Skip to content

Interview with Cyndi Dale Part II – Autism and Soul Groups

December 13, 2012

Thanks so much for your shares and support for the first part of this interview, in which I talked with author, energy healer, and intuitive Cyndi Dale about ADHD from an energetic, physical, and soul perspective. I am amazed by the traffic it has generated, and it speaks to how many people are looking for a new perspective on this topic. In this second part of the interview, we discuss individuals on the Autism Spectrum from these same three perspectives, as well as the various ‘soul groups’ present on the planet today.

So how is autism different from, and similar to, ADHD? What are the overlaps?

Autism and Asperger’s I think are much more complex issues than ADHD – certainly they are often much more painful for both the individuals and their families. Today these are usually grouped together as ASD – Autism Spectrum Disorder. I will just use the term ‘autism’ to make it easier as we talk.

I’d like to talk about them from the same three perspectives we used when talking about ADHD – energetic, physical and soul or spiritual, and this time I’d like to talk about the soul perspective first. I find that autistic individuals often come in with a lot more soul issues. I’ve found that, but of course I am only one vote – this is just what I’ve seen. I find that there is usually at least one past life trauma that was so hard, and so challenging, that a part of their soul is still ‘stuck’ in that time, and there is what I call a ‘life energy cord’ – a contract attachment – between the soul right now and the soul back then.

Because there is so much emotional trauma in that past life – like they watched people being murdered, or they had a rage and murdered somebody, or something so hard emotionally back then – they don’t want to bring their soul emotionally fully present right now. It’s too much pain. They do not want the emotions, they do not want the pain.

From the perspective of empathy, this is what is so challenging for autistic individuals. Physically, their mirror neurons [the neurons related to empathy] do not function properly, and also what is called their mu waves [part of the alpha waves.] They do the opposite of what most people’s do. Autistic individuals have everything, but they don’t work correctly in the body, and so their mirror neurons aren’t picking up what’s going on with other people.

I think it’s a soul issue, where the soul says ‘I don’t want to have any more emotional pain.’ So there is a shutting down that occurs, and that is how it manifests physically. Now, if we don’t have that part of our soul functioning, we don’t have a very strong energetic field, because the soul is not totally in the body.  So ironically, here they are trying to shut down to others’ emotions, but because of this weak energetic field, they end up absorbing them. They are completely washed over with other people’s energetic issues. This is where ADHD and autism intersect – they are similar energetically in this way.

Another way to think of this is that their energy field is inverted – the first energy field around the skin that is on the outside is supposed to separate and protect us from others’ emotional and physical issues, and instead in this case it is pulling them in. That which is supposed to protect them instead pulls everything in.

So why does this inversion happen – because they need the emotional energy and don’t have their own?

Exactly. You still have to have emotions, this is part of the energy of being human, so they end up absorbing others’ emotions. And for many, because their physical field is on the outside, they are allergic to everything. There is such a profound physical sensitivity. For this reason, many do respond very well to diet controls. I have seen many kids who did respond to diet control, and to soothing time alone, to being centered, to being taught their emotions, and to being taught how to ground themselves energetically – very similar to ADHD [see the prior interview on ADHD for more information about this.] As with ADHD, I have also seen biofeedback be very helpful, particularly with Asperger’s individuals.

However, the only treatment that has been conclusively proven effective to date with autistic children is very early intervention – early detection and intensive interactive training. This is when children are diagnosed very young, as babies and toddlers, because their eyes are not tracking, or they are crying a lot and unresponsive, or not developing verbally. The most effective programs are really interactive and intensive – 8-10 hours a day, at the young ages. Really in these programs you are encouraging them in every way possible to turn on the circuitry of empathy. Unfortunately, most insurance does not yet cover this.

Yes, that’s the challenge for so many families of autistic individuals, affording the help and support they need. I am wondering from the perspective of energetic help, in terms of the soul issues you mentioned, have you ever worked with any autistic individuals on the trauma level? Attempting to surface and release the past-life trauma?

With autistic individuals I have not done a lot. I think it is possible, but I also think it is very hard, and you have to be very careful. Because the individual is shutdown, you can’t get close enough to the trauma to work with it. As soon as you get close, you risk triggering the individual with more pain. It can be dangerous, or re-traumatizing to them. So I’m very careful with that. There may be skilled people with therapeutic backgrounds out there that can do it, but I don’t tamper with it. As an intuitive, I can often see the stories, but I don’t work with the individual with these stories. I would turn these stories over to a therapist, personally, if they wanted to work with them.

Well thank you, you have offered us a wonderful perspective on ADHD and autism. I am now wondering how you feel this fits into what’s often called the ‘soul groups’ here on the planet at this time. There are many theories out there regarding ADHD and autistic children, and that they are part of specific soul groups – Indigo children, Crystal children, etc. I know you talk a bit about this in your Energetic Boundaries book, and I’d love for you to share some of that here.

I believe that on this planet at this time, we have several soul groups, and that they roughly correspond to different generations, although any soul type can incarnate in any time period, and some individuals are a mixture of more than one type.

The first group is the ‘Construct’ soul group or family. These are in general our oldest living generation right now, although there are still young people who are Construct souls. These are the builders of the industrial society, the mechanically oriented – like Andrew Carnegie – those who built the factories and industrial infrastructure of today’s society. The creation of everything concrete that we have, and the banks.

But you wouldn’t put the builders of the modern tech industry – the Silicon Valley types – in this group?

No, I think most of the techies are Indigos, and in some cases, earlier groups- some are ‘Bridge’ souls, between the Constructs and the Indigos, but mostly Indigos.

So in terms of Constructs, we can’t do without Constructs, we still need what they offer, but as a dominant paradigm, or the driving force behind society, their way of being is the past. The industries and structures built during the height of the Construct period are fading, or changing. The old guard doesn’t work anymore, economically or otherwise. Some younger souls involved in things like robotics are mixtures of  Construct and Indigo souls – they are mixing the old and new technologies, updating the old models.

‘Bridge’ souls are my generation – now in their 40s, 50s, maybe some in their 60s. Generationally as a group we said ‘we need to find a new way, but we need to respect the structures of the Constructs.’ We need to open up what didn’t work, and address the issues, personalize them, and work to heal them. It’s from this group that came treatment centers, the ‘me’ generation, feminism, that kind of protocol. New Ageism burst out of this generation, saying ‘hey religion isn’t enough, what about me finding my own connection to spirit.’

Indigos are mostly in their 20s and 30s, some in their 40s. They are the changers. The ones that survive, I should say, because it can be hard for them to function well in the world. But those that survive are in the system changing the system. The Indigo techies, some of which are older Indigo souls, in their 50s now, they did their own thing, created their own thing, but many Indigos are in the system working to change it. Those Indigos who don’t function well in society are often stuck in their own personal expression, without an understanding of how to bond in community.

Many of the kids now appearing with ADHD and autism are ‘Crystal’ kids, the next grouping. There are certainly adults that are Crystals, but most are children now, and they are the ones coming in with the sensitivities to reflect back to the world what the world needs to further change. They are showing us that we are too busy, too disconnected emotionally, too over-stimulated, too violent, too separated from the earth. They reflect what it is we need to change.

I never thought of it that way. They are forcing change as they move through society.

Yes, they are predictive of where the world needs to go. For instance, I recently visited a school for one of my sons that I had previously visited 10 years ago, and I couldn’t believe the changes. Out of 700 kids, 100 are ADHD, and the school has had to make many changes to accommodate this. They had been very militaristic before, and now were all about ‘the whole child’, and developing heart. The schools are changing to help these kids. They are growing more heart to help these kids. It’s very interesting. These kids are changing the world – the world has to respond. And as they get out of school, changes will follow elsewhere also. The medical community has had to adapt already, and of course parenting is adapting too!

Back to soul groups, then there are ‘Spirit’ kids, who aren’t usually ADHD or ASD, but are also very sensitive. They are like little angels in some ways. They come in much more intact than most Crystals, and are little beings of light. They are fully, truly here. The Crystals pave the way for them with the changes that they trigger.

These are the basic soul groups, but anyone can be a mix. I think I am a cross between Bridge and Crystal. My 86- year old mom is a cross between a Construct and an Indigo.

Thanks for sharing that. I could recognize all three of my kids in your descriptions of these soul groups in the ‘Parenting’ section of your Energetic Boundaries book. I have read a lot about these theories, and yours was the clearest description. I encourage anyone interested in this topic to look there for more information. Are there other resources you recommend?

From an energetics perspective, I talk about the ‘gift’ side of these sensitivities that ADHD and autistic individuals share in Intuition Guidebook, so that’s another resource.  When an individual learns to work with these tendencies, they truly are gifts.

I like the work of Daniel Amen, of the Amen clinic. His website has a free ADHD test that anyone can take. Parents can take it for their children. He identifies 6 different types of ADHD. He also has resources and services for both ADHD and autistic individuals.

As I mentioned, biofeedback can also be very helpful, so parents may want to check into biofeedback centers in their area. Some insurance does cover this as well.

And diet is very important, so I encourage parents to work with a homeopath, naturopath, and/or nutritionist to explore diet changes that may help.

Thanks again Cyndi. I know these can be sensitive topics, and I so appreciate you offering your perspective here. Comments and questions are welcome!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Nina permalink
    December 13, 2012 5:31 pm

    I have been waiting for this one this week:-) I just wanted to thank you both again for covering these topics. I think it’s very relevant right now. I have a nephew who is severely autistic, and although I don’t claim to understand the causes, the general sense of there being trauma makes sense to me. Perhaps it is a mix of different factors coming together. I think back to the first article, when you talked about epigenetics and different genetic issues getting turned on or off in the womb or early childhood, and different soul issues as well. So perhaps this is a combination of that.
    In any case, I am glad to see a new perspective offered. And I was interested to read about the soul groupings. I have read a bit a bout Indigo children, but not the rest. As an amateur astrologer i am also wondering how this ties into larger transits – the outer planets and generational trends that are shown there. And then of course social and cultural forces too – what shapes what, a kind of chicken and egg contemplation I think.
    Thanks again.
    Nina

  2. Taurean Mermaid permalink
    December 13, 2012 5:51 pm

    Again, wonderful, wonderful.  I tend to agree with the concept of ASD stemming from a deeper soul issue, a history of severe trauma that locks down emotion.  I know that for my husband, who has ADHD and Asperger’s, he alternately seems to overly-empathize with others AND disconnect or shut down to his own feelings and those of people around him.  It’s both deliberate and unconscious.  He’s a Scorpio, so that pendulum swings back and forth twice as violently.   He finds great comfort in deliberately dealing with people and life in mechanical terms, but truly can’t pull it off because he is so emotional at the core.  There is a well spring of deep, pulsating pain that I do believe is connected to other lifetimes, and only exacerbated by growing up with the disorders in a time when they were not understood (80s and early 90s).  He was even put in “special ed” for a while in grammar school, until he tested with a 152 I.Q. and was caught secretly studying college-level chemistry in middle school.  I do think that people with these conditions are able to teach us a great deal about what needs to change in the world and our own hearts and psyches.   Whether it be environmentally based (Dr. Amen released a study synopsis yesterday regarding a correlation between mothers of ASD kids and mercury in fish that was eaten during pregnancy), or how we categorize a group of people that don’t seem to process emotion or communicate in the ways we find “normal” (whatever the hell that means), they can bust apart old, outmoded ways of being.   As a new wife to one such individual, I can say that it is a blessing in many ways to learn and grow in this way.   His huge, and unconventional capacity to love has broken down some of my own self-imposed walls, and his tendency to dream big and take impulsive risks has encouraged me to stretch beyond my own fearful rigidity. 
     

  3. Pam permalink
    December 13, 2012 6:54 pm

    So interesting! Lisa, you said you recognize your little ones in these descriptions, are you willing to share?

  4. December 13, 2012 6:58 pm

    Hi Nina, that’s an interesting question, I wonder too, re: Pluto/Uranus etc. I think ultimately there are a lot of different ways of viewing the same phenomenon. All of these different models are ‘maps’ for accessing and describing the patterns that underlie our reality. Some interesting ones coming out of modern descendants of the human potential movement too. It would be interesting to see someone compare them all.

  5. December 13, 2012 6:59 pm

    Taurean, thanks once again for sharing details. I think this is so useful for someone else reading these.

  6. December 13, 2012 7:02 pm

    Hi Pam, I think I have a Crystal, an Indigo/Construct, and a Spirit. They are actually quite distinct in this way, I recognized them quite clearly from these descriptions when I read about them in Cyndi’s book. And it’s interesting because as I think you know, two of them are twins, so from an astrological perspective, or any model based on birth data, they are almost identical, but when I look at it through the lens of this ‘soul grouping’ description, they are very different. Altho those other models work too, so it’s just a matter of which part of someone (or yourself) you are looking to gain insight about. Different models work for different purposes.

  7. December 19, 2012 4:23 am

    I have 2 nephews with autism, so I am specially interested in this topic. Thanks for the information.

  8. December 19, 2012 5:05 am

    Channa – I agree!

    Savannah – I hope this opens some new perspectives for you, along with your own work. Thanks for visiting.

  9. heartflow2012 permalink
    December 20, 2012 6:03 am

    Very enlightening! Thank you!

Trackbacks

  1. ADHD, Autism and Energetic Boundaries « Raising a Sensitive Child
  2. Interview with Cyndi Dale Part I – ADHD and Energetic Boundaries « Mommy Mystic

I love to hear from you...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,725 other followers

