.

  16. December 21, 2012 10:01 pm

    2013 is something about ‘coming of age’ for me and my wish for the world is love!
    Thank you for all your hard work this year and for being a wonderful teacher.
    love kate

  17. December 22, 2012 4:54 pm

    2013 – Year of my Inner Ascendency (: from Source to Zero Point and Back Again :)

    Prayers for expanded awareness directly from Source, deep within; to Zero Point on the outer extreme.

  18. December 24, 2012 5:13 am

    I rarely check the dates and days I am living.Giving acomment on the year 2013,Quite a
    feat.Compassion,for those who suffer,the end of the war in the Middle East.May all the NOWS be filled with whatever is good for each son and daughther of the Universe.
    loong

  19. Angie Pepiot permalink
    December 26, 2012 2:21 am

    2013–The Year of Emergence. 2012 plunged so many of us into darkness, but I have seen numerous people recognizing the potential for spiritual growth in that darkness. We’ve done the work–time to step out of the cave and share our treasures!

    My blessing–my wish is for all beings to understand that it is more important and productive to focus on the ways we are alike than the ways we are different.

  20. December 27, 2012 11:45 am

    Really appreciate your focus this past year. And it is helpful for me to have a think about what this new year will be for me. 2013–the year of deep connections with natural seasons and cycles. Really trying to stay focused on the power of the natural world to heal the inner world.

    Elemental blessings to all–fire’s passion and transformation, earth’s centeredness, air’s consistent presence, and water’s rebirth.

    Happy New Year.

  21. December 31, 2012 4:42 pm

    Thanks to all for your thoughts and wishes for 2013, they are inspiring to read. To those who haven’t yet – it’s not too late!

  22. December 31, 2012 4:53 pm

    I love ‘being late’ to this party because the comments are enlivening…words sharing so much potential, hope, and faith for this coming year. Beautiful!

    I feel 2013 is the Year of Becoming…anything, everything, nothing…whatever it is your heart wishes, in resonance and alignment, is truly possible…as evidenced by the above comments, the wishes vary, and they may evolve as we individually and collectively evolve, yet they are possible…

    A blessing: May each step you take be one of celebration and love…may you experience the knowing that you are loved and appreciated, as you are, in this moment, and may you feel the energy of Love as you connect and create.

    Thank you, Lisa, for all that you share! Happy Day!

  23. Toni permalink
    December 31, 2012 5:17 pm

    Like Joy, I love reading these. 2012 was very tumultuous for me personally, and perhaps for that reason, I also see all that happened in the public sphere in that light. I think many things rose to the surface of our public consciousness, and now we are called upon to figure out what that means, and what action we need to take. That is also how I feel 2013 is for me – a period of sitting quietly for a bit, and figuring out what it all means before I make any more big decisions. A quiet after the storm perhaps, before the next phase begins.

    In that context, I wish clarity, insight, and peace to all in 2013.

  24. December 31, 2012 8:32 pm

    I think 2013 is a year of embracing life, the courage to let go of all that is holding you back from freedom and joy. So for me, 2013 represents freedom and joy. Slower, longer breaths, fluidity, walking with grace, being a conduit to joy for others.

    My blessing to the world, especially those who are in pain-I wish you a year of freedom and joy.

  25. Lighthealer permalink
    December 31, 2012 11:03 pm

    2012 was the tipping point in the demise of old structures and ways of being. We may not really be able to see that yet, but I believe we will when we look back a decade or so from now. That means 2013 is the real turning point, when the momentum for change on many levels begins to shift at a faster pace. Those of us who tap into that will benefit, those who resist will struggle. I hope all may begin to see and support this flow.

  26. Sigrun permalink
    December 31, 2012 11:26 pm

    Enlightenment and abundance seem like goals worthy of our focus. Along with that, being open and willing to trust fearlessly the process is ever a constant challenge. I think vigilance to walk in trust,and know whatever comes our way is for us.Be grateful for what is and what is not.

  27. January 1, 2013 12:12 am

    my wish for the world is that we can do what we love

  28. January 1, 2013 10:20 pm

    Thanks to all of you for sharing your thoughts and blessings for 2013, they were wonderful to read. The winners are:

    The Female Buddha – Nicki
    Awakening Osiris – Tina
    Creating on Purpose – Corestarme

    See photo that I added to the blog post – my three little helpers each picked a winner:-) Emailing you now…

  29. Anonymous permalink
    January 2, 2013 7:36 pm

    eeeeek! Thank you MOmmy Mystic!

  30. January 2, 2013 8:55 pm

    Thank you Lisa! This is fantastic! I am so blessed.

  31. January 7, 2013 8:37 am

    2013 is the manifestation of the Divine Feminine. May all beings know Oneness with the Divine Mother, Thou are totally loved and unconditionally accepted and held safe always.Blessings TARA Greene

  32. January 7, 2013 3:00 pm

    How odd o.O. My gravatar appeared on my thank you note but my name did not?? Corstarme says THANK YOU!! Will you be posting the book or is it downloadable? I live in South Africa…

  33. January 7, 2013 5:00 pm

    Hi Corestarme, I will actually mail you the book – it may take awhile, but with U.S. Media Mail, it is actually pretty reasonable anywhere in the world! I emailed you to get your address but you must not have received it, I will try again with the email I see on this comment – if you don’t receive it, please email me your address at lameditation [at] earthlink [dot] net.

  34. Heidi permalink
    January 7, 2013 7:34 pm

    2013 is the Year of the Radiantly Awakened Self, for the service, healing and blessing of all, including our beautiful Mother Earth. Love and Light to all!!

  35. Heidi permalink
    January 7, 2013 7:41 pm

    Hah, I misread the email and thought we had until January 31st to submit! Well, I humbly offer my prayer and intention to the universe even if a little late. :)

  36. January 7, 2013 8:28 pm

    Well I’m glad you did because I love your ‘Year Of’ and blessing. Radiantly Awakened Self indeed!

  37. January 8, 2013 5:14 am

    Heidi, just realized you did not misread the post – I had put January 31st in the post as the deadline when I meant Dec. 31st, so sorry!! Hopefully I didn’t end up excluding too many people:-)

    Happy New Year to all in any case. And I have decided my own theme is ’2013 – Year of Freedom’

  38. January 12, 2013 4:32 pm

    i love reading all these powerful messages about the new year! i feel 2013 will be a year of richer colors and multiple dimensions.

  39. January 23, 2013 2:29 am

    I love Quan Yin and would love to have this book. Thank you!

  40. January 23, 2013 5:34 am

    Hi Avril, the giveaway is over (it was for New Years) but it is a great book, I highly recommend buying it!

I love to hear from you...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,766 other followers

