Skip to content

2012 as the Year of the Enlightened Feminine – GIVEAWAY

December 20, 2011

Last week I was contemplating what I wanted my final post for 2011 to be about, and what theme I wanted up here as we roll into the New Year. I knew I symbolically wanted it to represent something important to me, something I would like to empower. I choose to observe Solstice and Christmas as celebrations of enlightenment, and I am currently focused on women’s healing and empowerment on this site, so in a flash it was very clear – the Enlightened Feminine. For myself, I would like to declare 2012 the Year of the Enlightened Feminine.

To me, fostering the Enlightened Feminine isn’t just about women’s spirituality – spiritual tools and practices for women – although I do think these very important and relevant. It also isn’t just about fostering women spiritual leaders, although I also believe this is very important. And it isn’t just about empowering women, or healing them, or changing relationships between men and women, although all of this is part of it.

When I say the Enlightened Feminine, I am talking about the rebalancing of feminine/yin and masculine/yang energies that is occurring on the social, spiritual and personal levels. We all – men and women – have been and are experiencing this shift. I’d like to think 2012 is the tipping point for this shift. As it continues, there WILL be more and more women spiritual leaders, and more healing and empowerment of women, and an opening of tools and practices that represent yin energy, and yin doorways into enlightenment, available to both men and women.

In honor of this shift, and in order to thank all of you for your readership, comments, and support, I decided to do my first ever giveaway. Yes, that’s right, I’ve been blogging for 3+ years (albeit with several extended breaks) and have never done a giveaway! I just didn’t want this blog to seem too commercial, and I wanted to keep it easygoing. But I’ve decided this is a great way to ring in the New Year, and I’ve selected offerings from 3 of my favorite contemporary spiritual teachers:

Kundalini: Divine Energy, Divine Life by Cyndi Dale

Hidden Treasure: Uncovering the Truth in Your Life Story by Gangaji

Mandala of the Enlightened Feminine Audio Course by Tsultrim Allione

I’m giving away new copies of all three! These are all teachers I have mentioned here, and at BellaOnline, before – in fact I interviewed both Gangaji and Cyndi Dale here at Mommy Mystic 2 years ago. My reviews of each of these offerings are also on Amazon – just click on the links above and look for a 5-star review by L. Erickson ‘Mommy Mystic’ to read them if you would like more information on them. It’s worth noting that none of these three offerings are geared specifically for women, although they are all offered by women teachers. And they are very different from each other. But each has been of immeasurable value to me, and I want to share them.

To enter to win one, all you have to do is leave a comment, and include your email address (although this will not display.) You don’t have to use your real name, and you can comment on anything you like, although I’d love to hear what the Enlightened Feminine and/or 2012 mean to you. I will draw a winner for each item from a hat on New Year’s Day, and use your email address to contact you for your ‘actual’ address if you are a winner (I won’t use your email address for anything else, pinkie promise.)

May your Solstice, Holiday, and New Years be filled with joy, love, and light. Thank you and Namaste- XOXO

Lisa

43 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    December 20, 2011 12:53 am

    Am I first? Awesome! Great offerings, I would love to get any of them. To me, part of the enlightened feminine is women supporting women, but also men and women coming together to heal and shift things. I love the spirit of your giveaway. Love and light to you in the New Year too my friend XOXO – Jamie

  2. December 20, 2011 1:12 am

    I LOVE it Lisa! Me too! I really feel that 2012 holds many opportunities for us to grow together. And Jamie, I really like what you said about coming together to heal and shift! That’s truly how I see 2012. Hugs!! ~ Deanna

  3. December 20, 2011 1:19 am

    Ah, YES!!! 2012 will be an important year too I feel. I decided to become pregnant with my 3rd child, knowing s/he would be born in 2012 – it just felt right somehow – I feel great things will happen this coming year!!
    I would love any of the books
    : ) Kristine

  4. December 20, 2011 2:30 am

    This is so like you, generous heart that you are. I sense that in 2012 we’ll see more women and girls speaking out against atrocities such as those mentioned in this video, “It Only Takes a Girl.” It’s time for a more enlightened and thus empowered female presence in our world. Perhaps the female principle has lain fallow long enough and will make its presence fully known next year.

  5. Dee permalink
    December 20, 2011 3:14 am

    Love and Light to all.. <3
    To me – the enlightened feminine – is taking back your sacredness.. Something women gave away a long time ago.
    Its reconnecting with both parts of your divine self – the masculine and the feminine. It's recognizing and coming back to your divine nature, your Higher Self – a luminous, limitless Being. You are Goddesses… You are a Womb-myn.. Without you – there is no Life.

  6. December 20, 2011 3:38 am

    Thanks to all who have entered so far, and thanks for sharing your thoughts on the enlightened feminine. Kristine, congrats on your pregnancy, and Brenda, thanks for sharing that powerful video. A friend told me about an exhibit currently here in LA called ‘Women Hold up Half the Sky’ that deals with this and other issues, and donations given through it are going to work towards change in these areas. This reminded me that this is on my must do list over this vacation…

  7. December 20, 2011 5:47 am

    2012-The Year of the Enlightened Feminine: I can definitely include that in my vision board for the next year! I am at the end (hopefully) of menopause and am feeling a little ‘dried-up’ and disillusioned with so many things. Cyndi Dale and Ganganji are authors/teachers I have intended to read, and you offering them in your give-away line-up is awesome – I hope my name comes up:)) Thank you for your sensible and interesting blog – a veritable pool of light here in the southern-most part of Africa! Peace.

  8. flika of light permalink
    December 20, 2011 7:46 am

    YEAR OF THE ENLIGHTENED WOMAN…. in the year of the Water Dragon.
    I’ve been awaiting 2012 since the last Dragon cycle and now it’s here on my doorstep.
    I wholeheartedly embrace the dream of enlightenment, and empowerment of all women.
    Global embrace!
    Lovely manifestation Mommy Mystic.
    I love your blog.

    Many thanks and blessings for the New Year!!
    From cocoons we emerge, resplendent wings wet with new knowing, ancient wisdom and glowing with curiosity to learn more. Women unite!

    Xf
    PS I’m currently reading Half the Sky… it’s an eye opener. Stories of desperation beautifully entwined with great hope.

  9. December 20, 2011 8:30 am

    I look forward to hearing more on this concept as i don’t really know too much about it. I’m always interested in balancing of energies that’s for sure.

    (not entering!)

    Thanks for an amazing place here, with consistently useful and interesting posts. They never fail to trigger a new thought pathway in me.

  10. December 20, 2011 12:51 pm

    Thank you for this very special generous giveaway and beautiful, inspirational, spiritual prizes! What an exciting opportunity. I read the descriptions and reviews of all 3 prizes and I personally would MOST love to get to win the KUNDALINI book. I would be especially elated to win that one! : ) Certainly I would be grateful of any of the 3 however.

    For me when I think of Enlightened Feminine I don’t even think of it so much as in a gender sense as much as in a genderless, PURE LIGHT and PURE ENERGY SOUL sense, more of a spirit having a physical experience as oppossed to focusing on a body having a spiritual experience. Not only do I think of it as Enlightenment but as constant, continually flowing and evolving to higher energy and higher light and more wisdom becoming more and more like our source of all and living as a manifestation/living breathing feeling ACTING part of that source as a whole for our good and that of others, Living according to some of my favorite quotes I consciously try to live by such as

    1. “If I don’t do great things in this life, I hope to do many small things with great love.” Mother Theresa.
    2. “We are all like angels with only one wing and can only fly while embracing one another” (I used that one at my wedding).
    3. It is better to light a candle OR TO BE ONE than to curse the darkness.
    4. WHen you have the option to Be right or to be kind, choose kindness. Dr. Wayne Dyer.

    Some women I admire and see as Enlightened Feminine in VERY dramatically different and unique ways from one another that is expressed through each their OWN very individual personalities and special talents etc are:
    1. MOTHER THERESA
    2. SARAH BAN BREATHNACH (I wish ALL women could read her book SOMETHING MORE -excavating your authentic self book she wrote, that book literally CHANGED my life and way of thinking and living dramatically for the better.
    3. MARIANNE WILLIAMSON
    4. MAYA ANGELOU – especially her PHENOMENAL WOMAN poem that lifts my spirit and confidence and self esteem and makes me smile and tear up all at once every time I read it.
    5. OPRAH WINFREY- for using her power and fame and money to help others every time she turns around and not only that but regularily encouraging, inspirating and helping others do the same.

    Some you might be surprised at bc they are more unconventional in a spiritual or inspirational sense are:
    6. PINK – for her F’ing Perfect song and other very strong positive feminine messages to girls and women in her music in various songs.
    7. CHRISTINA AGUILERA – for her YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL song… no matter what they say you are beautiful in EVERY way. THat song makes me cry and the video even more so.
    8. LADY GAGA – for her BABY YOU WERE BORN THIS WAY song. empowering for all genders of body and spirits at all levels.

    my email is MANIFESTMIRACLES@LIVE.COM

  11. December 20, 2011 12:55 pm

    I started reading The Women Who Run With The Wolves this year, and made a personal promise to myself that 2012 will see me embracing and honouring my inner feminine. I’ve already started to do this, but I think a new year is always a good time to focus energies! Even if I don’t win the giveaway I’m definitely going to buy one of these, if they’re recommended by you they must be worth reading. Peace and best wishes for a wonderful Christmas season xx

  12. December 20, 2011 1:08 pm

    Lisa, I am so “in” with you on this. The Year of the Enlightened Feminine. I love it! Please count me in as one of your supporters and followers. The time is indeed now for all of us (women and men) to embrace the Feminine as a pathway for healing, living with open-heartedness, kindness, compassion, divine justice, and more. It is the only way, as far as I am concerned for the Feminine is all-inclusive. “She” is non-aggressive and dominating, partnership oriented, generous and embraces everyone as a precious being. Welcome, indeed! Let’s open the door and walk through together…

  13. December 20, 2011 2:56 pm

    I really enjoy reading your blog. I look forward to the posts!

  14. December 20, 2011 4:17 pm

    Hi all, just popping in again to thank you for the positive feedback (I wasn’t fishing – really – but it’s always encouraging to hear:-) , and also for all the great quotes, thoughts, and book/teacher suggestions…

  15. December 20, 2011 4:43 pm

    I’m in! Thanks for the giveaway, and the insightful posts!

    I love every new year because it is an opportunity to look forward to all that we want for the world and for our own lives. With many people anticipating 2012 to be an exceptionally spiritual year, we will inevitably create this as our reality. And the feminine energy of love and lovingkindness will no doubt be a big part of the picture.

    Happy new year, Lisa, and everyone!

  16. December 20, 2011 4:50 pm

    I love love love that–Year of the Enlightened Feminine. That’s just perfect for 2012. Thanks for setting that intention. I will put my energy towards that as well. And thanks for the giveaway! What a nice gesture. Maybe I’ll win!!! Hee hee.

    Have a great holiday season and a spectacular 2012!

    in light and love,
    Melinda

  17. December 20, 2011 5:41 pm

    As we are now moving into a new consciousness era, 2012, I love the idea of balancing the yin/yang energies and naming 2012 “The Year of the Enlightened Feminine.” Yin energy can actually be stronger than yang force, an era that I hope is coming to an end.

    Psychic Jennifer O’Neill wrote a guest post on my Chakra Blog, that in 2012, we will all become increasingly aware of our energetic body and spiritual being. Let’s balance and strengthen our chakra energies, both for ourselves and to balance chaotic energies in the world.

    Thank you for the giveaway offers ~ whether I win or not, I will take your reading suggestions and pick up these books ~ they sound wonderful.
    Namaste!
    Becca Chopra, author of The Chakra Diaries
    http://www.thechakras.org

  18. EVT permalink
    December 20, 2011 5:57 pm

    Hi Lisa,
    I think you are spot on in calling this the year of the Enlightened Feminine. I see it as augmenting the masculine but not superceding it. Enhancing by harnessing authentic power.

    Since I just did your supersonic Sacral Chakra exercise series, I have pictures of what this looks like to me – sweeping the sacral chakra energy up into the heart, and this sacral chakra energy is POWERFUL in an awe-inspiring way. As it could be for an individual, so it could be for larger community.

    As an aside, I just saw a story about a women’s march in Cairo to protest their treatment by the military. Chills.

  19. Holly permalink
    December 20, 2011 9:50 pm

    I just finished reading through the reviews, and I feel confident I can use the teachings to make 2012 the best year yet!
    Blessings to all enlightened women!

    Holly

  20. December 21, 2011 1:34 am

    “I’d like to think 2012 is the tipping point for this shift. As it continues, there WILL be more and more women spiritual leaders, and more healing and empowerment of women, and an opening of tools and practices that represent yin energy, and yin doorways into enlightenment, available to both men and women.”

    YES! I feel that as a society, we need to come into balance and to honour the sacred feminine in BOTH women and men.

    For me, 2012 will be about my own self care. More ease. More joy.

  21. December 21, 2011 4:01 am

    I know that 2012 will be a year of great change for me. I started on a path of self discovery a few months ago and have been awakened to many things, not always great. But with the good comes the bad. I have thoroughly enjoyed your articles on Bella, they have helped me so much. I look forward to becoming the Enlightened Woman we are all meant to be.

  22. December 21, 2011 3:43 pm

    Thanks again to all the heartfelt responses and insights. EVT – yes I was just thinking of how symbolically (and literally in terms of energy) a linking of all the ‘yin’ chakra energies – sacral, heart, and third eye – represents exactly this shift. It is like those energies being expressed more openly and in a more balanced way in relation to the others. And KD – the Enlightened Woman we already ARE too:-)

  23. LisaB permalink
    December 21, 2011 9:53 pm

    Well, after a long cocooning phase, I feel my interest in the sacred feminine reawakening. No coincidence I think that I am expecting my 2nd child in February. Whatever 2012 holds for the enlightened feminine, my path involves play.

  24. December 21, 2011 11:56 pm

    Hi Lisa
    just had a circle to celebrate the solstice, small circle but so powerful, and guess what the theme was? Celebrating the feminine!!!!! I felt this was the way to go tonight, very much influenced by the experiences from doing your sacral work and reading Wild Feminine. And then felt moved to check in on you again………….enlightened! Thank you for all that you do.
    lots of love
    kate

  25. Jennifer permalink
    December 22, 2011 6:45 pm

    I need to work on forgiving myself more and letting go of all this anger and frustration I have. My chakras are so out of balance and my mind/body connection is all but lost. I need to reawaken my essence and to find who I once was while embracing who I am becoming. Thank you for this giveaway!

  26. December 23, 2011 1:58 am

    LIsaB – congratulations!
    Kate – so glad you read Wild Feminine, I’d be interested to hear what you thought of it, and if you found it useful. I work more on the energetic than physical level, so I felt that was a great referral for people that needed to add a more physical component…
    Jennifer – just the fact that you are contemplating these things means your chakras are functioning quite well in certain ways! So I do wish self-forgiveness for yourself this year – we can all use more of that.
    Love, Lisa

  27. December 23, 2011 5:10 pm

    Well I’m in the middle of it really but I’m finding it really useful. I’ve always been drawn towards physical stuff but anything to do with the pelvic floor always seemed to have a sexual slant? Do you know what I mean? And for me that was a bit of a muddled area so to have clear direction on touching this area with the intention of identifying stress, numbness, business(I’m also looking for kyo, jitsu) has been really good. It is very challenging too, so I’m taking it slow. In the circle I combined some of her exercises and then some of your chakra ones and they worked well together.
    I’ll keep you posted as I work through the book!
    love kate

  28. December 24, 2011 3:00 am

    year of the enlightened feminine sounds just right. had some clarity the last few days and some headway with “goals”.

    Thank you

  29. judy permalink
    December 24, 2011 12:39 pm

    Hello, happy festive season and happy New Year to all as well. I am looking forward to teaching healing mandala workshops in 2012. I live in a regional area in Australia where there is a lot of domestic violence amongst the Indigenous groups throughout the Kimberley. My healing workshops will be for women and their daughters to get in touch with their inner feminine strengths and reconnect with their self love. I am also looking forward to teaching english to refugees women in 2012 and using Mandala art for healing purposes as well.

  30. December 24, 2011 7:37 pm

    Thanks all…I wanted to post this astrological info on 2012 for anyone interested http://www.astroprofile.com/2012sky.htm . It’s interesting that according to one aspect we have been and continue to be in a ‘divine feminine’ phase through 2012, as well as a phase of ‘mystical healing’. Also, the larger climactic and difficult aspects have already occurred in the last 3 years, making 2012 seem ‘tame by comparison’.

  31. Sara permalink
    December 25, 2011 8:09 pm

    I would love to win one!

    Also, Last time I posted you asked me to share some of what I have been going through. Well, its interesting you just posted about the empowered feminine, because that is specifically what I have been working on in my life: owning my power. I have been working on healing my solar plexus chakra and learning to own my power as a soul being, but I have noticed so much how possible imbalances in my 3rd chakra are so linked to imbalances in my 2nd, sacral chakra. I am wondering, for a really powerful women, how is this related to her sexuality, and owning her sexuality as a women. I am finding it so difficult to be a sacred sexual being in our culture, particularly the way that some men react to women. I feel like I am a very powerful person (which is why I have feared my power for so long), but I think that in some way shrinking my power has attracted a lot of attention that I don’t want. I am wondering if you know of any books to recommend on owning your power and how it relates to healthy sexual expression.

    Thank you so much for all of your work!!!

    Happy new year!
    Sara

  32. jaymes permalink
    December 27, 2011 5:42 am

    For several months now I have felt that 2012 is going to be a powerful life changing year.. For me personally 2011 has seen an awakening of a spiritual part of me that I have never explored and it has a very exciting time. I have blessed in my life with several great spiritual teachers, many who have been women, I am excited to see more and more woman taking their place as Spiritual Leaders in the world. Thanks Lisa for ths site and for your guidance in my own life.

    Happy 2012!

    jaymes

  33. December 27, 2011 3:34 pm

    Hi Sara – I’m so glad these themes are surfacing for you, and I thank you for sharing them, although I know the process can be difficult. 2nd and 3rd chakra issues are so commonly linked in our culture, especially for women, because we are still so mixed up about themes of power and sexuality, and the conditioning both men and women receive feed into this. I don’t have a specific book that I know of that addresses this, although there are several that can help, depending on the issue. Both Energy Medicine for Women and Wild Feminine (both on my have some practices for freeing up sexual expression both physically and energetically, and of course many tantric-based sex therapy books do as well, but this would not seem to be exactly what you need. You may need some more specific energy healing work related to the 2nd and 3rd chakras, which you can attempt yourself depending on your background, or we can talk more about this by email.

    However, the larger theme of managing your power, and sexual power, is a larger issue, and one I would like to focus on here in a post at some point. It is really about boundaries – creating appropriate energetic boundaries, or ‘avatars’, for each of the major life situations you are in – work, friends, family, public, etc. In this model you express the aspects of your power that are needed for each situation, and hold the rest within you. This kind of inaccessibility (to use a Carlos Castanada word) is not a shrinking of your power, just a holding back. It doesn’t diminish you because you know your own power, but you do choose what to express in each situation, and channel that through your energetic avatar. I know that is a very brief description, but perhaps begin working with that intuitively, and see what evolves for you.

    Namaste-

  34. December 27, 2011 3:36 pm

    Hi Jaymes, it will be a life changing year for you, I can tell too:-) And I’m glad to see a man entered here, because this shift really is about blowing out the strict gender conditioning and limited social views that have kept us all limited in our expression of ourselves.

  35. sigrun permalink
    December 27, 2011 11:06 pm

    Hello Lisa,

    my life has been and continues to be enriched by our group meditations, retreats, beachwalks,etc. in many ways. The path I am on isn’t necessarily clearer,but a sense of peace and trust that the things revealed,in the time they are revealed ,are all that is needed. I guess that is a form of surrender….

    thank you’
    Sigrun

  36. December 29, 2011 4:24 pm

    Sigrun, so wonderful to see you here, I know you don’t get online much!! It has been beautiful to share this part of your path with you, and to see your exquisite heart shine even brighter:-) Namaste- Lisa

  37. Mystik Maven permalink
    December 30, 2011 4:38 pm

    Would love to help usher in the way of the feminine mystik!

  38. Hathor permalink
    December 30, 2011 8:31 pm

    Moving from 11 to 12 I am feeling a need to go back to basics, and simplify life.
    Going into 2012 I want to surrender to light, and be.
    Have Fun! and always laugh.
    Have an open heart:)

  39. January 2, 2012 6:55 pm

    Happy New Year and thanks so much to all who commented, and for adding your own strong intentions to this theme. I turned this into a bit of a ritual, so I think the universe has made sure the books got into the hands best suited for them at this time-) The winners are:

    Kundalini – Deanna
    Hidden Treasure – Flika of Light
    Mandala of the Enlightened Feminine – Kristine

    I’ve emailed each of you, comment here if you don’t receive that. And to all and everyone, love and light in the New Year:-)

  40. karla wallace permalink
    January 13, 2012 7:29 am

    My inner spirit has come alive! I have heard so much negativity regarding 2012 and my inner soul knows its a time to reach deep within and awaken the truth behind existance. People have choices those who unfold and reach out to attain spiritual awakening will become enlightened! I am excited and ready to share my knowledge to help others unfold their life choice in 2012.

  41. January 13, 2012 4:48 pm

    Karla – I agree, I think we can even use the energy of the uncertainty re: this year as an energetic force to propel us forward. It invites a deeper kind of questioning or inquiry into the truth and ourselves.

Trackbacks

  1. Interview with Chantal Monte – Bali, ‘Remembering’ and Kundalini « Mommy Mystic
  2. 2013, Year of the {You Fill In!} – BOOK GIVEAWAY « Mommy Mystic

I love to hear from you...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,668 other followers

