Skip to content

TRUTH- Quotes and Reflections

February 25, 2010

Once again, I am not posting what I planned to this week. But that’s the joy of blogging – that you can explore what comes up when it comes up. This post started when I came across the following quote, from Adyashanti:

“The Truth is the only thing you’ll run into that has no agenda.”

I really liked it, it resonated for me on many different levels, and I found myself cruising around the web for more quotes on truth. Voila! That became this post.

I think I’ve mentioned before that I feel seeking truth has been the primary driver behind my own spiritual journey. I think there are many different primary drivers – a search for peace, or happiness, or power, or connection, for example. And of course they all interconnect, and we might meander from one to the other along our way. But we all tend to have one primary driver, and that determines the traditions and tools that will resonate most deeply for us. This is part of what I wrote about in an old post, Four Paths to Freedom – What is Your Root Path?

I think the fact that seeking truth has been the primary driver for me is why I am drawn to both Vedanta/Zen/Non-duality type teachings, and occult/energy/kundalini-based traditions, which usually are not considered comfortable bed-fellows. The first set of traditions for me are about direct personal inquiry into the truth of my own being. The second are more about the ‘how’ – how our world and universe function, on the levels we can’t see with our eyes, and how we can use that knowledge.

So below, I’ve just listed a bunch of quotes that I like, on truth. All kinds and levels of truth – metaphysical, spiritual, political, and personal. A little lazy perhaps, to do a post of quotes, but it was fun finding them! I threw in some symbols for truth too, from many different traditions (as usual!) because I think they often resonate with us on another level. I hope you enjoy, and feel free to add your own, or your thoughts on any of these, in the comments.


Feather of Ma'at Egyptian symbol of truth

“The Truth is the only thing you’ll run into that has no agenda.” ~Adyashanti

“Truth is such a rare thing, it is delighted to tell it.” ~Emily Dickinson

“Truth is a pathless land.” ~Krishnamurti

“Art is a lie that makes us realize the truth, at least the truth that is given to us to understand. ” ~Picasso

“There is no religion higher than truth.” ~Helena Blavatsky

“And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” John 8:32, American King James Bible

“The truth will set you free. But first, it will piss you off.” ~Gloria Steinem

“There are only two mistakes one can make along the road to truth; not going all the way, and not starting.” ~ Buddha

“There’s a world of difference between truth and facts. Facts can obscure the truth.” ~Maya Angelou

Torch, Greek Symbol for Truth

“Whoever undertakes to set himself up as a judge of Truth and Knowledge is shipwrecked by the laughter of the gods.” ~Albert Einstein

“The personal life deeply lived always expands into truths beyond itself.” ~Anais Nin

“Say not, ‘I have found the truth,’ but rather, ‘I have found a truth.’ ” ~Kahlil Gibran

“Even if you are a minority of one, the truth is the truth.” ~Ghandi

“Who you are, in truth, who everyone is, is whole and perfect and beautiful. And if that can be recognized, then it is possible that self-torture can stop.” ~Gangaji

“Rather than love, than money, than fame, give me truth.” ~Henry David Thoreau

Awen/Druid Symbol for Love, Wisdom and Truth

“I love you, and because I love you, I would sooner have you hate me for telling you the truth than adore me for telling you lies.” ~Pietro Aretino

“The words of truth are always paradoxical.” ~Lao Tzu

“When a woman tells the truth she is creating the possibility for more truth around her.” ~Adrianne Rich

“Children say that people are hung sometimes for speaking the truth.” ~Joan of Arc

“Truth comes as conqueror only to those who have lost the art of receiving it as friend.” ~Rabindranath Tagore

“If you do not tell the truth about yourself you cannot tell it about other people.” ~Virginia Woolf

From the I Ching

Please do share your own quote or your thoughts on truth. Namaste-

44 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 8:44 pm

    Ah, fun way to write a blog post.
    There is political truth?

    I’d love to learn more about the symbols. I can read Chinese characters, but I am not familiar with other symbols. For instance, why is a feather the symbol of truth in ancient Egypt?

  2. February 25, 2010 9:00 pm

    Oh Lisa, the word truth gives me the creeps to be honest. There have been so many ghastly things done under the banner of truth.
    I do not think we know what truth is as truth is a personal thing. What I think is the truth is not the truth even for people I am close to. Truth sounds so permanent and I think what I believed as being the ‘truth’ has changed many times over my life.
    I rather refer to truth as a constant, there is a certain constant in my life like there is a constant sign in my life that there is a higher order that has a say in how my life pans out. Otherwise how come that my plans are changed all the time and that I have surprising outcomes.
    But I would not call that the truth as I cannot really proof that, but it is a constant I see happening in other people’s life as well.

    The only quote I really resonate with is this one;
    “Say not, ‘I have found the truth,’ but rather, ‘I have found a truth”‘
    Yes I have found a truth and tomorrow I have found another one. So what is truth then?

    Oh, Lisa, I stopped looking for the truth, I am looking for a way to live my life that feels good to my heart and makes sense to my mind and I allow that to change according to how aware I am becoming.
    :) xox Wilma

  3. February 25, 2010 9:13 pm

    Enjoying the quotes. It is funny how I often find myself fleeing this word (I am more attracted to words like peace and love) because either I don’t really understand it, or I don’t like how the word is highjacked and used to promote some doctrine. It is the dogma thing, I think. I do wonder now about my relationship with truth. Thanks for the thought-provoking post.

    Also, went back and had a look again at the four paths post. Really appreciate it.

    Peace, Nicki

  4. mommymystic permalink*
    February 25, 2010 9:17 pm

    Akemi – no, I don’t know as there is political truth, but some would say there is. And in his quote Ghandi is really talking about truth in terms of social justice – what is just, and taking on what is unjust headfirst, whether others are willing to face it or not. So I do resonate with that. As for your question on the Egyptian feather, well, you have unwittingly hit on my favorite topic. This feather is the hieroglyph for Ma’at, the Egyptian goddess of truth, balance and order. Or really, she is not even a goddess in the ‘early’ texts, she is a symbol for truth. Overtime, she became thought of more as a goddess, like Isis and the rest. And her headdress always has an ostrich feather on it, so that is her symbol. In the Egyptian Book of the Dead, a deceased’s heart is weighed on a scale against the feather of Ma’at. If the heart is heavier than Ma’ats feather, it is said that the person is devoured by Anubis, the god of the underworld. And if the heart is as light as the feather of truth, the being ascends to immortality. Great metaphor, no? Being weighed against the feather of truth? I love it!! This is where the phrase ‘light as a feather’ comes from too…

    Wilma – Thanks, you know, your reaction to the word ‘truth’ is very similar to my reaction to the word ‘God’! So it all depends on the connotation, and our personal history. I so agree with you, all too often the word ‘truth’ has been perverted to just support someone’s own agenda. That’s why I like the Adyashanti quote – because he is turning that on its head. I think ‘Truth’ in that quote – and in many of the others, actually – is referring to source, beyond a relative ‘positional’ truth. So when you say ‘I am looking for a way to live my life that feels good to my heart and makes sense to my mind and I allow that to change according to how aware I am becoming’ that is a perfect expression of the truth of your being I think. Which really is the truth I am interested in. Although as I mentioned, I am also interested in the ‘truth of how things work’, and telling the truth about things going on in the world, and those are two other kinds of truth referred to in these quotes I think. Thanks for a thought-provoking comment….

  5. mommymystic permalink*
    February 25, 2010 9:22 pm

    Hi Nicki – you must have been commenting right as I responded to Akemi and Wilma…sounds like you had a similar response as Wilma. As I mentioned to her, I do understand. You know, when I collected these, I didn’t really think about that – how often ‘truth’ is used to manipulate. I was thinking of it more as ‘truth of our being’, as a non-philosophical truth, like ‘source’ or ‘essence’ or even ‘love’. That is how Adyashanti uses it, so that is how I was orienting when reading many of these quotes (although obviously some of them, like Gloria Steinem’s and Ghandi’s are more social-commentary oriented.) So thanks for the comment, this is why I love blogging, because it offers that kind of discussion…

  6. February 25, 2010 9:53 pm

    I like the Adyashanti quote too. What caught my attention more than the quotes though are the symbols and their origins. Egyptian. Chinese. Greek. British. The question arises, what will OUR symbol of truth be and what name will be associated with it? The term ‘American’ even now is very general given that we have two Americas. Do people in Canada and Brazil consider themselves part of the ‘American’ experience as well, or do we have exclusive rights to that term here in the US?

    Someone once said, “If you want to know the truth, ask a woman.” Nine of your 21 quotes are from women, and six of those nine women are American, which bodes well for our future inclusion among the giants of classical thought. I fully believe in embracing a global view of truth. At the same time, I am encouraged by inroads being made by American women, whose voices are so evident in these quotes.

  7. February 25, 2010 9:55 pm

    I’m the same way about writing–I have some 40 or so articles already written but I hardly ever use them. Experience deepens, so ready posts don’t always resonate.

    I think we’re similar–my preferred practice is non-dualism. I resonate with Zen, and often use Vedanta models. I am completely open to the occult, though there hasn’t been much in my experience that has struck me in that way.

    The quotations are a wonderful selection. I understand your use of the word. “Truth” used to manipulate or convince is different from the Truth that you use here. It is Awareness, rather than viewpoints in Awareness. It is not about concepts, beliefs, methodologies or spiritual or intellectual advancement, or conviction. It is being natural.

    I might add to the list one of my favorite sayings about Truth, from Seng-ts’an: “Do not seek Truth; only cease to cherish opinion.”

  8. February 25, 2010 10:53 pm

    Hi Lisa.
    Well you sure too got me thinking about this truth word.

    For me this gives me clarity; Truth belongs to God/ Source or whoever, not humans because we are not capable of seeing the whole picture. We can only see a bit and that is not the truth. Truth for me is knowing ALL THERE IS and basing your opinion on that and I can never do that. I only see snippets so my truth will always be limited to being an opinion.

    About telling somebody the truth; sure I can share what I am observing while at the same time I also feel that I have to realize that what I observe goes through a filter, my filter and is therefore NOT the truth but again my version of what I perceive to be ‘what is so’.

    It is very interesting though, isn’t it. However in my ‘opinion’ the word truth should not exist in our dictionary as we can never have it.

  9. February 25, 2010 11:30 pm

    Hi, Lisa,

    I like the post! truth, to me (with a small ‘t’), is personal and changing. Truth with a cap T is about for-real Truth that is never changing. It is WHAT IS with no story and, as Adya says, with no agenda, attached.

    There is a big difference between speaking “your” truth and speaking “the” Truth — the former can be valid, but it is not True, not ever. Believing your truth is The Truth can be a source of great suffering in the world, so it is good to keep them straight. Thanks for helping us do that through this awesome post.

    Kelly

  10. mommymystic permalink*
    February 26, 2010 1:07 am

    Brenda – It’s so interesting how each person who reads these quotes goes to a different place with them. I love that you noticed the women (and I love your quote re: that too) – I had to WORK to find them. I was just cruising through various quote sites with the keyword ‘truth’ and collecting those I liked. Then when I was ready to cut them down to my favorites for this post, I realized that I had almost NO quotes from women. I had to really search them out. But of course, it’s only in the last century or so that women have been literary and/or published to any great extent. So it’s not surprise there was a shortage of quotes over time. But my frustration about this was part of the reason I had to include the Gloria Steinem quote!!

    Kaushik – yes, Truth is about being natural, I like that. I also love the Seng-ts’an quote you gave “Do not seek Truth; only cease to cherish opinion.” That is a good one.

    Wilma and Kelly – both your comments distinguishing between truth with a little ‘t’ and with a big ‘T’ brought to mind a Buddhist Jataka tale that I have always liked: The Buddha finds some of his monks arguing about theological issues. So he tells them to find an elephant and several blind men. He asks each of the blind men to feel a different part of the elephant and then asks them ‘what is an elephant like?’ The one who felt the elaphant’s tail says ‘it feels like a rope’ and the one that felt his legs said ‘it feels like a tree trunk’ and the one who feels his tusk ‘says ‘it feels like a smooth piece of driftwood’ etc. The point being, every spiritual experience and idea is just based on one person’s view of the elephant, no one can see the whole thing.

    Thx all for your comments!!

  11. February 26, 2010 1:16 am

    That old post…Four Paths to Freedom…That was one of the first things I read from you, and one of the things that made me become a faithful devotee of the mommymystic mystique :) It was fun to re-read that one. Ahhh memories.

    I love the collection of truth quotes here. One of the things I have been pondering lately is objective reality vs. subjective reality…and is there really such a thing as objective reality? I don’t know, but if there isn’t, can there still be an objective truth? Or is an objective truth dependent on an objective reality?

    Very interesting indeed. :)

  12. February 26, 2010 2:23 am

    Lisa: Thanks for a wonderful post! I think, as with so many things, we can take two approaches to writing. We can write what we believe we have to write, or we can put pen to page or fingers to keyboard and let ourselves be inspired…

    Thanks for an inspiring post!

    Mike.

  13. February 26, 2010 2:40 am

    There is truth, there is perspective, and there are facts.

    For me, the most significant search for truth is that I stop lying to myself – or others.

    Not in big obvious ways – I stopped doing that a long time ago – but in the small ways of :
    1) denying my feelings,
    2) not understanding others’ motives or feelings by only seeing the surface rather than the layers,
    3) letting laziness get in the way of constantly being open to/looking to be aware of more knowledge of what works rather than what doesn’t, even if what doesn’t is popularly accepted.

    I am slowly, gradually learning that to be impeccable with my truths brings more and more inner peace and gentle wisdom with it.

    This is not about telling others my truths in a hurtful way, exposing their vulnerabilities or weaknesses.
    This is about coming to know who I REALLY am, and working to improve the things I find out that have kept me from loving myself or being loved by others.

  14. February 26, 2010 2:41 am

    Oops, that last comment was from me.
    Sorry, had signed on with my other blog!

  15. February 26, 2010 2:44 am

    I love these. There is a connection through all of them really… not separate truths just a different perception.

    “Be receptive and responsive to the divine Impulse from within, that Truth may use you to reveal Its glory.” – Joel S. Goldsmith

    I believe I would consider the teachings of Goldsmith non-duality, and I am also a Kundalini yogini. I find the two things very interconnected, and different too. But, more so I find that one is a means to practice the other. Kundalini yoga the means to practice the meditation for connecting to the Truth within. KY is just one way. It is a way that works for me.

  16. mommymystic permalink*
    February 26, 2010 6:16 am

    Jay – ‘mystique’ huh? That one really made me laugh. If you only knew what my daily life looked like. But I am secretly pleased that there is some illusion of that online anyway! As for your questions, well yes, you got to the heart of it there. The metaphysical quandary. And I don’t know the answer. I have gotten much more interested in experiential truth, I guess, than metaphysical truth over the last few years. More and more, I feel our mind, our intellectual mind that is, is just so limited. I am reading another atheist book right now, actually Buddhist atheist book, of all things, and I find myself tired of all the intellectual quandaries. I want to tell the guy, “just don’t worry, be happy”!

    Mike – Yes, although in this case I let others do the inspiration! Thanks for visiting.

  17. mommymystic permalink*
    February 26, 2010 6:23 am

    Aurora- ooo, you are a bi-blogger! Now that the secret is out, i will have to check out your other home. Yes, I resonate with your idea of truth being about not lying to ourselves. It is like the last quote in this list the Virginia Woolf one, “If you do not tell the truth about yourself you cannot tell it about other people.” I think you could put ‘see’ in place of ‘tell’ in both places in that sentence and it would be equally, if not more, insightful.

    Kelli – Great Goldsmith quote, thanks for that. And I like how you connect his teachings and kundalini yoga. Some ‘non-dualists’ (that is not entirely a fair label, but just for now I’ll use it!) would say energy techniques are a distraction, that the states of bliss experienced can lead us astray. And I agree they can be a trap. But they can also open doorways, and expand our awareness, and surface and releases blocks, so that our truth springs forth from within naturally. I think the two traditions work very well together for that reason – non-duality/inquiry traditions keep us grounded, and keep us from falling into the ego-traps that can come with energy practices, and energy practices keep us from getting mentally ‘dry’, which I think is a risk of the non-duality paths.

  18. gramma7 permalink
    February 26, 2010 11:16 pm

    I am a terrible liar,but I’m not sure telling the truth is always the best idea.
    The Joan of Arc children comment resonates with me because children are so truthful, and sometimes we adults are embarrassed by them being so truthful. i.e. Why is the lady so fat, Mommy?
    I also was reminded of A Few Good Men, when Jack Nicolson tells Tom Cruise “You can’t handle the truth!”

    Yeah, I think sometimes people don’t want the truth.

  19. February 27, 2010 2:01 am

    I love how this topic/post reveals deep seated energetic responses . These quotes are beautiful, and inspirational for sure.

    Actually, I am not a fan of the ‘word’ truth based from my dogmatic upbringing…. This word was constantly used as a fear tactic, promoting a chaotic mind set. It also can cut deep ie. ‘the truth hurts’. (Though I do suppose my sensitive nature plays into this as well (Pisces Moon) Since then I have completely shifted perspectives, creating a personal sacred authenticity of which I rely upon.

    This quote I’d like to share because the underlining message is about being genuine in to ones own being. “I’ve never fooled anyone. I’ve let people fool themselves. They didn’t bother to find out who and what I was. Instead they would invent a character for me. I wouldn’t argue with them. They were obviously loving somebody I wasn’t.”
    — Marilyn Monroe

    Thanks for the thought provoking post~

  20. Ruth permalink
    February 27, 2010 5:27 am

    The truth will set you free but first it will piss you off – LOVE that quote!! It’s soo true.
    Wow, what a great topic. I love all this. Thanks.

  21. mommymystic permalink*
    February 27, 2010 5:29 pm

    Gramma7 – can definitely relate to that child story! Joan of Arc’s quote is all the more powerful when you consider that she said it BEFORE she was accused of heresy and then burnt at the stake by the Church – at the age of 19 (and of course now we know she was largely a victim of politics – she said things people didn’t like.) And I always liked that A Few Good Men quote also.

    Carla – Yes, you were one of several that has some negative connection to the word ‘truth’, because of its misuse for manipulation. I didn’t even think of that when I wrote this, because I was queuing off the Adya quote and he uses it in such a different context. And I love that Marilyn Monroe quote, a good one to remember for many reasons, in terms of our ‘image’ vs. our self….and especially relevant in our celebrity-crazed culture. What is our fascination with these celebrity images?

    Ruth – Yes, I love that one too. I don’t know if you saw my response to Brenda above, but that one actually came about because I had such a hard time finding quotes from women. My own favorite is probably the one by Anais Nin in the list: “The personal life deeply lived always expands into truths beyond itself.”

  22. February 28, 2010 9:55 pm

    My favorite truth quote is from my daughter when she was nine and found out that Santa Claus was not real, “But the Tooth Fairy is real, right?” That was so long ago, I don’t remember how I handled that truth. :D Today I would tell her, “There is the relative truth and the absolute truth, Santa Claus and the Tooth Fairy are relatively true.”

  23. mommymystic permalink*
    March 1, 2010 1:57 am

    Miruh – that is great. My kids are still young enough to believe in these things, and I actually have a bit of a hard time with it. I value whimsy and magic and want them to experience that in childhood, but I also am uncomfortable just lying to them point-blank. I know parents on both side of this divide. So far I am sort of walking a wimpy middle ground – I don’t bring it up, and if they ask me direct questions about Santa or whatever (for example, ‘what if santa gets sick?’) I am sort of vague, and say I don’t really know. But I also don’t say I’m the one putting the presents under the tree or the money under the pillow! We’ll see how it all unfolds…

  24. ruth permalink
    March 1, 2010 7:46 am

    Oh yeah…that one by Anais is great. Thanks for that. I encountered that today actually – the truths beyond life itself. It can make it hard to relate to people I find if I’m on a different wavelength because of that – it usually comes about because of binary opposing lifestyles between myself and someone else who deosn’t understand what I mean at all because of what I experience. Sorry if I’m not making sense here whatsoever Lisa, it may require further discussion somewhere bleu.
    And funny, brecause I also noticed her quote especially because she is a woman. So good finding on your part for that rarity. xx

  25. March 1, 2010 4:47 pm

    Hi Lisa,

    What a great list of truth quotes.

    It is funny. When I first began my spiritual journey, I was convinced that there was a certain truth. Now after over a decade of being on the path, my views of truth are more fluid.

    As my uncle likes to say, there are 252 shades of gray. Nothing is truly just black and white….what a blessing! :)

  26. mommymystic permalink*
    March 1, 2010 7:19 pm

    Ruth – I think I do get you (although would love more discussion.) I feel like I am always navigating different ‘wavelengths’ in my life. Actually, I have made it a kind of spiritual practice really, to try and ‘meet people where they are’. I don’t mean for that to sound arrogant, I hope it doesn’t come off that way. It is more about me trying to tune in to people and be responsive, which has been a challenge for me in the past.

    Nadia – I love your Uncle! I know you have written about him on your blog in the past, and I always like what he has to say:-) And my journey has been similar, truth is much more fluid to me these days, especially spiritual truth.

  27. March 1, 2010 10:28 pm

    I love the quote by Pietro. A wonderful post indeed. Truth is very much a pathless land, and many of out great thinkers have revealed life’s truth to us over and over again. Funny how most of us still haven’t gotten the picture.

    Here are some truths I”ve discovered myself.

    1. we become what we think
    2. as we sow so shall we reap
    3. Belief create the actual fact
    4. there is not perfect relation ship
    5. Life is what you make of it.
    6. There is a GOD! He lives in each of us!

  28. March 1, 2010 11:21 pm

    The larger truth – about life, being, existence – isn’t so clear. It’s bigger than anybody’s thoughts, bigger than the descriptions of folks who purport to describe just how life works.

    It’s possible to be clear enough about the smaller truth of who you are for this lack of clarity about the big picture to be OK.

  29. March 2, 2010 9:21 pm

    I had a couple of favorites, but this one resonated with me the most:

    “Truth comes as conqueror only to those who have lost the art of receiving it as friend.” ~Rabindranath Tagore

    We live in, (or rather I live in) such a world of dichotomies, good and bad, right and wrong, enemy and friend. Maybe a stripping away of all these dualities will lead us (me) to truth

  30. mommymystic permalink*
    March 3, 2010 4:21 am

    Jonathan – I’m glad you’ve found your truths. I resonate with some, and not so much with others on your list. But I’m not all that interested in debate these days. Once in awhile for fun, but not really. i think Paul summed it up quite nicely “It’s possible to be clear enough about the smaller truth of who you are for this lack of clarity about the big picture to be OK.” That is very much how I feel.

    Paul – see my response to Jonathan. You rock!

    Mermaid – Yes, we are good at making battles for ourselves, huh?

  31. March 4, 2010 8:55 am

    Hi,

    That was also/is also my drive – seeking truth. My driving force has changed over the years…

    And it’s not any particular belief, although it can manifest in that, but rather a need to know the source. And in feeling that way about truth, it’s possible to see multiple truths.

    One of my fave quote is an indirect truth quote, the one on my HM blog.
    “There are no facts, only interpretations.”
    Nietzsche

  32. March 4, 2010 4:26 pm

    Hello. My name is Benjamin and I maintain a site called Meditation How at this link: How to Do Meditation – Learn, Sit, Meditate Deeply.

    I have been conducting interviews over email with anyone about diverse forms of meditation practice. It’s fun and gives readers an opportunity to get clarity on how meditation is so wonderful from a up-close and personal perspective. We can follow your interview with a short bio that promotes your website or blog or meditation product. Namaste.

  33. March 4, 2010 5:00 pm

    All we can have, as pointed out in several comments, is a relative truth, personal to ourselves. Absolute truth is simple – existence itself; ferreting out all the relative truths is the pleasure and torment of humanity, and there’s nothing wrong with a little torment!

    Truth may be elusive, but honesty is achievable.

  34. mommymystic permalink*
    March 4, 2010 7:05 pm

    Benjamin, Thanks, I just browsed your site quickly and it looks very interesting. I will spend more time on it later and email you re: the interview. Thanks for the invitation!

  35. mommymystic permalink*
    March 4, 2010 7:11 pm

    Mon, yes, that is a good one. I can’t believe I didn’t have a Nietzche quote actually, now that I think about it. In some ways ‘Thus Spoke Zaruthrustra’ was actually the true start of my spiritual journey. I read it my freshmen year in college, along with some other writings of his, and it completely below my mind wide open. I think it laid the groundwork for my interest in Buddhism a couple of years later.

    Suzanne – love this “ferreting out all the relative truths is the pleasure and torment of humanity, and there’s nothing wrong with a little torment!” . I do like the idea that honesty is achievable. Although I think it can be tricky at times. Have you seen the movie ‘The Invention of Lying’?

  36. March 4, 2010 7:56 pm

    Hope it’s okay to jump in here. I’d like to add that I prefer the word “trueness” to “truth” as “trueness” is subjective, personal, and in line with nature. One “trues” oneself like a “life-smith” and discovers what works individually. Life is diverse.

    On the other hand in one of my recent interviews I had someone rejecting all absolutes. I finally confronted him with what is essentially and absolutist approach to absolutes. I was simply asking that he acknowledge that “all that is” constitutes a whole– that there is ONE WHOLE… ONE SOURCE. Ultimately, who cares? Why pin down the “about”? This is for academia.

    Life is much more interesting and relating goes much deeper if we all disagree.

  37. mommymystic permalink*
    March 4, 2010 8:25 pm

    Benjamin – I like that – ‘trueness’. I have a very similar perspective at this point. Although I try not to get dogmatic in my anti-dogmatism!
    P.S. Hope you saw my note to you above, will email you later, thx.)

  38. March 5, 2010 3:14 pm

    Oh wow, I didn’t know that Lisa (about Thus Spoke and impact on you)

  39. March 6, 2010 7:19 am

    Spookily, I just watched The Invention Of Lying last night. I thought the writing so weak and the one joke so hackneyed and the attempt of the ever disdainful Ricky Gervais to be grief-sticken and sympathetic so repellent that I missed the message of the importance of honesty, if there was one. However, I think there’s honesty and there’s the letter of the law. Better to tell a depressed acquaintance that you care deeply for them than be brutally honest about your mediocre level of involvement, for example; the honesty is in the true desire to stop them harming themselves. Honesty is as honesty does, I suppose.

  40. mommymystic permalink*
    March 6, 2010 5:49 pm

    Suzanne – you know, you are right about your criticisms of the Invention of Lying, but I enjoyed it anyway. Maybe it was the wine! I just thought there were a lot of moments that showed when absolute honesty might not be the best, and when lying might be kind. And then I just liked what happened with him becoming a ‘guru’ by trying to provide definitive answers for everyone, and how it all went wrong..

  41. March 10, 2010 8:58 pm

    Just in case his ears are burning, generally, I think Ricky Gervais is wildly funny, and his observations of the human condition as displayed in the British (original) version of The Office are sharp.

  42. November 17, 2011 7:30 pm

    Namaste beloved. Like many mystics that have come before as well as many a learned person, have come to feel that through the different cultures and languages what one might feel that “truth” may mean is that it is the centered “gnowingness” of our higher Self. While ego plays with the tangible world, learning to be in the silence and letting our souls commune with what is,is how i personally relate to the word. All of our metaphors are so beautifully different. Divine love and knowing no separation is my truth.
    What may be yours that is unfolding?
    Many blessing.

  43. November 17, 2011 9:43 pm

    Jesse, thanks for your lovely comment. Yes, I think of truth this way too – as Source itself, and our alignment with Source, rather than any moral or statement that can be interpreted on the relative level as ‘true’ or ‘false’…it was interesting to see in the comments how other reacted to the word, since it has been abused in the name of power at times throughout history.

  44. sean permalink
    July 7, 2013 4:53 am

    Loved it, thank you. I was looking for good symbols of truth and the quotes were a plus.

I love to hear from you...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,779 other followers

