Skip to content

Sharings – Chakra Guide, Books, Links

November 2, 2011

Happy November:-) I’ve been busy at various places online recently, so thought today I would share some of what I’ve found and participated in. I’ll do a regular post next week. I would also love to get suggestions for future posts in the comments here, and also any blog suggestions you have (including your own.) I like to visit new blogs, and participate in discussions in the comments when time permits. And that goes for this blog too, so please, comment away!

Chakra Series

I’ve been meaning to post my own guide to the chakras here as resource material, and finally have done so. Here’s the legend/key to the information included for each chakra, and then there are posts for each of the 7 in-body chakras I currently like to work with. I’ve tried to include information from both an energy healing and a spiritual perspective. Most is pretty standard, but it does vary by tradition – in the legend/key I’ve included book suggestions if you want to explore one area in more depth.

I’m also very excited to be joining Jan Lundy (who I interviewed here awhile back) in the relaunch of her (free) online magazine Buddha Chick Life. I’ll be writing a monthly column on Women’s Energetics there  – here’s the first, Understanding Your Feminine Energy Body. Please consider subscribing, as there are many wonderful writers and teachers contributing each month, including Jan herself (who is a truly beautiful and wise soul.)

This month I’ll also be participating in Julie Geigle’s 28-day Dare to Meditate Challenge over at Heaven Sent Healing – which actually started yesterday but it’s never too late for you to join in. Julie will be posting daily 20 minute guided meditations during the week, and guests will be contributing on weekends – I’ll contribute 2 chakra meditations later in the month. Joining a challenge like this is a great way to jump-start a meditation practice, or to reinvigorate an existing one.

And finally, in terms of online time, I’ve also just recently joined Facebook – if you would like to connect there, please send a Friend request. I’m still getting the hang of Facebook, so be gentle:-) I’ve long been on Twitter, so if you want to connect there (which I have to say, so far I much prefer!), find me here.

OK, on to books. This month I really loved The Dovekeepers by Alice Hoffman. It’s a novel based on the story of Masada in 70C.E., a towering fortress atop a mountain in Israel (still standing today) where hundreds of Jewish exiles survived a Roman siege for months, before most succumbed. It’s written from the perspective of four women there, and filled with magic and feminine spirit throughout.

I’ve also recently read, appreciated, and reviewed Cyndi Dale’s The Intuition Guidebook: How to Safely and Wisely Use Your Sixth Sense and Meryl Davids Landau’s Downward Dog, Upward Fog (spiritual chick-lit). I’ve reviewed both of these on Amazon so I won’t go into too much more here (click through to see my reviews there if you are interested.) I’m currently reading Gangaji’s Hidden Treasures and Tami Kent’s Wild Feminine: Finding Power, Spirit and Joy in the Female Body, and hope to review both soon (love both so far.)

I haven’t done a lot of new blog visiting lately, but would like to, so please comment if you have a blog you would like to share. One recent find that I did enjoy is Tango Heart – The Tantric Journey of Argentine Tango – I love her sharings on the Tantric union that occurs spiritually/energetically while she and her partner are engaged in Tango dancing. If you are looking for more blogs to visit, please do check out my blogroll to the right – most of these are longstanding favorites, with a few newish ones sprinkled in.

Finally, a couple of recent news items that I found very interesting. First, The 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics went to three astronomers who discovered the universe is expanding at an accelerated rate. I found this so interesting because the description resembles some of the classic descriptions of karma speeding up as part of the Kali Yuga. So  many teachings in the Vedas, Upanishads, and other classic Indian scriptures now seem to be getting validated in various ways through scientific discoveries, mostly in physics. The sages who were the oral source for these teachings discovered them through meditation:-)

Also, there was a lot of coverage this week about the world population hitting 7 billion people, and a lot of ensuing demographic information published. One thing that I found interesting is that the current percentage of the world population that has access to the internet is thought to be about 30%. That means 70% has no access to the internet, let alone regular access. I found that a refreshing and humbling reminder for myself, because it is so easy to get caught in the internet ‘bubble’. And while there is no doubt the internet is changing the way history unfolds in the world by connecting so many of us, and also no doubt it is playing a major role in shifts in consciousness, it is not, in the end, quite yet the center of the universe.

Namaste-

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Justine permalink
    November 3, 2011 10:38 pm

    Hi Lisa, I attended your workshop on women’s energy bodies in Mankato last weekend, and really enjoyed it. I love what you have here on your blog. I would love to read more about the topics you taught in that workshop. Thanks for all the links above. Nice to have met you. – Justine

  2. November 4, 2011 4:25 am

    Hi Justine, thanks for visiting. That was a great conference, I enjoyed teaching there a lot. I will write more on women’s energetics going forward, particularly motherhood, energy cords, and perimenopause, all of which seemed to generate the most questions at that conference. You also might want to check out the Buddha Chick Life article I linked to above, as I will be writing on women’s energy bodies a lot there. – Lisa

  3. November 5, 2011 12:32 pm

    i’m off to check out Buddha Chick Life and the meditation challenge. thanks.

  4. November 5, 2011 8:51 pm

    Lisa, loved ready this and all that you are doing, reviewing, writing. It feels as if the Muse is certainly alive and well in you! Very glad you are with us a writer now at Buddha Chick Life. We are honored to have you…

    I am definitely going to check out the Alice Hoffman book. I am always in the market for a good fiction book but so many are violent and low vibration. I am hoping that this one is magical and insightful and ripe with feminine energy. Thanks for the lead!

  5. November 6, 2011 3:25 pm

    Thanks Mon & Jan, for both your support, you have been two of the best things about going online 3 years ago:-)

    Jan – re: Dovekeepers, I think you will love it. Although it does start off slow, so stick with it at first if you are not into it.

  6. Amy M permalink
    November 11, 2011 4:36 pm

    Hi Lisa, as a suggested topic for a future post I would love to learn more about the tantric approach of taking the energy that you need from something (you spoke about it in regard to food last time) and leaving the rest. The whole concept was new to me when Cyndi Dale mentioned it with regards to medication. Are there books I should read? Or do you have more to say about that in a post?

    Thanks!!!

  7. November 12, 2011 11:49 pm

    Amy – that’s a great post topic. I can’t think of a single book offhand, although the idea is around in a few, so I need to think on that first. But I think more than anything it really has to do with approaching eating (and anything, include the intake of medication) with an occult intent. We do have the ability to connect energetically with only one part of something. It is just like our mind functions with sensory input – there are hundreds of different sights, smells, sounds, etc. within our sensory range within any given minute, but we screen out the majority, focusing in on only the ones we deem relevant. The starting point for this is simply intent – before you ingest anything, intend to get the nutrients and energy you need, and to discard the rest. Over time there is more to it, but that’s the start. Interestingly, there are many traditional stories of sages and saints who survived only on a tiny bit of food each day for years, and this is the root of that ‘siddha’ or power – the ability to fully take in the little nourishment provided by that food and have it be enough. There is also a modern movement called sun-gazing where people are trying to train themselves to graduallly survive on sunlight alone, or near to it.

  8. Rajat Sharma permalink
    October 28, 2013 6:24 pm

    This is my favorite topic and after searching lot on web i found this great source which covers very informative topics including evolution and chakras.

    http://srionline.org/god-does-not-roll-dice.html

I love to hear from you...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,781 other followers

