Skip to content

Shares – Kundalini, Pics, Books and Blogs

February 24, 2012
Towards the Within by Victoria Christian

I fell in love with this piece by artist Victoria Christian, partly because the desert southwest is a spiritual home for me, and this captures it so beautifully. Here is her full gallery, if you want more.

I found her work while browsing through Pinterest, which I’ve been playing around with. In case you haven’t yet heard of it, it’s a way to create virtual pinboards of images you like, compiled from all over the web, and linked back to their sources. I’ve started 4 boards – Sacred Feminine Images, Sacred Places, Buddhist Art, and Chakra Pics. I welcome suggestions for additions to any of them!

For those of you that are newer readers here, I like to do ‘Share’ posts periodically, where I share things I have found that might be of value to others. I always love for others to share their own recommendations too in the comments, and feel free to link back to your own blogs or websites. The web is about connecting, right?

The thing I am most excited to share this month is a FREE kundalini transmission being offered by my friends and colleagues Cyndi Dale and Chantal Monte on Sunday March 4th. I interviewed Chantal in January, and Cyndi three years ago, and as most of you know, also have studied with Cyndi in her apprenticeship program, and been on the receiving end of both of their energy work. Both of their work is exquisite, gentle, and powerful. This is your chance to feel it for yourselves. This particular transmission is for the heart chakra, which is where they both start in all of their kundalini activation work. It is being offered as a way to try out their work before their next kundalini activation class begins on March 11th. I participated in the last class series, and will be participating in this one. The awakening of the kundalini through you is a lifelong process that never ends. These activations will work through you, and in you, in whatever way is appropriate for you at this time in your life. Just go here to read more and email Chantal to be part of the transmission.

Next up: Books! I have been re-reading Mindfulness in Plain English by Bhante Gunuratana as part of a course I am taking – it was recently re-released in a 20th anniversary edition. This is a guide to Vippassana Buddhist meditation, which is breath-based, but really this book is such a complete guide to working with distractions during meditation that I think it has tremendous value for anyone who meditates. I wrote a bit about ‘thinking vs. sinking mind’ at BellaOnline this week, so if that resonates for you, this book may be right for you.

A very different book from this that I found myself unexpectedly appreciating is Gabrielle Bernstein’s Spirit Junkie: A Radical Road to Self-Love and Miracles. This is being marketed as a Return to Love (Marianne Williamson) for Generation Y. Like that book, it is based on A Course in Miracles, and so uses its vernacular of ‘holy spirit’, which is not my vernacular, but is really very good at illuminating the ways our ego uses fear to block us from love. Like Return to Love, Spirit Junkie is part prescriptive, part memoir, and I think I really appreciated it because it is a spiritual memoir by a young woman, and even though it’s not my generation (and uses words ‘cool’ and ‘totally’ quite a bit), I could feel the truth coming through, especially when she talks about her addiction to romantic love, and the ways she futilely attempted to find self-acceptance through relationships. So read some other reviews on this one before you buy, but if you can look past the ‘NYC party girl’ surface, there is some beautiful depth here I think.

A very different offering that I am still in the process of reading but really intrigued by is Spirit Stones: Unraveling the Mysteries of Western Europe’s Prehistoric Monuments by Dianne Ebertt Beeaff. This is an examination from both a archaeological and spiritual perspective of Europe’s many Stonehenge-like stone circles, monoliths, and burial chambers. Really fascinating, from both an historical and energetic perspective.

On to some online finds: I am a big fan of Jonathan Goldman’s sound healing work and CDs, and a visit to his Temple of Sacred Sounds is a wonderful way to try this out. Click on Enter, and then twice on ‘Toning Chambers’ to get to the ‘Om’, ‘Ah’ and ‘Hu’ tracks with stunning accompanying fractal-based videos. These are so beautiful, and guaranteed to shift you.

As for blog posts this month: I liked this little post from The Relationship Code on Relationships and the Chakra System. There is also an interesting review of Power Up Your Brain over at Raising a Sensitive Child.

One of the more entertaining posts that I read this month was from The Dakini Chronicles: Enlightening Adventures of a Spiritually Erotic Masseusse, entitled Misperceptions, Memes, and The Case of “What Tantric Dakinis Actually Do”. I also liked Ovarian Kung Fu, Kegels, and Jade Eggs by Bliss Returned. Both of these make my own Women’s Energetics work seem quite tame and mainstream by comparison:-)

Finally, I wanted to share a beautiful poem by Kaveri Patel, a fellow writer over at Buddha Chick Life. I also shared this on Facebook, so some of you may be seeing it again, but I simply love it. It is entitled Mothering Fear, and I love it because we so often talk about facing fear, or conquering fear, and I love this idea of mothering it instead. This poem is from her book Invitation, which you can order through her – just go to this interview of her and you will find the info at the end.

Mothering Fear

Don’t kill your fear
then stand at the funeral
all dressed in black
weeping
as if you cared.

Hold it in your arms
like a frightened child
crying, her body trembling
against your own
as your sleeping heart rises
to a call for compassion.

Embrace her till her weary
eyes close and she is still,
then dress in white
as you behold a new child
safe in your arms,
alive with your love,

surprised that you listened
and decided to stay.

Namaste- And please feel free to share your own favorites of any sort in the comments:-)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    February 24, 2012 6:27 pm

    i LOVE Jonathan Goldman’s work, do you have Reiki Chants, that is actually my favorite of his. I had heard about Spirit Junkie, wasn’t sure about it, maybe I will check it out. Thanks for all the info, will check out the kundalini class and poetry book as well. – Jamie

  2. February 24, 2012 8:12 pm

    Thanks so much for the wealth of information shared here… can’t wait to look into the kundalini info.
    Namaste!
    Becca Chopra, author of The Chakra Diaries
    http://www.thechakras.org

  3. February 24, 2012 9:57 pm

    Oh, great to learn about the free kundalini transmission… I think I will plan to be a part of this!

    Many blessings!
    Janice

  4. February 25, 2012 4:23 am

    Janice and Becca, I think you will both really appreciate the kundalini transmission, just clickthrough to send your email to Chantal… – Lisa

  5. February 25, 2012 8:05 am

    excellent sentiment in that poem.

    off to the temple of sacred sounds. thanks!

  6. February 26, 2012 12:19 am

    I may try out that Kundalini transmission as I had sent you email before about Chantal’s work. Thanks for letting me know about that.

    The poem is beautiful. I love that idea of mothering the fear. Excellent!

    Those books sound good too. When do you have time to read that much? My goodness!!!

    I think your readers might enjoy “2012 A Time for Change” movie. It is a documentary that looks at different ways to find oneness including yoga, indigenous traditions, meditation, etc. There are interviews with Sting, Ellen Page, Barbara Marx Hubbard, and others. I just found it recently even though it’s been out for awhile. It’s available on Netflix but here’s the link to the site:

    http://www.2012timeforchange.com/

    That’s my two cents.

    Thanks,
    Melinda

  7. February 26, 2012 3:42 pm

    Mon, hope you got the Temple of Sound to work, it takes a few tries for me, but it is worth it.

    Melinda, Thanks for the movie suggestion, I think I had heard something about that movie but wasn’t sure of the name. And yes, I hope you do the free kundalini transmission, and I hope you do the class too, based on what we had discussed I think it may be just the thing for you right now…and what perfect timing with your book coming out….

  8. anya permalink
    February 27, 2012 5:00 pm

    Love the Temple of Sacred Sound! I love this picture also, it reminds me of Sedona. I haven’t been many places in the southwest except there, but it was s magical. Going to check out the kundalini tranmission now…

  9. February 28, 2012 8:49 pm

    I very much enjoyed your links here. The Dakini stuff is especially interesting. And how in the world did you find my other “non-anonymous” blog? You are very clever!

  10. February 28, 2012 9:10 pm

    Hi Tango Heart, huh what?? Which is your blog?? I actually didn’t know I had found another blog by you…

  11. February 28, 2012 10:04 pm

    I am in awe…how do you have time to read these wonderful, yet deep books along with all else that you do in life? Wow.
    And, thank you for kundalini transmission information..I signed up:) And the Temple of Sacred Sounds site is gorgeous–the sounds and visual.
    I am in awe. I know I said that already, but I truly am.
    Thank you for sharing as you do:)

  12. February 28, 2012 10:49 pm

    To give you a hint: You subscribed to it earlier today and there is mention a certain sacred tree (trying to stay anonymous). Thanks for subscribing. And I enjoy your postings here!

  13. February 28, 2012 11:47 pm

    Tango, oh that’s so funny. No, just a coincidence – I just like what you have to say in both realms, and how you say it:-)

  14. February 28, 2012 11:53 pm

    Joy, so glad you signed up for the transmission, I think you will really feel and appreciate what they offer, and that it will trigger some new levels for you.
    It’s funny on the reading thing, people always ask me that. I have come to realize I do read very quickly, mostly at night before bed, and so typically get through 1-3 books a week. I think it’s partly that I read a lot growing up, but I’ve also come to think of it as kind of a siddha or ‘gift’. We all have gifts, in terms of how our energy manifests here, and meditation (especially energy-based meditations involving the chakras and kundalini) magnify these, and often open new ones. I think over the course of 20+ years of meditation, I’ve actually gotten faster at reading!!! I have often thought I missed my calling as am acquisitions editor or something (although I’m not sure I would be good at that actually)…but since that’s not where I’ve ended up, I ‘review’ instead, which I mostly view as a way to highlight books I especially appreciate…another way of supporting certain energies and insight in the planes of awareness:-)

  15. Melinda Rodriguez permalink
    March 8, 2012 5:02 pm

    Thanks for sharing such great stuff. I LOVE the artwork at the top. The colors, the hidden images, the burning sage…sweet! I appreciate the book reviews too. Do you ever listen to Hay House Radio? Both Gabrielle and Marianne have shows there that I enjoy.

    In Rhythm & Harmony,
    Melinda

  16. March 8, 2012 11:03 pm

    Hi Melinda, glad you like it, and yes I have heard Marianne’s Hay House show on occasion. I also joined Gabrielle’s women’s network HerFuture where she occasionally does video messages…

I love to hear from you...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,751 other followers

